We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top comfort for families and groups in Val Thorens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence l'Oxalys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Thorens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence l'Oxalys
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top comfort for families and groups in Val Thorens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was my second visit at Oxalys, the first one being 8 years ago when the place was almost new.

What has not changed is the prime location and beautiful views over the surrounding mountains. The apartments are also fairly large by local standards and very well equipped. We had rented a triplex for 8 persons, consisting of 4 bedrooms and bathrooms over two floors and a living area/kitchen in the middle floor. A top feature inside there is the fire place. The apartments are still in good condition but would warrant nevertheless a real renovation to maintain their super premium status. Beds were not very comfortable. Access to the slopes is as easy as it gets, with full ski in and out.

The other big plus is the spa, with the small swimming pool, jaccuzi, saunas and steam room, which are popular but never over-crowded. Also a nice feature are the bathrobes and slippers in the room which make access to the spa much simpler and more enjoyable. The other major change since my first visit is that the restaurant Oxalys is now completely independent from the lodging - it has now (deservedly) earned 2 Michelin stars and the half board option with breakfast is no long available. Since price have skyrocketed there, it would discourage probably discourage the most food enthusiast.

A sister project (Residences du Kashmir) is in development close by and, together with the opening of the luxury hotel Altapura, should trigger the owners of Oxalys to reinvest in the place to maintain it at the pinnacle of Val Thorens' offerings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pavupapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    64
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
74
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

You can go there blindfolded!
The apartments are spacious, with full equipment: enough room to have all your ski outfit dry without smelling the tartiflette you may have for dinner, bathrooms are equipped with towel heaters and the kitchen is big enough to think about cooking like at home. Ours (#6) was facing South, so was very bright all day long with the sun shining thru all afternoon!
Right at the entrance of Val Thorens, it gives the feeling you are not staying amongst the crowded tall buildings, and therefore gives a different aspect to your stay. In any case, it is directly located on the ski slopes (there are directly 3 ways as soon as you get out for all levels, even one accessible to pedestrians).
The staff is extremely caring and paying attention to any move you would have that means you need something; and would definitely keep you alone if you don't. Most surprising is that the Michelin starred chef Jean Sulpice passing by, outside of his restaurant, would definitely stop and take care we are properly serve.
If you take the breakfast option, you will enjoy a excellent one served as a buffet directly in the luxury restaurant, where we recommend the delicious home made compote, the excellent bread and amazing Alps raw ham and cheese.
And of course, if budget permits, the experience reaches its peak when you can eat lunches or dinner at the Oxalys, where Jean Sulpice will surprise you with interesting combination of dishes always accompanied by great wines selected by his sommelier wife. Also, if weather conditions allow, have lunch on the outdoor terrasse facing the glacier.

Room Tip: Duplex at the top floor are terrific, but be aware you enter those with steep stairs which is clearl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Prestigia

Helpful?
1 Thank GVendryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

A group of 8 stayed at the l'Oxalys for a week. There was 1 double room with superb views whilst the other 3 twin rooms had some town views or alpine glimpses. It is clean and comfortable although of a good average quality overall in terms of decor and comforts, such as beds and the lounge area. Plenty of bathrooms make the apartments split over 3 levels work well for a group this size. The kitchen is basic but functional enabling us to self-cater meals. The real plus here is skiing out the door and home, as well as a great indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi area. Staff are friendly and attentive. One side of the apartment faces out to the mountains and the other back in to town - one friend commented the room facing the driveway was a bit noisy some nights although they are double-glazed. We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant which was very good; I heard dinner is also good here. Overall the l'Oxalys represents pretty good value at this budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Was here last year for a ski weekend and had a great time.
Restaurant is a bit bland and mildly pretentious- I'd suggest lowering your expectations and heading into the resort for some more affordable and (OK more bland) fare....but at least you wont pay an arm and a leg for it....plus the vibe will be more popping.
Staff are very helpful and the location cant be beaten. There are sometimes issues with getting a parking spot....but there is a mega carpark a few hundre meters away- so you'll be fine.
Charming rooms with their own bathrooms though I never quite understood why you'd put in those swinging doors seperating bathroom and bedroom- it's just irritating as you wonder if you'll smack your partner on your way in or out.
Could use a few more towels and I didnt like the seperate beds- but at least they were comfortable and the bedding was quality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokneam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in this beautiful chalet for the New Year week. We were 5 friends.
The 3 floors chalet that we got had 4 rooms, each with shower/bath and toilets.
2 rooms had balcony.
On the entrance floor: kitchen, dining room, living room and balcony.
On a floor up a two bedded room with shower +toilets & balcony. A second room with two separate beds with shower+toilet.
On the bottom floor , we had two other rooms with 2 separated beds, a shared toilets but one had a bath and balcony and the other had a shower.

Our chalet was placed in the annex building that was built 5 years ago.
It is linked to the main Oxalys building by the underground passage (through the parking).
Not ideal but it's no problem. The annex ski room is in our building but , to go outside you need to cross the underground passage and exit the building through the main ski room.


Our chalet was very nice: Fully equipped kitchen, dining room (though a bit small for 8 person), living room with fireplace (9EU for extra wood) , small LCD TV and balcony.
The chalet is nicely decorated but not too fancy.

The bathrooms/showers are a bit small but clean and in excellent condition.
The SPA was a bit crowded, especially since almost everyone wanted to escape the blizzard that we had this week. The pool is nice, the Jacuzzi is a bit small, and the sauna is excellent.
We did not use any other SPA facilities. It definitely helped us to recover from a day's ski.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Especially a nice receptionist named Cedric who helped us with a few difficult problems (lost luggage, transportation in a snow storms, etc).

We did not have the chance to eat at the 2 stars Michelin restaurant, but the menu looks very tasty.
We preferred to cook our dinners/breakfast by ourselves.

They have a very nice service, so you can order bread and patisseries to be delivered every morning directly to your chalet. The patisseries were a bit disappointing but the bread was good.
If you have the energy, you rather go to a real bakery every morning: Aux Delice Du Pain D'Or , Sucre-Sale which have better products.

The location of this chalet is very good. Just at the end of "Plein Sud" ski run, so it's Ski In/Out very easily.
It's a 5 minute walk to the commercial center of Caron for shopping.
You can even buy a few necessities in the small "Huit a 8" supermarket located at petrol station just 70 meters up the road. They are open from 7:00 AM and have nice fresh croissants.

Free Internet is everywhere though not very reliable if you want to do some serious work (Video conf, streaming, etc) but otherwise it works fine. You first need to connect to the Wi-Fi and acknowledge the connection in a webpage. Only then you can surf.

We will definitely return to this chalet.

Room Tip: no special tip. But you need to make sure you get the one you have reserved. pay attention to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our room was really nice with great views over the valley. The ski in-ski out is the really good is your an experienced skiers, but I imagine beginners will find it hard to ski down the mogul filled blue run. The pool and spa is excellent! The only thing I'd avoid if I went again was the extremely expensive restaurant! As nice as it was with the family on Christmas, it wasn't quite worth €950!

Room Tip: The family rooms at the top have the best views and great open plan living area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxFraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

This aparthotel is absolutely amazing! It is rated 4 stars, but i think it is worth 5 stars! Have stayed in many residences at Val Thorens (cheval blanc, les balcons, le cristallo, lac du lou) but this was by far the best place to stay at! We'll be back next year!!
Famille Delcroix

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoffel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence l'Oxalys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence l'Oxalys

Property: Residence l'Oxalys
Address: Grande Rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence l'Oxalys 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance to the Val Thorens ski resort, next to the ski slopes, in a quiet, sunny area, the Oxalys residence welcomes you into a bright, elegant décor and offers two relaxation areas with swimming pools, spas (jacuzzis), sauna, hammam and massage rooms, a lounge bar with fireplace and the gourmet restaurant. Chef Jean Sulpice’s gourmet restaurant awaits for you with its extensive menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence l`Oxalys Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing