We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service and great location”
Review of Hotel Vanoise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vanoise
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Recently stayed for 6 nights and this hotel puts many higher starred others to shame. The rooms are nice - good enough, the food is very good and the service and staff are excellent. OK the lounge is small, but quite frankly streets ahead of catered chalets in the local area especially given the reasonable price - no silly school holiday price inflations. If you want a small good value hotel you could do s lot worse!! Good wine list too!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyawayski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for a week. The hotel is in a great location, you go out straight to the Tufs lift. Dinner is a buffet, plenty of food and very tasty. Room was a good size and there is free wifi and the TV in the room has a DVD player. Jules and Sebastien run the hotel and they could not be more helpful. Also make sure you head to the bar after dinner to hear Jules on guitar - superb!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJAM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel which is located just downhill from the Tufs lift and uphill from the Grand Motte lifts - ski in, ski out.

The half board food was good and plentiful and showcased the local cuisine. The hosts Sebastian and Jules were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and they offered great recommendations for lunch around the area. The serving girls in the restaurant were very friendly and approachable, offering good advice on the skiing if asked.

Yes, the rooms are small and the ensuite bathrooms are tiny, but this is the snowfields, and so this is not unexpected. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Tufs area are lovely. You can watch everyone meet for the ski schools in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Le Vanoise, is a brilliant hotel, great location, friendly staff, clean, good food! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowrider6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

To not repeat what's already been said, I'll just say that all the positive reviews are absolutely true! This cute friendly hotel is definitely the best choice for travellers who care about the substance (and not just the appearance). We have been to many (mostly 4 and 5 star) hotels around the world, but were never actually sad to leave (let alone hugged goodbye). Thanx to Jules & Sebastien and the rest of the team for a wonderful holiday, see you again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lidicvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Many people seem to have really enjoyed this. We didn't.
We found our room cramped, as was the bathroom, so the price/quality ratio was not favourable. Some repainting, redecoration or refurbishment is indicated. The concrete steps up to the entrance are crumbling in places, and need repair.
There was no service at breakfast. At this time of year the hotel restaurant was not open, and they recommended (to their credit) that we should eat at La Pignatta, not far away, where we had good food with good service in a great atmosphere, with democratic prices.
The location is excellent, no distance from the funicular which whisks you up the Grande Motte.
To be fair, this is probably a great place fo a young couple on a ski holiday, when Tignes turns into a winter wonderland. In the summer it is a modern industrialised ski resort concrete jungle, with little charm. But that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a superior rather than a standard. The view is good from all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Possibly the friendliest and most genuine collection of staff I have ever met, not only in France (which is arguably not saying THAT much? ha ha) but from anywhere around the world, in the 5 continents I've been to anyway? Jules and Sebastien, surely not that far from becoming a double act, speak excellent English and the staff that don't speak English are just as helpful and friendly where possible. Compact and bijou, this hotel ticks all the right boxes for the majority of people who aren't looking for unnecssary expense and glamour. Me and my friends have been taxied around (when needed for medical reasons), been serenaded, informed, entertained, and even given free guitar lessons.

WELL worth the visit!! The only reason I've not given full marks is that there is not a full/hot breakfast but I recognise this is not for everyone which is why I've specified!! Book, stay, and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevinDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#19 of 37 in Tignes
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#5 of 37 in Tignes
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
#16 of 37 in Tignes
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanoise

Address: Immeuble les Tufs | Le Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range: £68 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vanoise 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vanoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing