We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Unpleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Val Claret
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Was disappointed in the state of the accommodation offered. The room actually got darker when the lights were switched on, I was not aware you could get 2 watt bulbs. Broken furniture, only 1 cup, electrics hanging off the wall, only 2 sockets in entire apartment. A charge of €40 a week for the TV,
Thankfully a very helpful young lady on reception arranged an apartment in the Prariond block after I advised them the accommodation was unacceptable. This was far superior and closer to what I would expect for the price paid.

Tignes advertises itself as an 'upmarket' resort, but I would rather the accommodation was 'upmarket' as well and not in the unacceptable state that I found.

Will not return.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Finn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Val Claret, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous laisser votre avis.
Nous sommes navrés d'apprendre votre déception concernant votre séjour.
Les prestations supplémentaires sont mentionnées sur notre site internet et sur nos brochures.
Lors de l'état des lieux il est important de faire part au personnel de vos réclamations afin qu'il régularise la situation.
Nous lisons avec grande attention vos remarques et les transmettrons au responsable de la résidence.

Cordialement,
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Residence Val Claret
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to France for the third time in July 2009, stayed at this amazing hotel in Val Claret, to my surprise snow was falling that Saturday afternoon, wonderful experience for me coming from South Africa, all the staff were so helpful and friendly, loved roomservice and I was able to go to some of the Tour de France stages, I recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oumakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I've read all the terrible reviews, in fact I read them before we went on holiday - and frankly we were dreading what we might find. Imagine our relief when my daughter and I arrived at the apartment to find it was all untrue!!! Yes, the apartments are small, but you you don't spend long in them if you're a keen skier. Basic kitchen and equipment but quite enough to cook a decent meal. In this life you get what you pay for - it was cheap and perfectly clean - so what's the problem? The staff were all friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English.

True it's little distance from the centre of Val Claret (for shops and restaurants) but there's a good pizzeria just outside the ground floor of the apartment block and a fantastic boulangerie across the road that opens early in the morning for fresh croissants.

If you want to be close to the skiing action you couldn't be closer - true ski in/ski out from the doors of the apartment (with ski lockers thrown in) and just a short warm-up run down to the main lifts in the resort. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tremewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Do Not book here
...filthy rooms,arrogant staff,cold,noisey,mouldy walls...
..inghams rep was noticeable by his absence after we complained....
(funnily enough,he told us that all the guests complained about this place)
...and to top it all.....we had to pay for bed linen and towels.......oh....and we're told we would be paying for end of stay cleaning.....56euros.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Never been in my whole life in such an awful hotel.
Dirty, old equipment, horrible, ignorant unpolite and unprofessional staff.
Got my iPad STOLEN the day I was leaving, when i realized it and called the staff, they pretended not to speak english, refused to tell me what happened to it (magically disappeared from the room) and never answered my phone calls anymore.
Nothing worse to be expected and experienced. Regret to even have gone on this trip, which is a pity as Tignes itself is lovely.
WORST HOTEL EVER. (I wouldn't even classify it as "hotel".)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikamar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Val Claret, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous regrettons que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour au sein de notre résidence. Toutefois, nous souhaitons éclaircir certains points avec vous sur vos quelques remarques.

Tout d'abord la résidence Val Claret n'est pas un hôtel mais bel et bien une résidence de vacances.
Concernant le vol de votre iPad, le personnel vous a conseillé de porter plainte auprès de la gendarmerie ce que vous n'avez pas souhaité faire. Vous ne pouvez donc pas accuser notre équipe d'un fait qu'elle n'a pas commit et pour lequel nous n'avez pas souhaité entreprendre de démarches.

Cordialement
L'équipe Odalys Vacances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Yes it's basic but the price is cheap so what do yo expect.

2 hot plates and microwave, needs oven but hey.

Decent shower / hot water / loo.

Pillows awful!!!!

Bunk beds okay.

Ask for a balcony if you don't get one, very nice!

Heating great.

I wouldn't book if it was half term because it can get a little noisy.

But if you paid the right price then expect not a lot and it won't be that bad at all.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have never stayed in such a small apartment the whole thing wasn't much larger than a box room. Although it was small there was everything in the room that we needed - microwave etc. luckily we got a real bargain to stay here but I would not advise anyone to pay full price. The location is good as there is only a very short walk to the slopes. The apartments are only a 2* so they are very basic if your wanting much better in France you will need to go 4*/5* to get a much better quality apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethbean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Alpina
Residence Chalet Alpina
#25 of 37 in Tignes
98 reviews
13.3 mi away
Au Rond-Point Pistes
Au Rond-Point Pistes
#35 of 37 in Tignes
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Val Claret

Address: rue du Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range: £64 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Val Claret 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Residences De Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Val Claret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing