We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altapura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altapura
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Wonderfull hotel with real 5 star service. Great rooms, nice and professional staff. just a little far away withon the rest pf the resort Highly recommended! Stayed there for a week this march and Will be back next year

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbeans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    53
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
144
148
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Fantastic holiday in the fantastic hotel. The hotel facilities are great; rooms are comfortable, nicely furbished. Excellent food.
Staff are friendly, attentive and professional.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I've just arrived back from an amazing week skiing in the magical 3 Valleys. Our first impression of the hotel was "wow!" Thereafter we were not disappointed - it only got better.

I was with my 3 adult nephews who shared a Club Room and they were very happy with it because it was spacious. I loved my room too and didn't want for anything. The views were fantastic and the room temperature was warm enough for me to open the window and breath fabulous fresh air. Being a Londoner, you can imagine how special that was.

The room was very clean with all the latest modern technology and The bathroom toiletries were
replenished daily.

I can't tell you how delicious the food is in the restaurants because you would have to sample it yourself. Although there are 3 restaurants in the hotel to choose from, we ate in the main one which was buffet/style. However, the chefs would cook us virtually anything we wanted and my nephews would not dream of eating anywhere else. After a long day's skiing (more about this
later), we were starving.

The staff throughout the hotel are professional and charming and will do everything to make your stay memorable.

I did, however, have an issue with the hotel charging an additional daily room tax but after taking it up with the tour operator, I was advised that the hotel have ended this charge.

Also, having checked the weather before I left for the trip, I decided it was best to have a ski guide/instructor for the first day because it would mean we would be able to ski more confidently. I, therefore, emailed the hotel requesting this. I was given the daily rate but no mention of the "Euros 52 for management fees." I thought this to be rather steep.

However, the hotel had booked us a day with one of Europe's best! Check out Thomas DIET on YouTube and you will see what I'm talking about!! The skiing was so amazing that I decided to ask him to continue skiing with us. He was booked for the next day but asked his brother, Antoine, who (lucky for us) was available. Once again, it was sensational. They can judge your ability straight away and ensure you have the time of your life. It was great fun.

Also skiing with an instructor ensures you avoid having to queue at the lifts (it was very busy in the resort). The boys got on so well, Antoine took them to a club one evening and naturally, got very drunk together but had a lot of fun. For once, I skied better than the youngsters because of their mammoth hangover! Thomas and Antoine also booked tables at the most fabulous restaurants for lunch which we wouldn't have known about.

Great company, great skiing and great memories!

I don't care how the politicians get on together but the relationship between us and the French couldn't be better. Thanks to the DIET brothers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the early morning deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

stayed at the altapura for a long weekend in february. the location of the hotel directly on the slopes couldnt be any better, perfect snow conditions also helped. within the group we had 3 different room categories, all of which were excellent, spacious and comfortable with all modern apple technology expected from a new 5 star hotel. fabulous bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath, furnished with nice tiles and plentiful towels.
the hotel offers 3 restaurants, however we ate in the buffet style one for all our meals. the food was absolutely excellent, especially for a meat eater. lots of choice and reasonably priced wines. the cosy bar area, real fire and comfy chairs, cocktail of the day was also fantastic.
ski rental shop also directly adjacent to the lobby area made rental etc very straightforward.
the spa with indo / outdoor pool and a variety of hot and cold rooms was excellent relief after a hard days ski. only criticism was the outdoor pool was a little chilly, but after all its -15 outside!
special mention to all the staff, front of house / bar / restaurant / ski shop who all couldn't have been more helpful and friendlier. the manager appears to have recruited a young dynamic team who cant do enough for you.
only "fault" was no turn down service which i found odd for a hotel of this budget and standard.
will return and would have no hesitation to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: piste facing rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mronion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at Altapura in February 2013. The hotel is conveniently situated next to the slope. The Spa was amazing with an outside pool, where you could relax and look at the people in the lift above. The restaurants were very nice and the standard dinner buffet was varied and well made and prepared.
The rooms are very nice, but as we were four staying in the room it was a bit tight. Some additional pegs to hang your skijacket and similar stuff on would be a good addition.
Would recommend the hotel to others and would happily go there again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sren123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

one of the best hotel in val-thorens, it located on the slop,(ski-in and ski-out).
warm staff, good service, clean.
the hotel is new one, the room is larg and pleasant.
the finest hotel in the area.
not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Didi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scot in Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Had 4 nights at Altapura staying in a Duplex apartment with my daughters and a friend...the hotel is beautiful particularly loved the decor in the bar area..front desk & concierge service was excellent.
The staff everywhere were very friendly and professional.... in particular the ski shop and restaurant staff were very acomodating.. the position of the hotel is fabulous, and the ski in/out to slopes from the ski shop just ideal...great buffet breakfasts and buffet dinners, great for kids and adults. Excellent stay overall will definately be heading back there.

Room Tip: We had a double duplex room for 4 very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat68Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altapura

Property: Altapura
Address: Route du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altapura 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altapura, a hotel in Val Thorens, the highest resort in Europe in the heart of the 3 Valleys, the largest ski area in the world, delights all those who love the great outdoors, winter sports and a fine style of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altapura Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing