We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with some frustrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chalets de Rosael
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with some frustrations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Chalet du Soleil in general is a great place to stay. Great location and facilities are pretty good including the pool, saun and steam room. However we had a few issues:

The beds are very small
One of our showers had a foul smell
There were 2 English TV channels, despite claiming "international channels", whilst this is not false it is bending the truth slightly.

Finally on the final day we checked out of the chalet and had a full day's skiing as we were catching the night train. We asked reception if we could use the shower by the pool but we were not allowed. We even offered to pay and this was still not allowed. This is incredibly frustrating as it would have taken now effort and left a sour taste in out mouths!

The place is worth a stay but it is such a shame that 'quick fixes' and better customer service could easily turn this review to a 4 or 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billaroo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment No. 8. - 2 adults and 2 teenage children, the apartment was very spacious, 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, a very spacious living area and very well equipped kitchen. we had an open fire place and a balcony overlooking the resort and mountains. We paid extra for indoor parking space which was located within the building - we had a locker room which was heated for our ski's and ski boots which was great first thing in the morning. Ski rental is very close to the apartment and there is also a local shop 'sherpa' very close by. The swimming pool looked great although we didnt use it, reception staff are very helpful and offered everything that the could to make your stay great - I forgot my hairdryer and they had one for me immediately. The ski in and ski out is definately not for first time ski-ers although after 2 days you could probably manage it, as I was a novice I managed the blue run on the 2nd day and by the end of the holiday was fine!! The only down side was that we had to leave very early in the morning and were expected to strip the beds, not something I had planned to have to do at 5am in the morning!! Wifi was fine within the apartment no problems with connection at all - all in all Val Thorens is a fabulous ski resort and we shall be going back next year

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatenorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment No 3 on second floor (2 toilets, 2 shower rooms – one with shower, another with bath), beds were comfortable, kitchen well equipped, heating worked in every room. Balcony view was amazing. There is small grocery shop Sherpa nearby. Chatels su Soleil is suited not very far from ski-center. Wi-Fi worked only on laptops, not on mobile devices. Another flaw was cold tiled floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just coming back from a week in Val Thorens, renting a 3 bedroom chalet at Chalets du Soleil.
Accomation was great, lovely to have a fireplace in the flat, nice balcony overlooking the mountain. Kitchen is well equiped and the flat was very cosy which means that we spent many evenings in the flat rather than in restaurants. The flat deco is OK, chalet like and in very good condition.
Staff was very helpful and always friendly.
Car park is within the building so no need to park miles away.
Ski rental is also within the building
Ski lockers have integrated shoe heaters
Swimming pool is descent size, could be crowded just after 5pm but very quickly empty, so is the sauna and hammam.
What would need more?
Ski sloaps nearby? Well, yes and no. You can access the chalet if there is enough snow and if you are an "ok" skier - beginners won't be able to as it is a blue sloap.

My friends loved the place too so this was hunanymous.

I can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I have stayed at the Chalets Du Soleil twice now.

The first stay was in 2010 in March. We rented an apartment on the 2nd floor, with 3 bedrooms, and 6 total guests. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the heating didn't work in each room, and the free wi-fi didn't reach our room unless you sat directly next to the window. We stayed here because we needed a kitchen to cook our own food, as we are vegetarians, and wanted to save some money. For this reason alone, this was a good option for us. The kitchen came equipped with cooking pans and plenty of dishes and serving plates. We had a large refrigerator, and even a dishwasher. A few complaints: The water for the shower went cold for one bathroom and not another one. There was a large party upstairs drinking and partying so loud and late into the evening. They were urinating off their balcony, and pounding the floor so loud that we did not sleep for half of the week while we were there. Even with ear plugs I still could not sleep. I know that this is not the hotel's fault, but they also did nothing to stop this from happening.

The second stay was in March 2011. We decided to rent a larger chalet because we had more people this time. We rented the 4 bedroom apartment on the third floor, with 8 people. Again, we cooked most of our meals in the kitchen, and there is a convenient store right across the street with fresh french bread baked daily! We really enjoyed this perk. This chalet had more comfortable beds this time, but we still had problems with the water heater consistency between the showers. Also the heaters in the rooms sometimes work and sometimes don't.

Pros:
1. You get your own lockers to store your ski equipment in with boot dryers. They are nice lockers and conveniently placed at the bottom of the apartment so that you do not have to carry them upstairs.
2. The apartment is located across the way from a ski tuning shop with ski rentals, and a food store so that you can purchase your own food. This store is small, but with a short walk away, there is an even larger shopping mart in the main plaza.
3. On a nice day you can sit on the balcony chairs to enjoy the sun, if you choose not to ski that day. This is a nice perk.
4. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook and serve to a family.

Cons:
1. The toilets are separate from the shower room. Some of the toilets do not even have a sink in them (which I think is strange and a bit unsanitary).
2. The ski back piste is not groomed. It can be an extremely scary experience coming down that piste. When there is not enough natural snow, this ski-back piste is closed. Be warned!
3. You will have to walk down a road to get started on the ski-out piste to get started. If you have high quality boots on, this short walk can be damaging to your boots!
4. The walls are thin. You can hear your neighbors well.
5. Do not rely on an internet connection. Wi-Fi is sporadically available, and low powered when it is.

Room Tip: The more expensive the chalet the better! Also if you can get on the top floor, I find it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank givemeahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The dishwasher leaked water even after they replaced it, insufficient hot water, dirty bed linen, intermittent reception service (open 2 hours per day), virtually non-existent Internet connection and very tiny indoor parking. Ski in and out through an off-piste route not suitable for beginner skiers. Overpriced ski rental. All in all, the experience does not correspond to the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anton1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We was here in 2009 and 2010. It was very good but this chalet offer unrealistic price in same period 2011. I hope nobody come to this hotel. They wiil pay for avidity.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitriyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Rosael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Rosael

Property: Les Chalets de Rosael
Address: | Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Les Chalets de Rosäël)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Chalets de Rosael 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Balcons quarter, at the foot of the slopes, Les Chalets de Rosaël residence overlooks the Val Thorens resort. An excellent slope resort, Val Thorens boasts exceptional snow cover and opens on to 3 skiable areas: Val Thorens - Orelle (140km of pistes), the Belleville Valley (300km of pistes) and 3 Vallées (600km of pistes).The moment you leave the residence you are already on the slopes. At 2,300m altitude, summer or winter you can enjoy fresh and invigorating air that is conducive to fitness.The apartments are in typical wooden chalets. At your disposal in the residence: the Savoyard restaurant La Ferme de Rosalie, a wellness area, a sports store...You will enjoy:•being located at the foot of the slopes•comfortable, spacious and well equipped apartments with fireplaces•facilities: swimming pool, sauna, steam room, restaurant, shop for equipment hire, private parking...•the dynamism of the resort and its leisure facilities•beautiful summer and winter scenery and endless activities The Authentic apartments, immerse you in the atmosphere of the old mountain chalets, a set to live authentic and warm place to meet friends or family around the fireplace.In Mouflon apartements, be seduced by the elegant and contemporary atmosphere... Let yourself be surprised by the bathrooms's "colorama". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chalets de Rosael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing