We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence l'Oxalys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Thorens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence l'Oxalys
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
250 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“So convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed here with a big ski club in late April 2013. For us, it was great value but I don't know what the cost is if you go in a smaller group. We had self catering apartments for 8 people in 4 rooms. All quite comfortable, but it is in France so its all very "bijoux". So either don't bring much gear or try and manage without enough space to hang anything. All rooms or apartments had balconies and its no more than 20 metres from the piste and a bubble lift back to about 80 metres above the hotel. The pool and spa facilities were also very difficult. If you want fresh towels you will have to go and ask at reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    64
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
74
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is located at the left side of the resort with easy access to the free bus, cable car and ski school.
We had a three-bedroomed apartment located right by the pool and reception area which we initially thought would be noisy. Not a bit.

Easy to get to and from the carpark, located underneath with trolleys to help with luggage on arrival and there is a porter/receptionist who can also be on hand.

Our appartment with one en-suite and a larger bathroom was wooden chalet styled and was cosy and spacious. I didn't understand why the en-suite bedroom had twin beds in while the master bedroom had to share the main bathroom, but a minor point.

We had an issue with the cleanliness of one of the bed sheets but after complaining, they were changed immediately. There was also a few tissues and dirt in one of the bathrooms, in a hard to reach place between the shower cubicle and basin. We mentioned this to the reception, twice, but even after the mid-week cleaning nothing was done!

The kitchen was well equipped with micro-wave, kettle and toaster. Plenty of cupboard space for food and more than enough cooking implements.

The boot room, located by the car park had heated lockers and even had toilets which might not sound important but when you have two kids who, two minutes before entering the slopes decide they need to visit the little room, it saves time visiting the apartment!

The pool and spa area was nice, but the pool was the same depth all over and it was deep! Not ideal for younger children. There was a fence all the way round though to stop anyone falling in. All clean and relaxing. Just what you need after a hard days' skiing.

Overall this residence was a cosy, inviting and friendly place to stay for our week's holiday at Easter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were 2 families of 4 adults & 4 kids (aged from 6 - 13) staying in appt No 7 with kitchen dining area and lounge plus 4 bedrooms & 4 ensuites over 3 floors and with plenty of great views of the mountains.

L'Oxalys was pretty ideal for our needs - we were on the grande comfort + package which meant the place was serviced (beds made, towels changed bins emptied daily plus linen changed mid-week) - all chores we'd rather avoid on holiday!

We appreciated having the apartment for skiing as, despite relatively small bedrooms, a lounge / dining room is great as an area for us all to chill out in after a hard days skiing. The kitchen area in the apartment was pretty compact, but OK, though the lack of an oven (a small combi) slightly restricted our cooking options. We bought our supplies from the small Carrefour in town who offered to deliver it free of charge to the hotel, so avoiding us having to carry plenty of heavy bags (all that wine!). The hotel's early morning daily bread delivery was also a very welcome!

Ski in, ski out meant the challenge of getting everyone up and on the slopes by 9am for lessons was relatively easy. The ski shop located within the hotel enabled us to hire & change items easily plus meant that at no stage did we have to lug skis, boots & poles around for any great distance... a departure from previous ski holidays!

The admittedly rather small swimming pool (don't expect lengths!) plus sauna & steam rooms were ideal for us to loosen up stiff muscles, though could easily have been too crowded had just a few more guests wanted to share it at the same time as us.

Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.

We ate in the on site Jean Sulpice restaurant one night which we felt, on reflection, was probably too formal for this holiday / not how we wanted to spend an evening whilst skiing. The service in the restaurant was excellent and food good, but perhaps not warranting a full 2 michelin stars, in our experience.

Overall though we had a great holiday - helped by good snow and the wide array of ski options in the area. L'Oxalys was a big hit with us all and we'll almost certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked the 5 room, grande comfort + which meant that beds were made, towels changed every day and the bins emptied, linen changed mid-week. There were 8 of us - 6 adults, 2 small children.

It has to be said that when we arrived I was a little disappointed as the photo next to this apartment on the website is not the one you walk into - I was expecting something different and bigger - evidently the picture is of another one - not such a great start or very good on the advertising front - something that needs addressing. I was expecting the fireplace in the middle of the room not the exact same appt we had stayed in a few years back which was in the same corridor and possibly slightly bigger or was I expecting something so similar to the one we stayed in two years ago - Montagnettes Soleil - which is in the same group and also in VT but not supposed to be in the same category. It's interesting as we stayed here 4 years ago and at that time dinner for 4 in the Michelin restaurant was included in the rental - not the same deal now - the only extra included was a 45 minute spa session that has to be taken before 15.00 - well that immediately excludes the skiers amongst you!

The residence is still nice but showing signs of wear. The dishwasher for an 8 person apartment just about washed the breakfast dishes in terms of size and was poor - it's a half-size one in the biggest size apartment! Ran out of dishwasher tablets after 3 days we had to put it through so many cycles - ended up washing up! Also the plates (for a luxury apartment) were all new enough but the scratchy ones - so every time you cut something everyone shuddered! The internet access is extremely poor - free it maybe - but you have to reconnect every 3 hours and is not up to standard - an absolute pain. We are french residents and this wasn't good enough.

The spa and pool area also showing signs of wear - tiles missing etc.

We used the bread delivery first morning but the quality wasn't great - you can walk 5 minutes to a much better bakery and get much fresher croissants.

On the positive the apartment was clean and the position is obviously good. The carpark is tight but much easier than the public one down the road.

I guess then a little un-anamoured this time with l'Oxalys - it used to stand out but now it is very much the same as some of the other residences in VT - hasn't quite got the extra 'thing' you pay the extra for.

Room Tip: We were in 25 in the annex - I believe this is where all the 8 person apartments are. Sun did come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKEParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We were 2 families staying in one of the 4 bedroom/4 bathroom apartments - spread over 3 floors. Whilst some reviews mention the rooms being small - we didn't find this a problem. The kitchen was adequate - and we ate in the apartment most lunchtimes and dinner times. The rooms all had ensuite which meant everyone had enough space, and the entry floor (open plan lounge, kitchen, diner) had a small balcony - which we used to keep all our drinks outside.

The hotel provides a cost competitive bread delivery service each day but we went out each morning to the local bakers for fresh bread and croissants. Valerie at reception was fabulous. Any question we asked was immediately answered and a few niggles with the apartment (broken toaster, DVD not working) were addressed immediately. We couldn't have asked for better service. We ate one night in the 2 Michelin star Jean Sulpice restaurant which was divine!

There are a couple of supermarkets in town but they are small so limited in range. We took all our shopping with us and went out each day for fresh bread and milk.

The pool and spa can get busy depending on the weather!

A few suggestions.
If you want to eat in the restaurant book when you first arrive as it does get busy in the evenings.
Book your parking early to get in the underground hotel car park.
Ski set for rental on Rue de Soleil is easily accessible by skiing/walking down the piste by the spa entrance.
We shopped in the UK for all cupboard and household type items and stopped at Albertville Carrefour to stock up on fresh food before heading up the mountain.

Overall 5star - we've already enquirer about the same apartment next year!


Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Akhkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Many thanks for your comment ! It was kind of you !
See you next year,

Best regards,


Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

just returned from a week here with friends - had the 4 bedroom 4 bathroom appt which worked really well as it is a triplex set up so the kids were downstairs, the adults upstairs and the living quarters in the middle. kitchen well stocked and appointed but only oven was the combination part of the microwave - so be prepared. the dishwasher was adequate but as it was a slimline for the 7 of us it meant it had to go on after every meal! on the plus side, there was plenty of cutlery and plates but could have done with more mugs and glasses. The living area was adequate for four adults and three kids but would be tight for 8 adults as only one corner sofa and a chair. The pics on the web site show a massive living area - which is the public lounge, not the living are in the 4 bed appt - which we thought it was ;))
Spa area small but we used it every day as a nice way to unwind with the kids after a day o nthe slopes. Overall very pleased and would return.

Room Tip: get one facing the slopes - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankygal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebMontagnettes, Gérant at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you very much ! I hope you had a pleasant stay in l'Oxalys !
Best regards,

Antoine MARTIN
manager of the residence l'Oxalys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

From the minute we arrived at Residence l'Oxalys, we knew we were going to enjoy our stay. Charles, one of the reception staff, greeted us as we drove up and guided us to our parking space in the covered garage. (We had pre-booked this as there are a limited number of spaces.)

We had been advised that the apartment would be available from 5pm onwards, so we were pleasantly surprised when he showed us to our apartment just after lunchtime. There were 4 of us (2 couples) staying in a 4/5 person apartment (no 27). It was situated on the same corridor as the ski rental shop and the entrance to the spa, but apart from a bit of noise around 5pm on the Saturday as people came to collect their equipment, the apartment was very peaceful. We had a split level apartment, with the living area, kitchen area, a twin room with ensuite shower room and separate WC on one floor and a double room (with a couch for a 5th person/child) and ensuite bathroom on the lower floor . Both floors had balconies, although one small disappointment was that there was no outdoor furniture, so we had to carry the dining chairs outside.

Compared to previous apartments we have rented in other resorts, we found this one spacious and comfortable. In addition, the staff were excellent - very pleasant and helpful. Charles in particular was charming, with a good sense of humour!

The residence is ski-in/out and also has a pool (small) with saunas and a jacuzzi and a spa (which we didn't use) and a bar.

We didn't use the restaurant as it seemed very pricy, but ate out at a number of great restaurants in the resort.

We also used the bread ordering service and had fresh croissants and baguettes delivered to our room every morning.

We loved Val Thorens and this apartment and would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence l'Oxalys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence l'Oxalys

Property: Residence l'Oxalys
Address: Grande Rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence l'Oxalys 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance to the Val Thorens ski resort, next to the ski slopes, in a quiet, sunny area, the Oxalys residence welcomes you into a bright, elegant décor and offers two relaxation areas with swimming pools, spas (jacuzzis), sauna, hammam and massage rooms, a lounge bar with fireplace and the gourmet restaurant. Chef Jean Sulpice’s gourmet restaurant awaits for you with its extensive menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence l`Oxalys Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing