We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The accommodation is basic which would be fine but a few points to consider
1. There are no professional cleaners. It is done by the people vacating the flat before you. We received the apartment in an awful state with dust everywhere, blood on the pillows and the balcony covered in bird poo! When we were leaving we gave a customary wipe with some baby wipes - that is it. The blankets are also not washed!
2. The woman on reception is the rudest person I have ever come access in the hospitality industry. Our light bulb in the bathroom was broken the entire time and she refused to fix it. She was insulted when we asked for basic things like the code to the door!! She then examines the flat when you are leaving! Its ridiculous!
3. The bakery accords the road - the woman there is also extremely rude
4. Kitchen is tiny

This accommodation is used by companies such as Off the Piste to make a huge profit from students and graduate skiing groups. While the location is excellent, you are definitely being ripped off and treated like an animal. The place is crawling!!! Do not ever stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Poor accommodation recommended by Crystal Ski Ltd.

The flight arrived from Birmingham to Lyon on time. The coach was on time to leave to Tignes. It was delayed by over an hour and a half as it transpired that Crystal were cattling different arrivals (Manchester, London & Birmingham) onto one single coach heading to Tignes. A cost saving tactic I imagine. At the time of booking, the journey had been described as three hours from airport to resort. In fact it took over 6 hours. The bus was jam-packed with people and rather second rate (1980's style) with no facilities or even the chance for a stop-off for refreshments.

The Borsat hotel was and is an absolute discusting rats nest - and nothing more. Having used Crystal Ski for many years and always trusted the judgement and accommodation descriptions, I was shocked, disappointed and disgusted that Crystal could advocate customers into this kind of accommodation. I arranged immediately to be moved out to a different accommodation across resort.

Upon arrival at the Borsat we were met in a cold wet draughty lobby with about 50-70 other people. There was a 11ft high pile of dirty laundry stacked up against the wall as it was checked and counted by the receptionists checking guests out. Awful to see it happening! The welcome we got was poor and the staff aggressive and unhelpful - oboxious best describes them really. They were reluctant to allow me to use a WC ahead of checking in. After leaving deposit for the key to the public WC i was permitted to spend a penny. The main hallway was covered in puddles and there were even holes in the walls. Many of the hall doors actually opened one concrete outside steps covered in snow with wind directly from the outdoors area. Whilst waiting to check in (over an hour) I decided to get the Skis, poles and boots for my children. We were met by rather careless staff who offered us shabby battered and low budget / quality gear. Clearly they were not passionate about their work and as soon as they'd despatched the kit, returned to their smoke and chat. None of of the three even thought to open the door or bid a cheery 'Au Revoir' to us with our hands so full...

After eventually checking into the Borsat and giving a £300 deposit, my heart sank! The room was far from satisfactory and many miles from the pictures shown on the Crystal Website. The toilet was just 24 inches X 36 inches square. There was no lock on the door, no ventilation and half a toilet roll. The toilet was directly opposite to the kitchen - a distance of just 30 inches. The bath and sink were squeezed into a tiny area not much bigger ythat the loo and stuck to hell of fish - again no ventilation. The kitchen area was pathetic and filthy with stained utensils and enabled just a single person to stand in the area. The living area was insufficient for 4 people and the seating was converted into the beds. They were no more than old dirty pieces of orange sponge. The storage area was absolutely non-existent. The separate bedroom was just a wobbly sliding partition that divided the whole room into to wardrobes - yeah that small. The balcony was littered in rubbish and old food packaging. It was also covered in was dirty old snow and cigarette butts to about 18 inches deep. I noticed that there were unwrapped laundry packages in the room and learned later they were from another couple who had not accepted the accommodation and left immediately.

There is no way that this time slot (11-18th Feb 2012 - UK school half term) and accommodation standard (a third world hovel) could be worth the £4,300+ that I had paid. I was bitterly bitterly disappointed in Borsat and Crystal. The only saving grace was Naomi (the Crystal Rep) who was absolutely excellent at getting us moved without delay. Clearly she had some this before and was swift and effective. As a regular skiing family, I will think twice before I use Crystal again for any holiday I book.

The return transfer to Lyon took from 0800-1630 - far from the three hour transfer I had been assured of. There was a single toilet break of 10 minutes during this. No rep accompanied us. Our flight was delayed thankfully - meaning we made it back to UK.

The ski conditions were brilliant and the weather was great - no fault there at all.

Please, whatever you do, avoid the Borsat at all cost. remarkably, it is a mere £25 per day extra to move to Hotel 2100 Tignes and you will have Breakfat and dinner thrown in too and be as close to the ski lifts!!!! Repeat, avoid Borsat!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!! Run! Fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 977Richard977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We arrived on Christmas Eve 2011.

You get what you pay for. If you aren't fussy about staying somewhere a bit cramped, but want to be right next to the slopes then this is perfect. We had a four person studio for the two of us and I really don't know how four people would have fitted in to it.
On arrival it took a while to check in and our apartment hadn't been cleaned very well at all. After reading reviews from others before we went I decided to bring a few cleaning materials and I was glad I did. I would recommend you all pack the following:
*Extra toilet rolls (only one provided)
*Extra bin bags (only one provided)
*Washing up liquid
*Your own towels and tea towels
*Dish cloth
*Antibac surface wipes
*Rubber gloves

This will help you do the "big clean" you are supposed to do before you leave. (Alternatively pay approx (50 euro for them to do it).
You have to store your boots in your room as the store downstairs is very small.

There is a lovely little boulangerie across the road that opens at 7.15am each day. There is a pizza place (average) beside the apartments too.

Yes the kitchen is tiny, but it's fine for making a quick lunch or dinner. The Sherpa Supermarket is in the centre of Val Claret and is reasonably priced.
Eating out in Val Claret is so, so expensive. Average dinner for two people - a bottle of wine, no starters and a shared dessert was approx 70euros. We were very shocked. Decided to shop at the supermarket from then on and we saved so much money. We made up our lunches to take with us everyday, (baguette, cheese & ham etc) and we found that saved us a ridiculous amount.

Overall we were pleased with the accommodation and we left our room really clean. It's a pity the people before us weren't as thorough. Come prepared with all your cleaning gear and you will be fine.

The skiing is great and there weren't mad queues at the lift.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elpoperino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Meh...not BAD exactly...
It was clean enough, just.
But what are you expecting for the price? It's close to the Tufs and Bellin/Fresse lifts. Thee's a pizzeria downstairs (not recommended) and a bakery/deli over the road (highly recommended).
The kitchen is tiny: three rings and a microwave.
We were lucky: four of us were in a six-berth apartment. Otherwise it would have been very cramped indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rossminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I was really worried when I read the reviews for these apartements and didn't know what to expect on arrival.

We stayed in two rooms on the 3rd floor of le Hameau du Borsat (there are apts on either side of the street) for a week and it was perfectly adequate.

The location is excellent and you can ski right to the door of the apartments. The ski school in Val Claret is only across the road. The lockers for the ski gear will only hold the skis and poles and are small.

The rooms are small and basic but I have def stayed in smaller apartements. There is a kitchenette with microwave, hob, fridge, coffee maker with pots/pans etc. The bath/shower is separate to the toilet. The main sitting room has a couch/bed and one under it so that it can be made into a double bed. There is a shelf and wardrobe and flat screen TV in this room as well although you do have to pay extra if you want to use the TV. There is also another room divided with a door-in our room there was a bed with another one underneath it so that it could be made into a double bed. In our friends' room these were bunk beds. There was also a shelf and wardrobe in this room. There was a small balcony too.

The apartement was clean when we arrived and sheets provided etc were also clean. We arrived late on Sat night so the reception was closed but the keys, welcome letter, sheet, pillowcases etc were there when we arrived. The sheets were wrapped in plastic and were obviously cleaned by a proper linen company. There were rugs too in our room and it was very warm-in fact possibly a bit too warm.

We found the staff to be helpful-we were missing utensils and they provided us with what we needed once we asked for them. We got fresh bread delivered to the door every morning by a local bakery too.

There was plenty of hot water every morning and night for showers etc.

While this accomodation is basic we found it that it genuinely is nothing like the dreadful reviews that it has received here.

Tignes itself can be quite expensive depending where you go. There are many skiing shops, pubs, one supermarket (that we found anyway), restaurants, pizzarias etc. The resort was very busy when we were there but the night life was quiet as it was midterm break and there were many families.

We really enjoyed our week and I would recommend the apt to others and I would stay here again- Yes it wasn't luxurious but it certainly is not dreadful or anywhere near it. You do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

very basic accomodation.Close to ski school at val claret,good pizza take away at bottom,furniture standards poor.Have to wait until 5pm on Sundays as there is no one to let you have keys...Check your cutlery, utensils and glasses carefully as there are errors.Note No lifts to 6th floor- walk up from 5th .. when lifts work

On the positive side -postion near ski schoolis good, reasonably clean, warm accomodation, hot water adequate.Tignes has very little for families in our opinion and costings are a rip off compared to ski resorts in the US

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The worst place I have ever stayed. Last weeks pizza and hamburger on balcony and congealed food in blankets. No towels. Bedroom a white box. No view. Worse than student accommodation or two star hotels in India.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
13.4 mi away
Au Rond-Point Pistes
Au Rond-Point Pistes
#35 of 37 in Tignes
3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#7 of 37 in Tignes
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Ecrin des Neiges
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat

Address: rue du Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range: £73 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ski Planet, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaines Du Soleil Residence Le Hameau Du Borsat Hotel Tignes
Hameau Du Borsat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing