We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel located on Val Thorens ski slopes”
Review of Altapura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altapura
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were in Duplex room (N°502) that is perfect with 2 kids: 2 beds in the living room for kids and parental suite on the 1st floor.
The room is very nice, modern and incredibly quiet with a nice direct view on the slopes.

The Buffet and Laiterie restaurants are at the top (good service and good food).
The concierges are very efficient and attentive for any request.
The SPA is great with a nice inside/outside swimming pool located just under “Plein Sud” ski lift. SPA has also 2 Sauna, 1 Hamman and very good massages after ski.

The hotel is directly located on the “Plein Sud” slope close to major ski lift such as Peclet, Plein Sud or Moutiere, very convenient to join very quickly any part of the ski resort.

Ski shop is very pleasant and staff very professional.

In brief, Altapura is the perfect hotel for discovering Val Thorens resort in very luxury but casual atmosphere.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the "Plein sud" slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Nicolas N,

We are all very happy to read your lines about Altapura and we hope to see you soon to make you live more magic moments !!

Warm regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Well…that was the ski conditions. To be expected in April. Freeze/thaw. Like skiing on toast 1st thing am, perfect circa 10-12 as you got some traction…then, like soup in the afternoon. I'was like Barbados - blue skies and warm sun; long boozy lunches, then back to the ranch at 4pm for some nod.

The Altapura was super. Faultless. Hip, slope-side, nice rooms, 3 restaurants. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Super food. Great experience.

Lovely spa.

Only downside are noisy sprogs in the pool and running in and out of the sauna's. Its the parents fault. English; their version of "parenting"…how embarrassing! (I am one myself…and I do have children too)

Not a lot the hotel can do I guess. "They pays their money"….thereby giving them "Carte Blache" for their offspring to run riot.

Suggestion: only allow children in the Igloo until they go blue - that would keep 'em quiet….for a while anyway!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Simon F,

Thank you a lot for your nice report about Altapura !

We are very concerned by the attitude of the children at the spa, even if we can't educate kids & parents...
This is why we made the spa reserved only for adults everyday after 7pm.

Hope to see you soon !

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a week in Val Thorens, and the Altapura really lived up to expectations. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed , and nothing was too much trouble. The style was very modern with nice alpine touches. Our adjacent rooms were certainly large enough, and very luxuriously fitted including separate bath and walk in showers. We overlooked the patio and pool area, and were pleased how quiet it was. The location is excellent right on the slopes, genuinely ski in/ski out. Although at the bottom end of the town, there was an excellent free shuttle taxi up to anywhere you wanted, and the walk back down was easy. The convenience of its own ski shop with hire facilities was excellent, and the standard of skis we hired which, whilst they were expensive, were the best we have ever had, and they were happy to swap over to snowboards at no extra charge. We stayed half board, so tried out all three restaurants. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and the buffet supper in there was extensive and varied. We also ate in the speciality Cheese Fondue restaurant which was outstanding, and the generous allowance towards the A la Carte restaurant meant tremendous options during the stay. Our teenage children loved the high tech bedrooms, as well as the movie selection. The gym area was small and adequately equipped, but could benefit from a rowing machine and slightly lighter dumbbells. We did not try the Spa but the pool area and saunas were wonderful, and a great way to round off a hard days skiing. Above all the modern facilities, it was the staff that made the stay so enjoyable. Always polite and friendly, happy to engage in conversation, and the General Manager took time to ask how we were enjoying our stay on more than one occasion. Whilst Val Thorens is not the most attractive resort in the alps, it is snow sure and probably has the best and most extensive ski area on its doorstep, and I think you would struggle to find a better hotel in Val Thorens to stay at. We enjoyed it so much, we are planning to go again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear David B,

Thank you a lot for your long report about Altapura !
You'll always be welcome and you'll be able to test the Spa...

Warm Regards from the entire team.

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was absolutely the best wintersport experience i ever had. The hotel is situated directly on the slopes, so we could enjoy our afternoon cocktail right after our ski-session. The interior is very cozy and warm, our room and especially our bed was super comfortable. We stayed with our family in a duplex room, which was perfect for our kids as well. The service in the hotel was excellent, because the staff paid close attention to our kids and the chef made a porrige for our son every morning! The service staff in the buffet restaurant is always smiling and very helpful. Awesome fondue restaurant with many different cheese fondue options. I had a massage in the spa which was very professional and relaxing. I can recommend to everyone. The General Manager in the hotel has contact with all the guests and he made sure that our holiday was perfect! We are definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Marie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear L_Marie80,

Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie !

The entire Team is really proud to read your great lines about Altapura.

We hope to see welcome you back very soon...

Warm regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Altapura is one of the few 5 stars hotels in Val Thorens, located in the middle of the ski slopes. The hotel is very nicely decorated in a contemporary style and it has all amenities expected from such an hotel: spa with swimming pool, good breakfast, very useful concierge, ski shop, 3 restaurants.
However, rooms are extremely small (despite taking a club which is advertised for 3 persons (!), and our room had a bad smell.
In our view the hotel is a little too big hence a bit crowded. The hotel is very expensive maybe not the best value for price of its category.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear ACandEdM,

We are very sorry to read that despite the good points, we didn't succeed to reach your expectations.
As long as you liked Val Thorens, we'll always be happy to receive you in our restaurants or for a massage to enjoy what you liked at Altapura !

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a fabulous hotel. We were ski-holidaying with friends in Europe we hadn't travelled with since Whistler so we felt there was quite a bit to live up to as Val T was our idea.
All of the hotel staff are wonderful and the atmosphere is a fantastic combination of being completely luxurious and attentive but also entrely relaxed. Lunchtime on the slopeside terrace there is no feeling that you must order from the bar to chillout there and the staff don't rush to take your order unless you signal them you're in a hurry.
The in-house minivan is a really good option for getting up to the bars at the top end of the town and although you can call it for the return trip actually a wander back down is rather enjoyable and a nice way to make some room for dinner.
The food at Altapura is some of the best, and possibly the best, of all the ski-hotels we've experienced and there have been quite a few, almost all high-end. The breakfast is absolutely the best of anywhere i have stayed, ever! A couple of nights we ate in the A la Carte restaurant L'entants Terrible which was also fantastic and much better value for money than we'd expected too which was a very pleasant surprise.
I'd recommend this hotel to everyone, the location at the bottom of the town works really well if you want some post-ski apres as it means you can work your way down the village and avoid any need to go back up into town.
Superb!
thanks Altapura for a really magical holiday :-)

Room Tip: We upgraded to the delux room with piste view which gave us a lot more room for not a lot more money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Sarah W,

We are so happy that the magic has worked on your holidays !
It is exactly what Altapura is made for, thank you for writing this, it makes the entire team very proud of the everyday work...

Can't wait to welcome you again !

Warm regards,

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ski in and ski out hotel on the slops of Val Thoren. Contemporary cool hotel. Good spa with heated outdoor pool. Lovely large beds with linen sheets. Staff excellent and really want you to enjoy your stay . They made me porridge every morning! Good choice of food for evening meal. Cannot fault it. Would come again which I think is the best recommendation of any hotel...would you come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Sher M,

Please accept our thanks for your flattering comments, the entire team is so happy to read your lines !

We hope to have you very soon in one of the "Maisons & Hotels Sibuet" : St-Tropez, Provence, Megève, Lyon... Val Thorens !

Frédéric Carbonnel
GM Altapura***** & Villa Marie*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 28 in Val Thorens
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#9 of 28 in Val Thorens
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 28 in Val Thorens
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#8 of 28 in Val Thorens
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 28 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altapura

Address: Rue du Bouchet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £325 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altapura 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altapura, a hotel in Val Thorens, the highest resort in Europe in the heart of the 3 Valleys, the largest ski area in the world, delights all those who love the great outdoors, winter sports and a fine style of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altapura Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing