We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value for money and a location second to none.”
Review of Hotel Le Lavachey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Lavachey
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous value for money and a location second to none.”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent a week in Chalet Lavachey, Tignes, in February 2011, and enjoyed our stay there immensely. Okay, it's certainly not a luxurious property, but it was clean, the staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us, the food was good, and the location was worth the money alone! The rooms were small, but it's purely somewhere to sleep, and the beds were comfortable enough. A bit of cosmetic TLC wouldn't go amiss, but it didn't affect our enjoyment. We had 4 children with us, all under 9, and the staff bent over backwards to make sure they enjoyed their stay. Small things like feeding them earlier than the adults was better for them, and allowed us to dine in peace! The lifts and ski-school were literally 200 yards from the front door, and snow permitting, the chalet is ski-to-door. I wouldn't think twice about returning, and would recommend it highly, bearing in mind it's basic but comfortable and very friendly, with a location to die for!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnFig1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
23
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This chalet, currently run by Alpine Elements, is a bit like taking a trip back to a university hall of residence, or a school boarding house. A hall that smells of feet, a living room where you may have to sit on the floor because there's not enough space on the clapped-out sofas and chairs covered with throws for half the guests to get a seat, several shared bathrooms and triple rooms, and almost constant noise.

As other reviewers have noted, the rooms on the top floor are easily the nicest: although not spacious, they have plenty of clothes storage space (which often chalets don't have), a balcony (useful for storing food and drink) and clean ensuite bathrooms. However, some of them directly overlook the road just a few feet away, so if you aren't kept awake by revellers coming back from the bars, you will be woken up at 5am by rubbish collection trucks, piste bashers, and all kinds of other amenity vehicles.

The beds are studenty singles: thin matttresses and a single pillow each. The bathrooms have no toiletries whatsoever - not even any handsoap for the first three days, until a ration of two mini bars appeared on our beds on the Wednesday. You get two smallish towels and one bathmat per room. The water pressure isn't very good, although at no point did the hot water run out.

The bootroom is a set of open plan pigeon holes in the hall (again reminiscent of school/uni) and is quite smelly: the waft of sweaty boots hits you as soon as you walk in the door. The ski room is down some steep stairs in a rather dank cellar, not accessible through the chalet. There isn't a sauna or hottub or outdoor space (except the small room balconies). The living room is a room with a tea and coffee table and some shabby chairs and sofas - very like a student JCR except without a TV or stereo.

Location wise, the chalet is very close to the road which is not good if you don't like being woken up, but it's also just a two minute walk downhill to the lifts and one minute uphill to the Alpaka bar. It's probably the super-nearest I've ever been to the centre of ski village, which makes it very handy indeed - you can even ski direct from the chalet to one of the lifts should you choose!

Breakfast, tea and dinner is provided. Breakfast was mostly rather vile: a cooked option everyday such a single pancake (yes, just one), or super-economy sausages that were a disgrace to France - we weren't even sure they were pork, or meat at all. There was also jam, bread, nutella, cornflakes, coco-pops, yoghurts, and a few pieces of fresh fruit on offer. Several people asked asked for Marmite and were told it was not available in town (not true, as it turned out). On our first day there was a coffee machine which overflowed everywhere: it then disappeared and we had instant coffee for the rest of the week. There were also only really awful teabags that made a liquid that didn't taste anything like tea. Even if you aren't the type to take teabags with you on holiday, please take your own PG Tips, Twinings Earl Grey or Yorkshire Tea with you...it will make breakfast and teatimes so much more pleasant.

Tea and coffee excepted, tea time was fine: a cake plus bread and jam. The coffee and walnut cake and lemon cake were very good: a chocolate cake was brown but other than that didn't have much to do with chocolate.

Dinner: to be fair to the chef, it must be really tough to cook 32 3-course dinners simultaneously and single handed, in a fairly small kitchen. And I am sure the budget they have to work with is even smaller than the typical school dinner, and lots of ingredients aren't easily available in the Alps. And it must be very exasperating having to cope with people who don't eat cheese, people who don't eat meat, people who don't like onions etc etc. I had great sympathy for the hard pressed chef, who seemed like a nice young bloke, but the dinners really weren't that great. Things like undressed salads, or salads with neat vinegar on them, overcooked unset tarts, tinned fruit, watery custard from a packet, huge lumps of unseasoned chicken breast or salmon fillet on a pile of pasta, and some truly awful bits of pork that seemed to have been coated in Chinese sweet and sour sauce and served with ratatouille. There wasn't anywhere near enough fresh vegetables or fresh fruit: most of the green veg seemed to have been defrozen and were mushy and overcooked. And the plates were ALWAYS cold, which meant that by the time you'd waited for the rest of your table of ten or twelve to be served, your food was getting pretty cold too. The best night of the week was easily the last night, when the chef produced a lovely creamy potato dauphinoise with duck and red cabbage.

A final word about the Alpine Elements chalet/rep staff. The hard sell started on the transfer bus before we even got to the resort, and given the transfer was 3+ hours, that was quite a lot to take. We were not only sold lift-passes and ski hire on the bus (naturally it turns out AE gets a commission on all these sales) but also expensive private lessons with their "preferred" ski schools (kerching kerching again), expensive optional excursions, and worst of all, we got an unwanted 20 minute speech selling us AE's summer holiday programme as well.

When we got to the chalet, our welcome meeting was not much of a welcome...so much as a reading out a long list of school rules on the first day of term: "No noise, no outdoor shoes, no room key unless you pay a deposit, no skis in the chalet, no opening windows with the radiators on" etc and then another rep took over to launch into an even harder sell of extra activities, slightly reminiscent of a Club 18-30 holiday. These included a pub crawl, which involved paying E10 each to be led round certain bars where the reps had deals with the landlords. We were told that for our E10 we would get up to a dozen "free" shots: what this really means is that for every (very expensive) drink you bought, you got a free shot. Give this rip off a miss and organise your own.

The chalet's rep had also brought in a woman from one of the more expensive ski schools to sell lessons at the welcome meeting - clearly there was another "arrangement" going on here, because when we asked the rep instead to book a group of us into Tignes ESF (whom had been recommended to us as excellent, whom were much cheaper, and whom actually had availability when we wanted it) she was very reluctant to do so.

All in all, I wasn't over impressed with the AE staff. All except one (Ralph, a long serving rep who when pressed had some useful tips about the resort) were very, very young, and it really showed. The chalet staff themselves were smiley and pleasant, the rep looked permanently stressed (presumably worrying about commission targets), the chalet manager seemed very inexperienced (eg she either hadn't noticed or wasn't bothered that none of the chalet bathrooms had any soap with which to wash your hands...)
We got very little useful information about the weather- the rep said she would print out the weather forecast for the coming week on the Sunday, which would have been better than nothing except she never actually did it, nor did we receive any objective advice on places to go to or avoid in the resort or on the mountain. As a result the whole week was a bit hit and miss - we had lunch at some OK places but also some truly disastrous ones. All in all, I'd rather pay less and not have a rep at all.

Three other quick notes: you will need to haul your bags a 5-10 minute walk uphill at the airport to where the coach is parked, and then to do the same for a 5-10 minute walk uphill in the resort with all your bags, as the coach doesn't stop outside the chalet. The chalet staff do come and help on arrival, but not on departure: when you leave you will have to carry your bags down the icy hill to the bus station by yourself.

Also on the transfers: the transfer to/from Geneva is an unbelievably tedious 3.5 hours long - even longer if AE decide to get you up before dawn so they can pick people up from other resorts on the way to save themselves money. Instead seriously consider getting the Eurostar train to Bourg St Maurice, and then catch the Belle Savoie scheduled bus service from Bourg to Tignes. The bus only takes 45 minutes, goes hourly on Saturdays and Sundays, costs 15E return, and you spare yourself the captive hard sell from the rep (NB you do need to pre-book the bus online).

Finally, there's no wifi in the chalet. You can get free wifi at the Maison de Tignes (the information centre next to the lifts) when it is open, and a free but erratic wifi at the Alpaka Hotel next door but one. 3G reception is very patchy and can't be 100% relied on.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blonde222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igogroup, Manager at Hotel Le Lavachey, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Management Response:
I have read this review with interest but I would like to point out to readers that the Lavachey has undergone some improvements since the 2010/11 Winter ski season.

I am pleased that the reviewer has noted the chalet to command a central and superb ski to door location as well as my staff's diligence, friendliness and committment to the job. Indeed running a chalet for 33 is an admirable task.

I am saddened to hear that parts of the chalet have a likeness to boarding school - perhaps the pidgeon hole storage for shoes is reminiscent of days at school, but at least it is located in a very appealing entrance/lobby to the chalet which has some of the most spectacular views in Tignes.

I agree that the rooms downstairs used not to be as appealing as the upstairs rooms. However we are working hard on sorting these rooms this Summer (2011) and I can assure readers that this property will offer them a fantastic ski holiday - as it has for so many of our guests who stayed this summer, since the "Boarding School" review above was published.

James Hardiman
Managing Director
Alpine Elements Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tignes hotels

Market Harborough
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed with Alpine Elements - This is a Bronze rated Chalet Hotel and we got exactly what we paid for - clean, warm and simple accommodation - Breakfast included a warm option every day, there was cake and tea every afternoon, and a basic but wholesome 3 course meal cooked every night by our chef Adam (except staff day off) which we felt got progressively better as the week progressed. There was usually 3 waitresses who were all very personable. Our Chalet Manager - Moira - was always on hand, and we had her mobile number - This proved very useful when my wife became injured on the slopes and we needed to travel back from Val D'Isere. There had been no snow for a couple of weeks, but the pistes were immaculate - no bare patches or ice. This is the first time ewe've used Alpine Elements, and 2nd visit to Tignes and we'd certainly re-visit in the future, and would certainly consider travelling with AE and staying at the Lavachey.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewGreatEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We booked this chalet for a group ski holiday and thankfully, managed to fill it (33 of us) - had we not, I suspect the living room would have been a little on the cosy side if we were with other people we didn't know.

The hotel was catered and the chef, Adam, was fantastic! He did everything he could to meet our requests - inc wheat intolerant and dairy intolerant guests. The chalet staff were fabulous too - they even changed their day off for us so we could eat out on one of our friend's birthdays.

I was staying in one of the rooms on the top floor and these had been recently renovated and were lovely. The bathrooms were immaculate and whilst the shower pressure wasn't always perfect, I couldn't complain. BUT I did see friend's rooms downstairs and they were pretty grim - mould on the shower walls etc - I wouldn't have liked to have stayed there.

The location is perfect! Only 2 mins to the chair lifts and bars and restaurants in the area. Our room wasn't overlooking the road so there were no issues with noise from people who stayed out late....but this could be an issue if you have one of the rooms which do.

Overall, for the price, I would recommend it as long as you stay on the top floor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Excellent chalet location, steps away from slopes, but the interior was a let down. Having read that the chalet had undergone a facelift, the interior was a disappointment. However all the staff were excellent, nice atmosphere inside the chalet & food was excellent but not the watered down red wine.

We stayed at le Rosset (3 minutes walk from le Lavachey) 3 years ago and must say that we were also disappointed with the interior and cleanliness. although food & wine was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This is the worst chalet I've stayed in, in over 16 years skiing. Alpine Elements have severely over sold this chalet. The accommodation is very basic, despite having been described as refurbished on their website, it appeared very worn, tired and in desperate need of a complete overhaul.
Firstly for a chalet that sleeps 33, there was only seating for 15 in the lounge, the dining room was a tiny room that squeezed in 33 guests with very little room to move. The furniture in both communal areas was very worn with frayed sofas covered in throws and the dining chairs in need of some wood glue to stick the backs together, as they were falling apart. The bedrooms were basic with very little storage (one single wardrobe and no drawers.) The en-suite bathroom was very small, with no soap, hand towels or floor mat provided. You were given a token 1 towel that was changed mid week. The shower was extremely poor with very poor water pressure that had a tendency to run out of running water mid shower in peak times. Not good when you have soap in your hair. The explanation to this was the tank was not big enough for the chalet and could not cope with the demand. Not acceptable when you have paid extra for en-suite facilities. The only solution to this is beat rush hour, cut your day short off the piste and shower between 4pm and 5pm to guarantee a water supply. Absolutely ridiculous.
The chalet was also extremely noisy and throughout most of the week it felt as if the whole chalet was in our room. If you are unfortunate enough to be given room 1, make sure you take ear plugs and extra lighting. I say this because the location of this room is right in the entrance, so one can hear every conversation in great detail of everyone entering and leaving the chalet. Not great when you have drunken guests arriving in the early hours that have forgotten to use their volume switches. Also there is very little privacy in the room if you like natural daylight. The room is at the front of the chalet on the ground floor, so everyone going into the ski locker room would have a look inside, as the window was right next to the locker room door. You had the option to keep the shutter windows closed, but of course would leave the room in darkness with 2 small wall lights providing very a dim light.
The food was a mixed bag. The breakfasts were poor, the afternoon cakes were great (although I recommend you bring your own tea bags as the tea was dreadful) and the dinners got better during the course of the week. Good home cooking. The wine at the table was watered down, so if you like ribeena it was OK.
The cleanliness of chalet could have done with improving; the tea making facilities were kept in the lounge, but the table where everything was housed was hardly ever wiped, used spoons were kept in a bowl of dirty water and many of the cups were chipped. The bedroom carpet was not very clean upon arrival and we discovered sweet wrappers from previous quests under the bed, confirming the room was not properly cleaned on change over day.
The only thing that this chalet has going for it, is its location. But this certainly doesn't warrant the price tag that goes with this holiday.
My impression of Alpine Elements is of a money grabbing organisation, that provides substandard accommodation for the money they are asking for. Value it is not!!! I will not be using them again and will certainly not be recommending them to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Alpine Elements runs this chalet as a catered Chalet. Accommodation is on three levels.
This Chalet is located in a good position very close to the lifts. The chalet, although having had a bit of an upgrade (the bathroom tiles looked quite new), suffers from some serious problems.
The chalet is very noisy, for a number of reasons, firstly the doors to the rooms are very thin and also have a strong spring giving them a tendency to slam shut.. Secondly the dining and sitting rooms have no doors and as such, the noise made by anyone in these rooms travels up the open stairwell through the building. The central location of the Chalet also means there is some traffic noise and noise from people leaving the nearby pubs in the early hours of the morning.
The Chalet dining room consists of three long tables and is horribly cramped when full as it was during our stay. The sitting room is also inadequate for the number of people the Chalet holds and would benefit from the addition of a TV.
Bedrooms conform to the usual French standard of being on the small side. Our en-suite bathroom was clean and functional although the sink was blocked on our arrival (one of our group being a plumber soon had it fixed). Strangely no soap was supplied in the bathrooms. One towel per person was supplied which was changed midway through the week..
Breakfast we found to be poor, three choices of flakes, a basket of bread and assorted jams supplemented by a different hot option per day, for example: beans on toast, one slice of bacon and French toast or a single pancake. Orange juice on the table, you have to make your own tea/coffee from the station in the sitting room.
Cake is supplied during the afternoon with main three course meals served in the evening. Generally the evening meals were OK, with a variety of foods served throughout the week.
The staff running the Chalet (who also lived in) were very attentive and friendly and gave no cause for complaint.
If you book this Chalet at full price you might feel a bit aggrieved as location alone does not justify the price of this Chalet.. You may be better off staying at the Mark Warner Hotel across the road which is being refurbished for next season.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Arbina
Hotel L'Arbina
#20 of 37 in Tignes
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#8 of 37 in Tignes
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#5 of 37 in Tignes
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Lavachey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lavachey

Property: Hotel Le Lavachey
Address: rue du Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Le Lavachey 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town center of the resort.ski in / ski out.Situated at the heart of the activities summer of Tignes.Hotel bed and breakfast.good value, low rates.In winter: only 2 nights minimum asked. (Except Xmass and NY weeks) check in / check out every day.In summer: no specific condition about the longer of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Lavachey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lavachey Hotel Tignes
Lavachey Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing