We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Ancolies

Les Ancolies
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Ancolies
Ranked #1 of 3 Val Thorens B&B and Inns
Cascais
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This has been our 6th year in Val Thorens with a group of friends. The apartment 6-8 pax has a layout where 4 have to sleep in the common area - 2 on the sofa in the tiny "living room" and 2 in a bunk next to the entrance door. This means no privacy, no storage space. Only one toilet for 8 pax. The dinning table doesn't fit 8 (not even 8 chairs provided). Botom line: if you are willing to sacrifice your comfort for a lower cost then there are several much more economical options in Val Thorens.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuisSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The location is perfect, with ski in and ski out. Restaurant rendez-vous is very good (apartments are underneath the restaurant). The apartment itself is typical french. We thought we had a washing machine but that was only in the bigger apartment (ours was nr 4, 6-8 people). We knew that the children had a bunkbed with only a curtain, but the bedroom without window was horrible. Too warm and no means of ventilation. The beds are also very hard but after 4 days you're used to that. They have a good place to stall your skies and boots (with warm pipes so that everything is nice and dry in the morning). They have a sauna and hamam but did not have time to try it. I would not go here if you are really 6 adults. There's a sofabed in the living room but if you are really 6 adults the living room is just too small. We were 4 adults and there were only 3 seats on the bench. This always seem to be the problem in french apartments. However if you're not spending a lot of time in the apartment and want a great location, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Having spent many years going to Val Thorens we have found this accomdation to be the best self catering option. It is also fairly expensive but the rooms are clean and tidy and the location is without doubt faultless. The lkids can play outside on the piste whilst you prepare dinner in the apartment and like home you can shout out the window when it's ready!
It is so much better than the drreadful Pieree de Vancance down the road where you stay at your peril!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ski_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We've spent a week here with friends, some of whom were with kids. The location is terrific: you go out and start skiing. The ski room is a bit crowded, and so are some of the rooms. The heating in the rooms is hard to control, and the air was very dry (we used to hang wet towels to amend that). The sauna closed a bit early in the day (and it's tiny). The Wifi was patchy at times. These are all of the cons. The pros are numerous and much more significant. Fresh bakery every morning by the door. Nice kitchen amenities (there was a dish washer and even a washing machine with a dryer). We had a Rachelette device and used it twice to great satisfaction. Balcony with the view on the slopes. TV and DVD in the living room. 3 bathrooms and a shower. Very close to all the necessary places (e.g., a supermarket right across the street from the entrance). Friendly staff. We were very content, and will probably stay there again if we go to Val Thorens again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ancolies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ancolies

Property: Les Ancolies
Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Ancolies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing