We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 meals in 6 days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Kinabalu - CLOSED

Le Kinabalu
Price range: US$13 - US$54
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 meals in 6 days!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to Kinabalu last week whilst staying across the road in Les Neves. The service, banter and food was awesome. I had the mix of dishes (can't remember the name now!), we loved it so much we returned a couple of nights later for take away. We had the red curry which was almighty hot, be careful as we thought choosing that over the green would be milder but it was mega hot. Delicious though all the same, ate every last bit.
The owners are lovely, full of chat, assistance and made the night a lovely chilled, relaxed and comfortable one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sturlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    32
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Restaurant in Val Thorens”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Cant say enough about this restaurant. Excellent service and great food. Visited on recommendation of ski rep and must say it was brilliant. All the positive reviews here are spot on. Eric and Nila are great hosts. Our trip was in the middle of six nations and there was some great discussions on rugby.
The second night we went back Nila remembered our drinks. Thats some service. The food was excellent and despite what other say here it was not overpriced. Also you get what you want here .... not something that always happens in other restaurants in V T.
I hope that I do get back to VT in the near future and will definitely be visiting Le Kinabalu.

Thanks Eric and Nila for two lovely meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An outstanding dinner”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had an excellent dinner at this unusual Malaysian/Savoyard fusion restaurant. Both the Malaysian curry and the traditional fondue were delicious and served with charm and style. Yes, it is expensive, but the food is so good that it makes the price seem fair.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visited this restaurant based on the trip advisor reviews and were really pleased we did. The couple running the place were so friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, good value and a welcome change from your normal ski resort fare.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Great Staff.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The restaurant isn't the easiest to find, with it being inside a small shopping centre, and doesn't have lots of seating so would definitely recommend booking in advance.

The staff their were very friendly and welcoming, and helpful in choosing a dish.

Food was excellent. The majority of us had a Thai/Indonesian option, all of which were delicious. And if you couldn't decide what to have, their was a dish that had a bit of everything, almost like a plate of Indonesian tapas.

The price was average of that in Val Thorens.

Great Restaurant, deserves its high ranking position.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Kinabalu also viewed

Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing