We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altapura
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Koh-I Nor(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 3 Vallees(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pashmina(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Val Chaviere Hotel(Val Thorens)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
369
56
23
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
56
23
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsles enfantsla laiterieoutdoor poolski shopice roombuffet restauranthalf boardstar hotelseparate bath and showerapple tvterrible restauranthotel shuttle serviceclub roomfantastic hotelbreakfast and dinnerservice was a little slowwonderful spa
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Coming to Val Thorens just for one night in order to discover the 2-stars restaurant L'Oxalys, we were looking for a good hotel within walking distance.
Altapura turned out to be a very good surprise and se really enjoyed our stay. Service is the best I've ever experienced in the Alps, either in Megeve, Courchevel or Val d'Isere.
Rooms are nice and offer spacious bathroom.
The Spa is beautiful with indoor/outdoor pool and a exercice room.
I know that we'll come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jetro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent the end of the year festivities in this wonderful resort, the hotel is quite modern, different from the traditional ones in the mountain which we really enjoyed, the spa was beautiful too. Overall the service was great and we have to give a special thanks to Remi and Renat who did everything they could to satisfy the whole family, from transfers to ski lessons and babysitters..everything that we wished for!
We will be back! Thanks again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rogerrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at the Altapura over Christmas 2012 and were not disappointed.
The position of the hotel on the piste could not be better so ski-in, ski-out was excellent. However, the boot room could have been bigger for the size of the hotel - which is surprising as this newly built hotel must have been specifically designed with skiing in mind.
The spa was clean and well fitted out, OK the pool looked bigger in the photos, but the facilities were excellent.
The food was plentiful and well cooked, however the self-service aspect often gave the main dining room a feeling of disorder.
The biggest down side for this hotel is the pricing of the bar drinks! I would go as far, as to say that if the pricing was more realistic, then more drinks would be sold and the overall profitability of the bar would increase. I appreciate that logistics and service come at a price, but 12€ for a Baileys..........
The best aspect of the Altapura is the staff!! Nothing is too much trouble and service well always come with a beautiful smile from a beautiful person!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Junior suite with a mountain view - 800€ false, rooms without heating - real truth, three restaurants - truth, meanwhile only two of them serving every day - truth, on of these two working in a buffet style - truth, with dry chicken and strong noneatable steak - truth, spa at 1000 sq.m - also truth, with the terms down floor and cold pool upstairs - truth, outdoor pool with falling snow on your head from the roof - truth, good treatments - real truth (thank you ladies), restaurant a la carte with good Chef - truth (thank you), small cabin room for skies - truth but in fact not so much disturbing, to be continued...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for all the service and trimmings, comfort and facilities you'd expect in a 5 star hotel worldwide but 2300 metres up a mountain then this is it ! Absolutely fantastic ! Will definitely be back sooner rather than later. Great breakfasts although we decided to dine out at night. Spa is superb. Staff could not do enough for you And were so warm and friendly. We scouted the other 'top end' hotels in the resort and nothing came close. Ski in and out to the door no hassle , rent skis right by the ski room , heated lockers , julienne in the ski shop v friendly and so knowledgeable. Skiing for fun and enjoyment without the usual hassle! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews