We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor ”
Review of Residence Tourotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Tourotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

So its cheap. It has a good location. That's the positives out the way.
It's a tired building the rooms are crumbling and mouldy. Light bulbs are out In the corridors. It's not as cheap as it seems, because the management will attempt to charge you extortionate sums for cleaning and losing or damaging any of the cheap contents.
We damaged a door by accident. We reported it to our rep and where honest with the hotel and told them as well. It was a hollow door cheap and poor quality. On checkout we where charged €2400 for this door.
Before this I would have given it maybe 2 out of 5. But as it stands leaving a hotel feeling ripped off left a sour taste with the whole group.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Tourotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

C'est avec grand regret que nous apprenons votre déception concernant votre séjour.
Néanmoins nous souhaitons revenir avec vous sur certains points.
Nous avons contacté la responsable de résidence concernant la porte que vous aviez cassé durant votre séjour.
Un état des lieux a été effectué à votre arrivée. Lors de votre départ le personnel et vous avez constaté que la porte d'entrée de votre appartement était devenue inutilisable.
Habituellement, lorsqu'un problème similaire est rencontré, la responsable de résidence doit se rendre à la gendarmerie la plus proche pour porter plainte. Ensuite, un expert nommé par l'assurance évalue le montant du préjudice. C'était donc à votre assurance de rembourser le montant total de la facture. Mais vous étiez pressé et avez préféré payer sur place la facture sans faire appel à votre assurance.
Il s'agit d'une résidence de tourisme et non d'un hôtel, le ménage est donc à faire par les vacanciers eux même. Cependant, si le ménage de départ est bien effectué, nul ne sera contraint de régler une facture de ménage.

Cordialement,
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    42
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
33
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

What was good:
Location is great - right on the slope. Balcony in the room with a slope view. Ski lockers on the ground floor.
What was bad:
Service is absent: Russian tough woman on a reception being quite unfriendly to us, Russians. Tiniest room one could imagine. Single sofas instead of beds. Stained pillows, yuck. Old mattress was to be covered by given oilcloth, as a result our backs were sweating every night. Cheap and low-quality furniture, e.g. towels kept falling off the hanger in the bathroom. Waste bag and toilet paper was only given upon arrival, the rest we had to purchase in Carrefour. Slow speed wifi in the reception, no wifi in rooms.
We will not stay here again for the money we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation on the slopes and a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town.

The staff were all welcoming and friendly upon check in, and throughout our stay.

The rooms are small but for the amount of time we spent in it, it was ideal. The room was clean, and the shower over the bath was hot and powerful, although there was no shower curtain. You are provided with fresh linen, towels etc on arrival and there is also a breakfast service where you order the night before and pick up fresh from reception at 8am the following day.

We booked this through Crystal Ski, although our rep was great don't buy the discount cards they sell you on the transfer, the places we were told we could use it wouldn't accept it - waste of 10EUR.

All in all, great accommodation in the heart of Val Thorens - would definitely stay again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Superbly located right at the main slopes and near bars and restaurants. But that's all this hotel has got going for it.

Even for French standards, the rooms are petit, old and moldy. On top of that, the staff is incredibly unhelpful and unfriendly. They roll their eyes with contempt when asked a simple question, blame you for disabling their crappy magnetic keys and are utterly inflexible with check in.

You kind of roll with it because of its cheap rates, but it's definitely not worth its peak season prices. And to be honest, cheap prices should not be an excuse to be plain rude.

If you're a student and super low on cash, you might want to put up with it. Anyone else, avoid it if you can, there are nicer hotels just around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ronengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Good value self catering apartments for ski-in/ski-out accommodation in Val Thorens. Functional, small but confortable rooms. Get a balcony over the slopes. Sufficient kitchen. Great location. Good morning boulangerie service. Easy to use ski and boots rooms. But the downside is the inflexibility of the check-in/check-out system. If you are planning on arriving early and leaving late on the overnight Eurostar Ski-Train, be prepared. You won't be allowed to check in before 5pm and you will have to take your chances leaving your baggage in the lobby area with no supervision. We asked the hotel staff, the hotel company, the tour company and Eurostar to help with this situation but everyone just shrugs and says "this is the way it's done here." Unbelieveable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony over the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Me and 6 of my friends stayed at this hotel last week. 6th April 2013 - 13th April 2013.
It is in a great location, two minutes from local shops, bars and restaurants and also has a ski in ski out option. We had 2 rooms, both with a kitchen each, most of us are over 6ft tall and there were a set of bunk beds in each room, as you can imagine not the best way for grown adults to sleep.
The rooms were very basic, but for what we paid you would expect nothing less, you only have one set of sheets and towels each unless you pay for more. Reception hours are mainly 7 - 7 and one thing we were not aware of is that you have to put a deposit down for the inventory of the kitchen supplies. we paid cash 150 Euros, if we put it on a credit card it would have been 300 Euros. This wasn't an issue but just be aware that you will have to pay this when you check in.
make sure you take advantage of the kitchen and buy lunch ingredients from a local supermarket, it will save you a ton!
Happy holidaying!

Room Tip: higher the floor the better, people tend to walk around the hotel in ski boots this can be quite noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charnelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed there last week . We got the apartment for six .
One sleeping room with double bed a living room with two beds and a corridor with Double Decker .
The room had a lot of space . Kitchen was a little small but well equipped with everything including dish washer .
Hotel is located in the center of val thorens with direct access to the slopes .
They only complaint is no WiFi in the rooms . WiFi in the lobby is a little slow .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eran z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langley Hotel Tango
Langley Hotel Tango
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Tikal
0.2 mi away
Residence le Cheval Blanc
Residence le Cheval Blanc
#19 of 46 in Val Thorens
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Tourotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Tourotel

Property: Residence Tourotel
Address: Val Thorens, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Tourotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Tourotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Maeva Tourotel Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing