We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As a child my parents had taken me to this hotel. It was new at the time and remember it very fondly. So when my children asked me to take them skiing, this was my first choice.
The club had been refurbished probably the year before and the accommodation was comfortable.. We were in a deluxe mountain view room, which had two rooms connected with a bathroom for the kids and a shower for the master, the shower room was very small but sufficient.
The food and beverage department was outstanding. So much choice and changed for every meal.
So much for the kids to do. Dropped them to ski school in the morning, and mini club in the afternoon where they prepared for the shows that they preformed in the evening in the theatre.
There was also a spa, an indoor pool and a gym.
We only went for one week but had such a great time that next year we will be back for a fortnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Knowclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    245
    132
    55
    37
See reviews for
429
102
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time to this in med hotel and I've just booked for next years half term.
If you want a fabulous stress free holiday ( we have 4 kids, 10,10,12,15yrs) then this is for you.
We travelled with friends this time which made the experience even more fun.

Accommodation: we had a family interconnecting room which sleeps 4 and 2 with two bathrooms and two toilets between us. We had the second floor resort view, above the wellness / restaurant section of the hotel. No noise from activities and very clean spacious rooms. Also not too far to walk up the stairs if you don't want to wait for the lift.

Hotel: clean, spacious with plenty of seating in the bar and restaurant. We reserved a table in the restaurant the first night as we were 11 but had no problems finding seating all together. The staff were very helpful and the GO's kept everyone entertained with cabaret nights, musicians, kids shows etc. Every night the hotel set a theme for dinner which was fun to go along with.

Food and drink: as this is all inclusive everything apart from the very high end liqueurs or champagne was included. Plenty of choice in the restaurant, from pasta and pizza, fresh fish, sirloin steak, joints of meat, french dishes, Cheese fondue, salads, desserts and ice creams the list could go on and on. At lunchtime there are canapés piste side with drinks, afternoon tea is cakes, fresh crepes, oysters, mussels.

Kids: well they just love it, the staff take really good care of the kids. They get them ready for skiing, you just drop them off in the theatre and they take them down in their groups to get ready for their ski lessons so that you can go get ready yourselves.
The lessons are graded on previous experience and by assessment and they have the same instructor all week so they really improve.
They can stay in kids club all day if you like but ours met us in the bar area after their lessons and we ate lunch and dinner together.

The only thing not included in the price is equipment hire but this can be hired from clubmed when booking or book through ski republic or ski set borsat shop to save pounds on your hire. We used ski republic this time for the kids and was a third of the price compared with the clubmed ski hire rates and is literally across the road from the hotel. You can see both shops from the hotel front door.

Overall if you want a really good all inclusive ski experience then this holiday is for you. You get flights, airport transfer to and from hotel. All the food and drink you can eat, hospitality, ski lessons and full ski pass as well as use of indoor swimming pool, weight room and keep fit classes.
I Highly recommend this hotel and all it's facilities :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Anitaonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburry
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the third year we book at this hotel and are just about going to book again for next year’s Easter Holidays.

Once more, we have had an excellent stay. The hotel has a good location in Val Claret with the Prairond slope at the door step. The hotel is extremely well organized from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Friendly and professional staff will greet you at the door upon arrival and help you through the check in process and take you and your baggage to your room. This year for a change we booked an exterior room with breath-taking views of the mountains (well worth the small price difference).

The ski rental room is well appointed and the skis the Club Med have for rentals are one of the best we have ever skied with. Excellent quality and in very good shape taking into account that we were there at the end of their season.

This year my husband and I did not ski with the monitors as we wanted to go our own pace but our daughter and two nieces did have daily lessons and as usual, the quality of the lessons are quite good (on slightly a negative side we would say that one of the monitors did not correct our daughter as much as we would have liked hence we ended up giving her lessons ourselves - this was no great deal).

The bar as usual has an excellent staff with friendly barmen. I especially liked the "Devil Mary" a waiter prepared in the evenings (a variation of Bloody Mary with Tequila instead of Vodka).

Restaurant: lovely staff and good food in general. (Maybe the cheese tray needs improving - we are cheese lovers so what we usually do is buy our own cheese in the village and eat it at the hotel for desert! No big deal as most clients did seem to like the hotel cheese so maybe we are the odd ones out).

The bedrooms are spacy (especially if you ask for the ones with mountain views). The views are beautiful and the beds are great. Sufficient cupboard space. Good bathroom. The hotel does provide water bottles in the bedroom though we did find that the ice cold tap water was much nicer!

Traveling with three girls, we did make good use of the Junior Club: well managed, with lots of activities and a very friendly staff. The children were ecstatic and did not want to leave at the end of the week. (My 10 yr old daughter wants to be a GO when she is older...).

Last but not least, a special thanks to Gilles, the General Manager. Young for such a position we marvelled at his energy and good spirit (even at 7.30 in the morning to see us off!). We do hope to see him next year at Tignes as he is the heart and soul of the hotel together with all the friendly staff.

Thank you Club Med for another lovely holiday in Tignes!

Sally & Fred (Delgado)

Room Tip: My advice would be to get a room with views to the mountain (it realy is worth the price difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I'm not going to dwell on some of the minor points of the Club Med, like mentioned in other reviews: like the food that could be better, more organic/balanced, the effectiveness of the cleaning crew, the small ski lockers, the early closing of the bar,...but I'm going to talk/thank mainly about the staff there.

The staff made this holiday the best I ever had... We had so much fun with the ladies at the bar, the spa team, the reception team and the managers. Always there to help all day and at night ready to party, all friendly and funny. I loved the position game, the salsa course, our nights out, Julien's (the dj) birthday, ...

So a big thanks to you : Harley, Justine, Audrey, Ornella, Fatima, Anastasia, Julie, Pierrick, Gilles, Julien, Nico,...and all those who I forgot !

We were there during the transition from the former head of the village to the new one, Gilles...let me say that his first day on the job wasn't the most calm one, mainly because of us, so again sorry for the wake up run we did, but it's going to be a great video ;-)

So again, best time ever, I rarely laughed so hard, slept this less, skied that much !

Big hugs and kisses from "Les Belges" :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the first week of April at this resort and had a wonderful time in a beautiful and well-resourced ski town. Patient ski instructors helped us make unbelievable progress in just one week and at the end of each day, we felt well looked after with very good food and comfortable accommodation - spacious interleading family unit. The table wines (included) were quite ordinary but better quality is also available at an additional price. The children loved the nightly entertainment (put on very professionally by the hotel staff). I could have done with a bit less of that but each to their own - I think it's very much part of the Club Med formula. We were more aware than most of nightly revels as our rooms were on the first floor just above the theatre and bar areas so there was some noise till quite late. If you want quiet evenings, be sure to ask for a room further away. I enjoyed a great massage and facial in the spa - wonderful after lots of skiing. All in all, Club Med gave us a very memorable holiday and a desire to ski some more. Thank you to Giles and his dedicated team!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great to have ski in ski out. Plenty of slopes to keep everyone at every level happy.The food at lunch much better than at dinner, would be better to be the opposite way round as you don't want to eat too much if you are skiing in the afternoon. The room (double in Petit Claret) left a lot to be desired. Most days the cleaner made the bed and replaced any towels left in the bath, but we ran out of toilet paper on more than one occasion and she didn't provide a replacement. Similarly, she didn't notice we had run out of soap. On each occasion we phoned reception and the missing items were provided within 15 minutes. The room didn't look as though it had been vacuumed for at least two weeks. As another reviewer said, the ski lockers are too small and there is not enough room to put on your boots when the ski room is busy. We were on the 5th floor which was nice and quiet, but a French man in my group who had a single room in the main hotel got very little sleep all week due to noise from the bar and disco. The room with the toilet in it does not have a sink.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

lovely to stay at Club Med. Really appreciate all the services that are available.
Food is excellent.
However the accommodation is a little uncared for. The rooms are not cleaned
enough and the public areas especially in the second block are simply not clean .

end of season itus?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#7 of 37 in Tignes
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Suites du Montana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Property: Club Med Tignes Val Claret
Address: Club Med Tignes rue du Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tignes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#11 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassiere. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing