We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, cosy place, well equiped and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chalets de Rosael
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, cosy place, well equiped and nice staff”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just coming back from a week in Val Thorens, renting a 3 bedroom chalet at Chalets du Soleil.
Accomation was great, lovely to have a fireplace in the flat, nice balcony overlooking the mountain. Kitchen is well equiped and the flat was very cosy which means that we spent many evenings in the flat rather than in restaurants. The flat deco is OK, chalet like and in very good condition.
Staff was very helpful and always friendly.
Car park is within the building so no need to park miles away.
Ski rental is also within the building
Ski lockers have integrated shoe heaters
Swimming pool is descent size, could be crowded just after 5pm but very quickly empty, so is the sauna and hammam.
What would need more?
Ski sloaps nearby? Well, yes and no. You can access the chalet if there is enough snow and if you are an "ok" skier - beginners won't be able to as it is a blue sloap.

My friends loved the place too so this was hunanymous.

I can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I have stayed at the Chalets Du Soleil twice now.

The first stay was in 2010 in March. We rented an apartment on the 2nd floor, with 3 bedrooms, and 6 total guests. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the heating didn't work in each room, and the free wi-fi didn't reach our room unless you sat directly next to the window. We stayed here because we needed a kitchen to cook our own food, as we are vegetarians, and wanted to save some money. For this reason alone, this was a good option for us. The kitchen came equipped with cooking pans and plenty of dishes and serving plates. We had a large refrigerator, and even a dishwasher. A few complaints: The water for the shower went cold for one bathroom and not another one. There was a large party upstairs drinking and partying so loud and late into the evening. They were urinating off their balcony, and pounding the floor so loud that we did not sleep for half of the week while we were there. Even with ear plugs I still could not sleep. I know that this is not the hotel's fault, but they also did nothing to stop this from happening.

The second stay was in March 2011. We decided to rent a larger chalet because we had more people this time. We rented the 4 bedroom apartment on the third floor, with 8 people. Again, we cooked most of our meals in the kitchen, and there is a convenient store right across the street with fresh french bread baked daily! We really enjoyed this perk. This chalet had more comfortable beds this time, but we still had problems with the water heater consistency between the showers. Also the heaters in the rooms sometimes work and sometimes don't.

Pros:
1. You get your own lockers to store your ski equipment in with boot dryers. They are nice lockers and conveniently placed at the bottom of the apartment so that you do not have to carry them upstairs.
2. The apartment is located across the way from a ski tuning shop with ski rentals, and a food store so that you can purchase your own food. This store is small, but with a short walk away, there is an even larger shopping mart in the main plaza.
3. On a nice day you can sit on the balcony chairs to enjoy the sun, if you choose not to ski that day. This is a nice perk.
4. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook and serve to a family.

Cons:
1. The toilets are separate from the shower room. Some of the toilets do not even have a sink in them (which I think is strange and a bit unsanitary).
2. The ski back piste is not groomed. It can be an extremely scary experience coming down that piste. When there is not enough natural snow, this ski-back piste is closed. Be warned!
3. You will have to walk down a road to get started on the ski-out piste to get started. If you have high quality boots on, this short walk can be damaging to your boots!
4. The walls are thin. You can hear your neighbors well.
5. Do not rely on an internet connection. Wi-Fi is sporadically available, and low powered when it is.

Room Tip: The more expensive the chalet the better! Also if you can get on the top floor, I find it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank givemeahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The dishwasher leaked water even after they replaced it, insufficient hot water, dirty bed linen, intermittent reception service (open 2 hours per day), virtually non-existent Internet connection and very tiny indoor parking. Ski in and out through an off-piste route not suitable for beginner skiers. Overpriced ski rental. All in all, the experience does not correspond to the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anton1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We was here in 2009 and 2010. It was very good but this chalet offer unrealistic price in same period 2011. I hope nobody come to this hotel. They wiil pay for avidity.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitriyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

This was our second time to stay at these chalets. Compared to some other 'shoebox' self catering accommodations we have stayed in in France, these are luxiourious.

Six of us stayed in a 6-8 person appartment which provided us with a total 2 toilets, 3 showers, 3 basins and a bath. The kitchen was small but very well equiped and the dinning and living areas were quite spacious. The smallest bedroom is quite small but was adequate for our 2 teenage boys. However, if you had 8 people in this size of appartment, it would entail using the sofa bed which would then need to be put away every morning. In this case I would recommend going for a bigger size appartment. The website shows typical layouts of the various appartments and this is very helpful. The decor is a bit basic but the appartment was clean and well furnished and equipped.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby area and also a computer available, but be warned, the internet connection is very slow. You can also order your bread in the evenings and collect it from reception in the morning

A ski hire shop is located just off the lobby which is really handy, (you get a discount if staying in the chalets and the staff are excellent) and the the heated ski lockers are allocated according to your room number and use the same keys. They are located in the garage which is also accesssed from the lobby.

If you are travelling in your own car, ensure you book your garage space in advance as you cannot park on the streets in Val thorens, and the nearest public carpark is quite a distance away. We travelled in a Renault Traffic and the garage here is high enough to facillitate this size of vehicle.

This is a ski in / ski out location, but I think that it would be difficult for beginners to ski into the back of the acomodation as it is very steep and not pisted.

Overall, we really like this accommodation and will most likely be back next year. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful.

The skiing is awesome and if you have the 3 vallees lift pass, you can ski to Les Menuires, Courcheval and Meribel so there is definitely no shortage of skiing.

  • Liked — Size and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo, bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Chalets du Soleil offers nice self-catered apartments in a true ski-in, ski-out location at Val Thorens.

We stayed there in late January 2008, renting a 6-8 person flat as a group of 6. I would not want to have stayed in an apartment of that size with 8 people, as the living room is very cozy even with six. The bedrooms are miniscule (we had the smallest of 3, and the available floor space consisted of about two and a half feet at the foot of the bed. Still, who's going to spend time in their bedroom at a ski resort anyway?

I'll get my one or two quibbles out of the way first: (1) the small size makes it impossible for more than one person to be in the kitchen area at a time; (2) the walls are not particularly sound-proof, so I'd recommend bringing earplugs in case your neighbours have a party; (3) the pool was cloudy; (4) WiFi is sketchy if you are in your room.

Now let me rave about how much I loved it! The location is great. We put our skis on about thirty feet from the door, and took them off even closer. There is a rental shop just off the lobby. There are ski lockers off the lobby that are heated from about six in the morning - so your boots are warm when you put them on. There's a pool and sauna. There's a computer in the lobby during office hours, and free WiFi at all times. The location at the very top of the resort gives you afternoon sun for basking at the end of your day. The free shuttle bus stops just across the street, and also just across the street is a little grocery.

  • Liked — Location & amenities
  • Disliked — Small size
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank surf_grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Rosael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Rosael

Property: Les Chalets de Rosael
Address: | Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Les Chalets de Rosäël)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Chalets de Rosael 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Balcons quarter, at the foot of the slopes, Les Chalets de Rosaël residence overlooks the Val Thorens resort. An excellent slope resort, Val Thorens boasts exceptional snow cover and opens on to 3 skiable areas: Val Thorens - Orelle (140km of pistes), the Belleville Valley (300km of pistes) and 3 Vallées (600km of pistes).The moment you leave the residence you are already on the slopes. At 2,300m altitude, summer or winter you can enjoy fresh and invigorating air that is conducive to fitness.The apartments are in typical wooden chalets. At your disposal in the residence: the Savoyard restaurant La Ferme de Rosalie, a wellness area, a sports store...You will enjoy:•being located at the foot of the slopes•comfortable, spacious and well equipped apartments with fireplaces•facilities: swimming pool, sauna, steam room, restaurant, shop for equipment hire, private parking...•the dynamism of the resort and its leisure facilities•beautiful summer and winter scenery and endless activities The Authentic apartments, immerse you in the atmosphere of the old mountain chalets, a set to live authentic and warm place to meet friends or family around the fireplace.In Mouflon apartements, be seduced by the elegant and contemporary atmosphere... Let yourself be surprised by the bathrooms's "colorama". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Chalets de Rosael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing