We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karen A
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom

Lovey hotel but could do better

Review of Le Taos
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2019via mobile
Lovely hotel, nice decor and inviting. The location was great with doorstep skiing.

We booked a superior double and weren’t disappointed. The room was lovely, nice bathroom and toiletries. We requested more tea as we don’t drink coffee and there was plenty provided once we asked. Nice bathrobes and slippers. The hairdryer was a standard one and not one of those low powered hotel ones which made a nice change. We had a balcony looking out onto fabulous views of the mountains.

The breakfast area had amazing views but that was the best thing about it sadly. For a 4 star hotel is was sadly lacking and considering what is charged if it hadn’t been included I wouldn’t have been happy paying €22 a day. The eggs & sausage would probably have been okay except they were stone cold. There were fresh pastries, fruit, bread, cake, yogurt, ham and cheeses. Every morning we were greeted with an array of dirty dishes and tables. There seems to only be 1 person covering breakfast which is too much on a busy breakfast time.

We used the pool and sauna facilities.

Overall a nice hotel, not sure I would agree with the 4 star rating.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2019
Dear karenaP5742CT,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Taos Hotel, and for your feedback on Trip Advisor as we are always very happy to receive feedback from our guests.
Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that you appreciated your stay as well as most of the hotel facilities, your room and the decoration of our Hotel.
We feel very sorry about any inconvenience you have experienced at the breakfast service which not reflect the usual standards and quality of services we provide to our guests., and please accept our apologies about this issue. We have taken good note and Needless to say that your observations will be brainstormed with our restaurant and appropriate actions will be taken..
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another stay with us.
Best regards
R.GUIGNARD
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Notre salon de repos
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.1 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
2.8 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
    £86
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Le Taos
Free Wifi
Restaurant
    2.7 miles from Le Taos
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £85
    • Algotels
    0.2 miles from Le Taos
    Free Wifi
    • Priceline
    2.8 miles from Le Taos
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Tignes
    Reviews (230)
    Filter reviews
    230 results
    Traveller rating
    123
    52
    36
    11
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    123
    52
    36
    11
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hotel suite towel rail ski room sauna and steam room hotel manager living area thoroughly enjoyed our stay spa facilities an alternative microwave le cupboard slopes skiing bins furnishings crockery
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    27 - 32 of 230 reviews
    Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

    Spent a week with family and friends and the holiday apartment is really great- clean, spacious , looks recently renovated and fantastic location for skiing in and out. One can choose a half pension or just the apartments. I can highly recommend

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank kochbail
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

    Dear Kochbail,
    Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. It's a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests.
    We hope to welcome you back for another super stay with us and in the meantime, we invite you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram in ordre to be informed of our latest news and offers.
    Best regards
    R.GUIGNARD

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

    In all a very good all round hotel with excellent facilities ski locker room then out the door to the lifts...but a little niggle x2 that did bother me we emailed the hotel requesting car park ( no reply ) found 3 parking spaces 10-11-12 with no cars parked on level N1 full they said which never had a car in the space while we were there ,mats and a snow blower stopping customers parking wake up guys customers need these spaces...every morning walked into dirty tables with 1 person clearing tables with 3 behind the reception desk not a good sign.
    Our room was 14 exceptional could not ask for more clean comfy bed amazing views. Would come back if reviews were listened to..Tignes is a special place for me.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank gocelt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

    Dear Gocelt,
    We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Taos Hotel and for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are truly happy to read that you appreciated the hotel and our good location on the slopes.
    We deeply show our apology about the misunderstanding and the inconvenience you have experienced with our parking. The fact that is after checking all our emails, we didn't find your email in which you request a car park. I am very sorry.
    Concerning the breakfast service, your comment has been shared with our restaurant manager.
    Be assured that your reviews have been taken into consideration .
    We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at this special place for you , Tignes.
    Best regards
    R.GUIGNARD

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 February 2019

    We stayed in the 5 person duplex apartment in Le Taos apartment A1.
    Overall the apartment was excellent. Upstairs double bedroom with large wardrobe, twin room with extra single bed, bathroom (more to follow), WC and shower - downstairs spacious living area, beer fridge, good sized dining area, compact kitchen and WC.

    On the whole this was a brilliant apartment, one flight of stairs up from the ground floor (location of the restaurant, bar and wellness area) and the pool table was on the same level to the delight of our children.

    The staff were exceptional. Very friendly, helpful, chatty. A real pleasure to interact with.

    We didn’t use the dining room as we were self catering and that is the main area the room let itself down.

    The kitchen, which you will see from my photos is not the largest was missing one appliance - but a fairly key one - a traditional oven. It did have a hob, dishwasher, coffee machine, toaster and fridge but in terms of ovens it had a microwave/combi oven/grill which are not in my opinion adequate for cooking for a family of four. This really did let the room down.

    The other negative was the bath and bathroom. I am 6'2" and not the slimmest and my only bath saw me wedged into the bath and then i banged my head on the ridiculously low ceiling when I got out. It was showers for the rest of the week.

    Location wise in respect of Tignes 2100/Tignes Le Lac it is a little off the beaten track and was a good couple of hundred metres from the nearest shopping area. This does have the benefit of it being nice and quiet which with youngish children isn't the worst thing.

    Outside our room was what I presume was Tignes council yard - not the prettiest view but this is a minor niggle. The room was also above the kitchen so sometimes we did get minor noise disturbances.

    The boot-room was accessed via a lift on the ground floor and has great sized lockers with very effective boot heaters. Also, all doors were operated keylessly which is true throughout the hotel and very convenient. The area to put on your gear was a good size and we never had a problem with it being too busy.

    Access to the slopes was down one short flight of stairs and then it was ski in/ski out.

    If we return to Tignes would I use this hotel again - probably as the positives hugely outweigh the negatives.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 194jamesp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

    Dear Guest,
    We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Taos Hotel, and for your great feedback on Trip Advisor as we are always very happy to receive positive feedback from our guests.
    Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that you appreciated your stay as well as the services of the hotel, our staff and our good location on the slopes.
    We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay with us and in the meantime, we invite you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram in order to be informed of our latest news and offers.
    Best regards
    R.GUIGNARD

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

    Stayed for a week’s family holiday February 2019 in an apartment. Reasonably spacious (except the tiny bathrooms) with great views over the town on the higher floors and on the whole good quality furnishings. Noise insulation is poor and the hotel runs the heating at quite simply an incredibly high level - we spent the week with all windows wide open. Friendly reception staff.

    Breakfast are very high quality although entertainingly expensive. I would suggest skipping them if on a budget and buying breakfast from the exemplary, reasonably-priced and gourmet-standard Maison Chevallot bakery 5 minutes walk away.

    Avoid dinners which are frankly poor, although the fondue night might be worth a try if you can get a reservation. We couldn’t, despite (even as hotel guests) trying three days in advance.

    The hotel takes an unusual approach to looking after apartment residents at the end of your stay. On the last night you are informed by a note under the door that you are expected to clean your own apartment at the end of the stay, empty the rubbish into a bin bag and find a public bin into which to dispose it. Failing which you will have your deposit withheld. I can’t remember checking out of any other hotel clutching a bin bag alongside our family baggage. Someone in the Taos needs to find a better translation of ‘customer care’ into French - this is frankly a dreadful note on which to end a holiday.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank GeorgeGordon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

    Dear GeorgeGordon

    We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Taos Hotel, and for your feedback on Trip Advisor as we are always very happy to receive feedback from our guests.

    Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that you appreciated your apartment and our staff .
    Rest assured that your positive comment about the staff will be forwarded to our team.

    Concerning our apartments, they are self-catering. That's why you are asked to empty your rubbish at the end of your stay. It's written on our general terms and conditions.

    As we always improve our standard and quality of service, we take good note of your comment about the
    restaurant.

    We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay with us.

    Best regards

    R.GUIGNARD

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 February 2019

    La Taos is highly recommended. We had a 3 room self catering apartment. Reception staff were superb without exception. Rooms were spacious. Contrary to an earlier review reporting a cold room, our room was rather too warm at night, but we spoke to reception, and they turned the thermostat down (remotely). Problem solved. Comfortable accommodation and pretty spacious as skiing goes. The boot room opens handily onto the slope leading down to the Paquis lift, however, it is a short+ easy (50 yard approx) walk up a gentle slope to the ski school area (if lessons begin at 9am, before the lifts open). Wifi pretty good (approx 28Mbps) and tv has bbc one and two!. Towel change mid week.
    Swimming pool was pretty good, and possible to do some lengths if not crowded with the post 5pm apres teenagers.
    Recommended!

    Date of stay: February 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank WhiteGoldWielder
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    resptaos, Responsable de site at Le Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2019

    Dear WhiteGoldWielder,

    Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
    We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Le Taos at Tignes.
    It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
    Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
    Best regards.
    R.GUIGNARD

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews