We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Budget End French Ski Appts”

Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical Budget End French Ski Appts”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Let's concentrate on the accomm here. This is highly typical of French ski Appts - v. Small, cramped, variable quality of rooms from appt to appt. We stayed in half term, travelled with crystal, arrived late because of flight delays and busy roads, but hey, we expected that and none of those things are the tour operators fault or the accomodation providers fault - it's what happens if you travel at half term in Feb along with the millions of other people. Is it good value for money - no, it's not, but you get charged pretty high prices wherever you go at half term, so if you want to budget and stay in a place with great skiing your options are limited. As we arrived late, our keys were left for us in an envelope taped to reception shutter. Hence we avoided the hassle of checking in and also did not leave a deposit or fill in the inventory - this is something of a joke as there was no list saying what was meant to be there anyway, so how could you tell? They did leave us a note on the last day asking us to do this, but we dug our heels in and they didn't persist. Also I wasn't completely prepared to trust them as we were leaving at 7am and there would have been no one there to check your appt at that time anyway, so who knows what they would have claimed was wrong or missing?
So - appt - as said, small, cramped, sofa bed and truckle bed in main room, sliding door with separate small room and same bed arrangement. Large balcony, warm appt , tiny toilet, bathroom full sized bath with shower over, kitchenette v small, but modern fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave - grill combi (grill not v. Good) - no proper oven like in most of these places. Wardrobe and shelving area in both rooms, table with two chairs and bench.
Appt a bit smelly on first going in, improved with airing, may not have been used for a while. Generally clean, found a couple of old sweets on the ledge above the sofa, so obviously not impeccable cleaning, but as mentioned this is dependent on the assiduousness of the previous occupants. Sheets laundered, but one pillow case and sheet still stained, exchanged without a problem at reception. Blankets not washed and one of ours had stains and cigarette burns from previous occupants. Towels not provided, which I was pretty cheesed of about, as I would have brought my own had I been informed of this by crystal - charged 6 euros pp for hand towel and bath towel each. Broken lightbulb in was exchanged immediately by reception with no fuss.
Locker facilities fine for 4 pairs skis, no boot room or drying warming area - take back to own appt.
There is a ski hire place on the ground floor - ski set, and another, ski republic across the road. You can ski back to the appt building and the nearest lifts are 2-3 minutes walk as is the est meeting place.
Overall , this place is average and was entirely within my expectations of a budget self catering studio appt in a French ski resort. It's main plus points are it's convenience for the slopes. If you intend to spend all day out on the piste, it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

After reading a lot of poor reviews of this hotel was a bit worried when I set off (though many thanks to those who provided lists of things to take as that was very handy!). However I was pleasantly surprised on arrival - check in was prompt, the rooms were small but clean, the kitchen had good facilities and there was plenty of hot water. 3 of us stayed in a 4 person room and I'd recommend leaving that extra space otherwise it would have been over cramped.

We had 2 sofas (with pull out single beds) in 2 rooms (one in a side room and one in the main room) - they were surprisingly comfortable and I slept well all week. We did find a large brown stain on one of the mattresses though and they came with a fitted sheet already on them which you didn't take back to reception after the holiday so god knows when they're cleaned. Packs of bed linen were included and came with a pillow cover, fitted sheet and over sheet. No duvets but each bed came with a blanket - I found I had to use the spare to stack and use as a duvet and have no idea when they were last cleaned!

The kitchen had a microwave and a hob (which I knew about) and a filter coffee maker (which I didn't know about otherwise I'd have taken some filter coffee with me!) - might be worth packing some though it is available from local shops. The local supermarkets are reasonably priced and have a good range of items.

At the end of the week you have to clean the rooms yourselves and have one person in them for inspection whilst the others go downstairs with luggage. I can't really complain about this for the price we paid to stay.

Hotel is right on the slopes - if you take the Tuffs lift / Henri run you can ski right back to the hotel at the end of the day - this is fantastic because long walks hefting equipment up mountains has spoilt previous holidays.

Recommended list of things to take with you:
* Extra toilet roll (only one roll is provided)
* Bin bags (only one is provided)
* Sleeping bag if you have room as a blanket might not be enough for warmth
* Washing up liquid & pad
* Antibacterial cleaning wipes

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked this Appartment for NYE 2013 and it was horrible accommodation ...dirty rooms, dirty walls, smells horrible, dirty linen, beds broken, dirty everywhere you look, small bathroom that smells terrible,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tignes hotels

Lancaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked 2 studios with Crystal for our party and we were all disappointed with what we were provided with. Neither studio had been cleaned properly with dust and dirt on the floors that had not been touched, a bin that had the previous occupants' rubbish left in, stained mattresses and bedding, broken glass on the balcony, items missing etc.

One drop-down bed in the entrance hall was broken and despite being reported to the rep and to the reception staff was not fixed all week. The living area sofabeds were uncomfortable- you had to adjust the slats so you didn't fall through the bottom of the bed.

The studios are very small, including the bathrooms and kitchen area and this got worse once the beds were out- going to the loo in the night meant side-stepping the person on the drop-down bed in the hallway.

The resort maintenance man did fix our shower head the same day when that fell apart though. We were worried that one of the lifts showed signs of having caught fire in the recent past- it still had the local fire brigade warning tape stuck on and scorch marks on the lift doors...and one of the corridor fire doors was completely missing...hardly safe!

It was a relief that access to the slopes was very easy (via the nasty-smelling ski locker area and hallway) and we loved the skiing, but then that had nothing to do with the accommodation or the tour operator...

Overall, this is very basic accommodation, run on a shoestring, and your expectations should be very low to avoid too much disappointment.

Room Tip: Maybe give this property a miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWEnglandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

After booking and paying for my holiday read some poor reviews! When we arrived check in was prompt. Room clean and no mould in bathroom! Newish fridge and dishwasher, plenty of hot water, clean and comfy beds. Good view from balcony what more do you want from a self catering ski holiday! We did however have an apartment for 4 for 2 people - 1 would suggest there was only space for 3 so always take a larger option.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kcairn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

8 adults and 1 infant shared 3 C type studio apartments. A little cramped however we worked it out by assigning one apartment for cooking and eating in which made it easier to keep things in order. The cutlery and kitchenware was well stocked and in good order, though we missed not having a kettle. Hobs worked fine and easy to keep clean and we valued the dishwasher (bring own tablets though). No problems with temperature and plenty of hot water whenever we needed it. Rooms were clean on arrival and we were given the opportunity to raise any issues we had within 24 hours.
Lockers only hold skis and poles with boots kept in room, but we've seen this in other budget accommodation. Locker rooms had unpleasant smell but access to the slopes was good - just about ski in ski out, and very close to ski school (ESF).
Reaction to reported issue with lights in bathroom was very good with staff fixing the issue quickly. The reception was not, however, open for all the hours it was supposed to be but this didn't cause us any problems.
Boulangerie opposite was excellent for baguettes and croissants and we were well looked after in the New Pastille cafe in Val Claret Centre (just past the supermarket).
Generally happy with our stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The accommodation is basic which would be fine but a few points to consider
1. There are no professional cleaners. It is done by the people vacating the flat before you. We received the apartment in an awful state with dust everywhere, blood on the pillows and the balcony covered in bird poo! When we were leaving we gave a customary wipe with some baby wipes - that is it. The blankets are also not washed!
2. The woman on reception is the rudest person I have ever come access in the hospitality industry. Our light bulb in the bathroom was broken the entire time and she refused to fix it. She was insulted when we asked for basic things like the code to the door!! She then examines the flat when you are leaving! Its ridiculous!
3. The bakery accords the road - the woman there is also extremely rude
4. Kitchen is tiny

This accommodation is used by companies such as Off the Piste to make a huge profit from students and graduate skiing groups. While the location is excellent, you are definitely being ripped off and treated like an animal. The place is crawling!!! Do not ever stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
13.4 mi away
Au Rond-Point Pistes
Au Rond-Point Pistes
#35 of 37 in Tignes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
#21 of 37 in Tignes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#22 of 37 in Tignes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#15 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Ecrin des Neiges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat

Property: Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat
Address: rue du Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ski Planet, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaines du Soleil Residence Le Hameau du Borsat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaines Du Soleil Residence Le Hameau Du Borsat Hotel Tignes
Hameau Du Borsat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing