We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”
Review of Altapura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altapura
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was absolutely the best wintersport experience i ever had. The hotel is situated directly on the slopes, so we could enjoy our afternoon cocktail right after our ski-session. The interior is very cozy and warm, our room and especially our bed was super comfortable. We stayed with our family in a duplex room, which was perfect for our kids as well. The service in the hotel was excellent, because the staff paid close attention to our kids and the chef made a porrige for our son every morning! The service staff in the buffet restaurant is always smiling and very helpful. Awesome fondue restaurant with many different cheese fondue options. I had a massage in the spa which was very professional and relaxing. I can recommend to everyone. The General Manager in the hotel has contact with all the guests and he made sure that our holiday was perfect! We are definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Marie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear L_Marie80,

Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie !

The entire Team is really proud to read your great lines about Altapura.

We hope to see welcome you back very soon...

Warm regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Altapura is one of the few 5 stars hotels in Val Thorens, located in the middle of the ski slopes. The hotel is very nicely decorated in a contemporary style and it has all amenities expected from such an hotel: spa with swimming pool, good breakfast, very useful concierge, ski shop, 3 restaurants.
However, rooms are extremely small (despite taking a club which is advertised for 3 persons (!), and our room had a bad smell.
In our view the hotel is a little too big hence a bit crowded. The hotel is very expensive maybe not the best value for price of its category.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear ACandEdM,

We are very sorry to read that despite the good points, we didn't succeed to reach your expectations.
As long as you liked Val Thorens, we'll always be happy to receive you in our restaurants or for a massage to enjoy what you liked at Altapura !

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a fabulous hotel. We were ski-holidaying with friends in Europe we hadn't travelled with since Whistler so we felt there was quite a bit to live up to as Val T was our idea.
All of the hotel staff are wonderful and the atmosphere is a fantastic combination of being completely luxurious and attentive but also entrely relaxed. Lunchtime on the slopeside terrace there is no feeling that you must order from the bar to chillout there and the staff don't rush to take your order unless you signal them you're in a hurry.
The in-house minivan is a really good option for getting up to the bars at the top end of the town and although you can call it for the return trip actually a wander back down is rather enjoyable and a nice way to make some room for dinner.
The food at Altapura is some of the best, and possibly the best, of all the ski-hotels we've experienced and there have been quite a few, almost all high-end. The breakfast is absolutely the best of anywhere i have stayed, ever! A couple of nights we ate in the A la Carte restaurant L'entants Terrible which was also fantastic and much better value for money than we'd expected too which was a very pleasant surprise.
I'd recommend this hotel to everyone, the location at the bottom of the town works really well if you want some post-ski apres as it means you can work your way down the village and avoid any need to go back up into town.
Superb!
thanks Altapura for a really magical holiday :-)

Room Tip: We upgraded to the delux room with piste view which gave us a lot more room for not a lot more money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Sarah W,

We are so happy that the magic has worked on your holidays !
It is exactly what Altapura is made for, thank you for writing this, it makes the entire team very proud of the everyday work...

Can't wait to welcome you again !

Warm regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ski in and ski out hotel on the slops of Val Thoren. Contemporary cool hotel. Good spa with heated outdoor pool. Lovely large beds with linen sheets. Staff excellent and really want you to enjoy your stay . They made me porridge every morning! Good choice of food for evening meal. Cannot fault it. Would come again which I think is the best recommendation of any hotel...would you come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Sher M,

Please accept our thanks for your flattering comments, the entire team is so happy to read your lines !

We hope to have you very soon in one of the "Maisons & Hotels Sibuet" : St-Tropez, Provence, Megève, Lyon... Val Thorens !

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We're spending 9 days here. How lucky are we. The location is perfect (ski on/off). The staff is genuinely interested in your satisfaction and happiness. The room is spacious(for European standards). The view spectacular. The food (we chose buffet style supper and breakfast..more traditional restaurant service also available), is excellent and plentiful. Excellent in-room TV and FREE, yes FREE movie selection), a swimming pool which outdoor access! What luxury. Can't find a bad thing to say other than we wish for blackout curtains, and better lighting in the bathroom area.

It's expensive, but for a first class ski vacation, Altapura cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Danny B,

We are really proud to discover your nice report about Altapura, it is the best energy to keep on doing our best for our guests !...

We'll be happy to receive you again or any of your friends of Canada !

Frédéric Carbonnel,
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our family had a wonderful ski vacation - in many ways thanks to staying at Altapura - fantastic!

We have stayed in other 5 star - in mountain hotels - this is our new favorite.
We are a family of 5, with 3 children 10 and under.

The hotel is perfectly located on the mountain. Beautiful views and very comfortable rooms. Everything is new and Of top quality. Perfect adjoining room. The staff were wonderful. They made us feel so taken care of.
The restaurant is gourmet with out feeling overdone- you could eat healthy, everything prepared ala carte in front Of you even in the buffet. Wonderful fresh ingredients and cuts of meat.

The ski shop in hotel is perfect and real ski in and out-super easy with kids and not a bit Of carrying skis!

Immediate Easy Quick access to advance skiing on the glacier and whole 3 valley.

Even though we have kids we enjoyed there were no kids running around. It is set up so you feel private with your family.

Enjoyed the spa and outdoor pool very much.
The staff all seem to love helping us... You leave feeling very good and satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslielou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Bonjour LeslieLou2,

Tack så mycket för din kommentar !

The entire Team is very proud you loved our hotel and we are all very excited to wait for your next trip at Altapura !
Yes !, we loved helping you and making you the best stay ever...

Warm Regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel,
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is our third visit to Val Thorens and always find the skiing fantastic. On our first visit to the Altapura, we can only reiterate all of the previous positive reviews regarding the hotel, the staff, food, setting and surroundings are all perfect. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billington127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Billington127,

Thank you very much for your compliments and for your loyalty !
It's so gratifying to get so many nice lines from accustomed guests.
We'll try to be even better on your next visit...

Have a wonderful summer and we look forward to welcoming you next year !

Frédéric Carbonnel,
GM Altapura*****, Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altapura

Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £203 - £762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altapura 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altapura, a hotel in Val Thorens, the highest resort in Europe in the heart of the 3 Valleys, the largest ski area in the world, delights all those who love the great outdoors, winter sports and a fine style of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altapura Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing