We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, well-located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A very welcoming, cosy and well-decorated 'Savoy rustic' hotel. The rooms were a little small and the breakfast was a little disappointing, but it is well located in the resort of Tignes (about 10 mins from the centre of the resort), and had an amazing spa and pool facility - perfect after a day's skiing. Hotel comes equipped with ski lockers in the basement, etc. It's on the pricier side compared to other hotels in the resort, but worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELECRIN, Directeur général at Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hotel L'Ecrin du Val Claret on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic to read that you had a good stay at the Hotel and you did enjoy our Spa.

I was sorry to learn that you found your breakfast experience to be a disappointment. We receive so many positive comments on the standard of our breakfasts, that it is very unusual to hear such negative feedback. May I ask you what was wrong ?

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours sincerely,

Yann Margetyal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

The service is excellent. Reception is always available for guests. Rooms are really clean. Breakfast buffet is amazing with lots of different things (bread, croissant, cheese, ham, eggs, cereals ...). Spa is huge and is really great after skiing. Ski storage and heatable ski boots are excellent services. The only minor point is that the hotel is a little bit far from the ski lifts. But to be honest, if you don't want to walk with ski boots, a shuttle service is stopping in front of the hotel. To recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AurBDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We failed to comprehend the negative reviews of this fantastic hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodation was superb. Breakfast was a feast and kept us going all morning. As we were summer skiing I cannot comment on access to the lifts - but if you want a touch of luxury while glacier skiing you need look no further. It was an all round superb experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We, a aprty of 10 persons stayed at Hotel l'Ecrin for 9 nights and I must say that I've never before stayed at a 3-starred hotel in France with this good standard. Clean rooms, good breakfast, great staff, great spa-area and a very good restaurant.
Please bare in mind that it is only a 3-star hotel we are talking about !
We ususally stay at 5-star- and deluxe-hotels in which you of course have other services, but this is a 3-star hotel and I can tell you it is the very best 3-star hotel we have ever stayed at.
We've read some of the comments below and I suggest you do not book a 3-star hotel if you expect 5-star service as it's a different ball-game and a different price level.
This time around we were 3 families with lots of kids so we booked a 3-star, but it was GREAT !
And if you are a skier, then moving some metres across a parking lot to a pulling rope shouldn't be any problem or you should maybe visit a doctor...

Room Tip: If you are a EXTREMELY light sleeper, don't take wine with your dinner and intend to sleep until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at this superb hotel just before Christmas. The weather was not conducive to skiing because there was so much snow.We took advantage of the Hotel Leisure facilities which were very good. We dined in the restaurant which was expensive but very satsifying and the service was very good indeed. The rooms were comfortable and cosy and the staff were more than helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoddlesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

When we arrived, our first impression was very good: the deco is really nice, cosy atmosphere, wooden walls...
The rooms are a bit on the small side, although clean and with a nice deco.
The location is not that convenient as it is located in the far end of the Village. You need to take a bus or walk with the ski boots and the gear. There is a rope across the parking lot which leads to the main lifts. However, it is not very easy to cross the parking, with all the cars blocking the way.
Breakfast is decent but that's the best we can say about it.
Dinner is a terrible experience: we booked half board, so we need to dine at the Chalet Bouvier. You need to cross a corridor that has no heating, so you better bring your coat.
The first impression was, once again, very good. Cosy atmosphere, fireplace, The half board guests are entitled to one starter, one main and one desert. The service is absolutely terrible. Be prepared to wait for 1 hour before getting your starter. The meals lasted at least 2 hours because they would make us wait for 30m, 45m, between dishes.
New Years dinner was te worst, as we waited and waited between each dish. We stayed in that restaurant from 20:00 until 23:45!
The front desk staff are not very helpful and don't seem to be very experienced. I asked for a thermometer and an aspirin on the front desk, and they did't have either. Bring your own|
Overall, the snow was great, Tignes is definitely a place we will return to but we will not stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, ask for a romm distant from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGH_HOT_RESID, Directeur général at Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour, Chere Madame


Nous avons pris lecture avec attention de votre commentaire
Nous vous presentons nos excuses
Nous avons transmit au Restaurant le Chalet Bouvier , partenaire de notre Hotel, les désagrements rencontrés.
Notre reception ne dispose pas de Thermometre ( pour raison d'hygiene ) et nous ne sommes pas habilités à delivrer des aspirines à nos clients ( pour raison medicale )

cordialement
bruno Ibanez
Directeur hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks Christmas 10/11 ( half board) rooms are compact but modern and very clean the architecture in the the hotel is warm, cosy and inviting .....but the management seem to favour Russian guests paying special attention to their needs??
Dont pay the extra supplement for Christmas or New Years Dinner (50 euro extra) as it was very poor indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albert9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#2 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#6 of 37 in Tignes
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret

Address: avenue de Grande Motte | Le Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range: £145 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing