We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great group appartment”
Review of Residence l'Oxalys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Thorens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence l'Oxalys
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

just returned from a week here with friends - had the 4 bedroom 4 bathroom appt which worked really well as it is a triplex set up so the kids were downstairs, the adults upstairs and the living quarters in the middle. kitchen well stocked and appointed but only oven was the combination part of the microwave - so be prepared. the dishwasher was adequate but as it was a slimline for the 7 of us it meant it had to go on after every meal! on the plus side, there was plenty of cutlery and plates but could have done with more mugs and glasses. The living area was adequate for four adults and three kids but would be tight for 8 adults as only one corner sofa and a chair. The pics on the web site show a massive living area - which is the public lounge, not the living are in the 4 bed appt - which we thought it was ;))
Spa area small but we used it every day as a nice way to unwind with the kids after a day o nthe slopes. Overall very pleased and would return.

Room Tip: get one facing the slopes - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tankygal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you very much ! I hope you had a pleasant stay in l'Oxalys !
Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

From the minute we arrived at Residence l'Oxalys, we knew we were going to enjoy our stay. Charles, one of the reception staff, greeted us as we drove up and guided us to our parking space in the covered garage. (We had pre-booked this as there are a limited number of spaces.)

We had been advised that the apartment would be available from 5pm onwards, so we were pleasantly surprised when he showed us to our apartment just after lunchtime. There were 4 of us (2 couples) staying in a 4/5 person apartment (no 27). It was situated on the same corridor as the ski rental shop and the entrance to the spa, but apart from a bit of noise around 5pm on the Saturday as people came to collect their equipment, the apartment was very peaceful. We had a split level apartment, with the living area, kitchen area, a twin room with ensuite shower room and separate WC on one floor and a double room (with a couch for a 5th person/child) and ensuite bathroom on the lower floor . Both floors had balconies, although one small disappointment was that there was no outdoor furniture, so we had to carry the dining chairs outside.

Compared to previous apartments we have rented in other resorts, we found this one spacious and comfortable. In addition, the staff were excellent - very pleasant and helpful. Charles in particular was charming, with a good sense of humour!

The residence is ski-in/out and also has a pool (small) with saunas and a jacuzzi and a spa (which we didn't use) and a bar.

We didn't use the restaurant as it seemed very pricy, but ate out at a number of great restaurants in the resort.

We also used the bread ordering service and had fresh croissants and baguettes delivered to our room every morning.

We loved Val Thorens and this apartment and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The L'oxaly is a residence where you can rent chalets for long periods (min 1 week).
Here are a few pointers:
(A) Transportation
-It is about 3 hours from Lyon and it is best to go with snow tires as the road leading up to the mountain (Val Thorens is at the highest elevation) is very windy with numerous hair pin turns.
-It is advisable to book parking at the L'Oxaly in advance otherwise you will have to park in other parking lots run by Valthopac (you have to book thru their website). They are further away and not very convenient for loading and off loading ski gear.
-You can also take taxi or coach from Moutier but the arrival and departing time will not be as flexible as your own vehicle.
- If you are driving, best to get your grocery before you arrive because the Carrefour in town is pretty small and always swamped with people around 5pm.
(B) Rooms & the chalet
-The rooms are generally small. There is not much closet space so you end up having to leave all your clothes in your trunks.
- The rooms are very dark. You cannot see very well and looking for things in your suitcase is almost futile.
-The showers are also very small. It is hard to turn around in the miniscule shower cubicles.
- You have to take out all the trash and do all the dishes before you leave.
- The front desk is very helpful in general. You can ask for extra garbage bags, hair dryer, electric plugs etc. They are there until 8pm every night. Charles was our guy and he was very "sympa"
(C) Dining
- A 2 star restaurant run by Jean Sulpice is located on the G/F. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful and booking is required.
- There are many savoyard restaurants and very few international cuisine. Booking is advised for most restaurants during high season.
(D) Skiing
- Valtho Ski is a really great place for rental. They offer great choices and service. Angel helped us with our skis everyday as the weather keeps changing. She is fantastic with her suggestions.
- It is a ski in/ski out chalet, super convenient.
- Ski locker room is very hot. You may want to buckle up outside.
Bon ski!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the pool/sauna area. Gets very busy with foot traffic around 4/5pm everyday. Sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you very much for your comments ! Please note that we take into consideration your point of view.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in our residence !
Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We arrived at l'oxalys in January 2013 for a week of skiing, a group of 8 friends. We booked the large triplex appartment for 8, which included:
Upper floor:
1 room with king size bed and en-suite bathroom
1 room with twin beds and en-suite bathroom
Main floor:
Living-room and kitchen all in one, with table for 8, couch and 1 armchair, TV and fireplace
Lower floor:
2 rooms with twin beds and en-suite shower (no toilet). The shower was separated by revolving doors and so all the humidity came in
1 toilet
The reception is nice, worth 4 stars in France. Moreover, there is a Michelin star restaurant downstairs, but quite pricy (did not try it). The pool area is also very nice, but quite small. The jacuzzi can comfort 5 people maximum, and the pool is maybe 15 sqm large. The photos which are shown online are not quite representative.
We had an issue with the heating systems, as you never know how to turn them on/off. Also, there is a limited number of sockets in the appartment. If you come by car, make sure that you book a place very in advance as the places are limited and it's quite nice to have it downstairs rather than in an outside parking in town.
The terrace is brilliant offering very nice views of the valley.
All in all, we had a very nice time and the appartment was nice. For sure much better than the others in town. Also the area is really quiet and far away from the big buildings. I recommend it and definetely I would come back anytime.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank SerbanStoicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was my second visit at Oxalys, the first one being 8 years ago when the place was almost new.

What has not changed is the prime location and beautiful views over the surrounding mountains. The apartments are also fairly large by local standards and very well equipped. We had rented a triplex for 8 persons, consisting of 4 bedrooms and bathrooms over two floors and a living area/kitchen in the middle floor. A top feature inside there is the fire place. The apartments are still in good condition but would warrant nevertheless a real renovation to maintain their super premium status. Beds were not very comfortable. Access to the slopes is as easy as it gets, with full ski in and out.

The other big plus is the spa, with the small swimming pool, jaccuzi, saunas and steam room, which are popular but never over-crowded. Also a nice feature are the bathrobes and slippers in the room which make access to the spa much simpler and more enjoyable. The other major change since my first visit is that the restaurant Oxalys is now completely independent from the lodging - it has now (deservedly) earned 2 Michelin stars and the half board option with breakfast is no long available. Since price have skyrocketed there, it would discourage probably discourage the most food enthusiast.

A sister project (Residences du Kashmir) is in development close by and, together with the opening of the luxury hotel Altapura, should trigger the owners of Oxalys to reinvest in the place to maintain it at the pinnacle of Val Thorens' offerings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pavupapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

You can go there blindfolded!
The apartments are spacious, with full equipment: enough room to have all your ski outfit dry without smelling the tartiflette you may have for dinner, bathrooms are equipped with towel heaters and the kitchen is big enough to think about cooking like at home. Ours (#6) was facing South, so was very bright all day long with the sun shining thru all afternoon!
Right at the entrance of Val Thorens, it gives the feeling you are not staying amongst the crowded tall buildings, and therefore gives a different aspect to your stay. In any case, it is directly located on the ski slopes (there are directly 3 ways as soon as you get out for all levels, even one accessible to pedestrians).
The staff is extremely caring and paying attention to any move you would have that means you need something; and would definitely keep you alone if you don't. Most surprising is that the Michelin starred chef Jean Sulpice passing by, outside of his restaurant, would definitely stop and take care we are properly serve.
If you take the breakfast option, you will enjoy a excellent one served as a buffet directly in the luxury restaurant, where we recommend the delicious home made compote, the excellent bread and amazing Alps raw ham and cheese.
And of course, if budget permits, the experience reaches its peak when you can eat lunches or dinner at the Oxalys, where Jean Sulpice will surprise you with interesting combination of dishes always accompanied by great wines selected by his sommelier wife. Also, if weather conditions allow, have lunch on the outdoor terrasse facing the glacier.

Room Tip: Duplex at the top floor are terrific, but be aware you enter those with steep stairs which is clearl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Prestigia
1  Thank GVendryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A group of 8 stayed at the l'Oxalys for a week. There was 1 double room with superb views whilst the other 3 twin rooms had some town views or alpine glimpses. It is clean and comfortable although of a good average quality overall in terms of decor and comforts, such as beds and the lounge area. Plenty of bathrooms make the apartments split over 3 levels work well for a group this size. The kitchen is basic but functional enabling us to self-cater meals. The real plus here is skiing out the door and home, as well as a great indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi area. Staff are friendly and attentive. One side of the apartment faces out to the mountains and the other back in to town - one friend commented the room facing the driveway was a bit noisy some nights although they are double-glazed. We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant which was very good; I heard dinner is also good here. Overall the l'Oxalys represents pretty good value at this budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eagle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence l'Oxalys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence l'Oxalys

Address: Grande Rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range: £116 - £759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence l'Oxalys 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance to the Val Thorens ski resort, next to the ski slopes, in a quiet, sunny area, the Oxalys residence welcomes you into a bright, elegant décor and offers two relaxation areas with swimming pools, spas (jacuzzis), sauna, hammam and massage rooms, a lounge bar with fireplace and the gourmet restaurant. Chef Jean Sulpice’s gourmet restaurant awaits for you with its extensive menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence l`Oxalys Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing