We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Michelle/ Chalet Lola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chalet Michelle/ Chalet Lola”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I regularly look at Trip advisor reviews prior to booking somewhere but have never written a review myself. However, as I feel so strongly about my experience of my recent holiday I have been compelled to do so.
We stayed at Chalet Michelle (as it is called by 'Inghams') in March 2013. Due to the different name advertised we could not find reviews on the chalet prior to booking our holiday. Having stayed in a catered chalet in Alpe D'Huez in February 2012 with Iglu Ski I was hoping for a similar experience.
We had no heating for the first two days, apparently it had been warmer the week before and they had turned the underfloor heating off. Had it not been for a member of our group lighting the fire we would have been even colder.
It is advertised as having a lift, This was only for the first 3 floors and only worked half of the time, which meant a pretty unpleasant trek up the stairs with our skis after a busy day. The chalet itself was small. The communal area was not big enough for 12 people, and there were only 2 small sofas. Only one of the 6 rooms had a complete en suite. Some had a shower, and others had to use communal facilities. The en suites did not have a door separating them from the main bedroom area. The chalet is advertised as having wifi, yet only 8 people in a 12 person chalet could log on to this at one time.
Our chalet host was quite half hearted. The group who had stayed before us had lost some of their keys and had broken the door to get in. Although this was not her fault, she didn't go out of her way to solve the consequences of this, which meant a week with 2 boot room keys between 8 of us and a door which wouldn't lock. We had a day where there was 29cm of snow, about 10cm of this ended up in our chalet. There is apparently a safe to store valuables in, however the key had also been lost for this and despite asking, a key never materialised during the course of the week.
The food was average at best. Two of the members of our group had lessons and left at 08:30 each day. Yet although breakfast was advertised as 08:00- 09:00 they were never able to eat a cooked breakfast as it was never ready on time. There were also days when some of the food items were not available, and the croissants and pain au chocolat were undercooked. There were not enough mugs in the chalet for one each.
As for Inghams, we will not be travelling with them again. We felt that they did little/nothing to sort out any problems that arose. We went on their pubcrawl which consisted of them pouring flavoured vodka into our mouths from a communal bottle. It had been advertised as 10 free drinks, and we were right to have our initial scepticism. We heard them boasting about how they had charged the previous group 300 euro for a new door frame but had instead got the manager's son (definitely not a carpenter) to put some polyfiller (badly) on it, and were going to take a photo of another door frame to send to the group to show that the door had been fixed.
We had a really good time in Val Thorens, but none of this was as a result of the accommodation.

Room Tip: There is one room with a full en suite, the brochure tells you which room this is. It is also upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Hello. Thanks for letting us know your opinion about your stay. As we do not manage these chalet particularly and their staff (Inghams do) we only can feel sorry for this bad experience.
We took note of the points about the maintenance (lift,...) in order to solve this matter.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stay: Jan 5th 2013 to Jan 12th 2013

Group: 12 young, noisy, drunk people :D

Location: You have to walk a couple of hundred meters to get on/off the pistes, but once that's over with - who cares! Chalets des Neiges Plein Sude, on the other hand, is right on the piste. Pretty good location otherwise, Subway nearby, as well as 'The Highest Pub in Europe', 'Cafe Snesko' and a bunch of other afterski bars.

Rooms: Spacious and clean - could use some more pillows and chairs in the living room. Toilets and bathrooms are separate, which I don't fancy, but that's me!

Reception: Well you know them Frenchies, hard to communicate with in any language other than French ;D But helpful and pleasant. There's 1 free sack of firewood included, make sure you ask for some that is dry!

Facilities: Free Wi-Fi and boot/ski-lockers in the lobby (heating element wasn't working in our boot locker), pool was freezing, sauna not heated when you get back from skiing, couldn't figure out the opening hours for the pool/sauna area.

Catering:
We had ordered catering through our travel agency (sunweb.dk) consisting of breakfast, afternoon snack and a 3 course dinner with wine, and all the cleaning up that comes with it, every day, save for one. When we checked in around 17:00 on the first day, dinner was being prepared for us. Good start! We decided to upgrade to all-inclusive for 50 EUR each, this included free beer red/white wine, sodas, juice, snacks and some candy. Excellent! We also upgraded with a sandwich package for 35 EUR each - sandwich, water, piece of fruit and a chocolate bar. All we had to do was wake up and put some clothes on, eat breakfast, throw our sandwich in the backpack, go skiing, come back home, eat cake and drink beer and wine on the balcony, and then get ready for the 3 course dinner. It doesn't get any better than that. Make sure to ask for Archie if you book catering. He won't let you down.

Chalets des Neiges Hermine is great value for the money and Val Thorens in general is a pretty great place with awesome skiing!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotNETJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in 1 of the Crystal run Chalets. We were a group of 6 & the chalet sleeps 10 so we shared with 4 others. Each bedroom has it's own private bathroom which were all very nice but there was only 2 toilets (one of which was located in room 2's private bathroom), this was really the only downside to the inside of the Chalet. The rooms were clean & the beds comfy but they are nothing to shout home about, a good base to sleep & dress.
We had a good selection for breakfast each morning, cake in the afternoon, & a 3 course dinner in the evening with wine on the table. All the food was cooked to a very high standard & was enjoyed by all.
The Chalet is located at the top of a hill which is not ideal for skiers in their boots as we found out but the Plein Sud ski run has a branch that runs off to just below the Chalet which makes the journey back much easier. The main town is only a short walk away.
The spa isn't really a spa, it's a smallish swimming pool & a sauna that we had to request be turned on twice & we had to go outside to reach it, but all in all it is all we needed to chill out after skiing.
There is an equipment room but we didn't use this & just went up from the basement to our room in the lift & kept out equipment on the balcony, just avoid the receptionist who will tell you off for wearing your ski boots inside if she catches you!
All in all a good little Chalet for the price & our Crystal Chalet hosts were superb, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine

Property: Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine
Address: rue du Gebroula, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Chalets des Neiges Hermine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing