We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Boarder comes along great”
Review of Ski Cool

Ski Cool
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Boarder comes along great”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

15 year old son wanted to board. He has had ~ 4 hours on UK snowdomes. I put him in group 1 - just above beginner, he was moved up to level 2 ASAP. By the end of 6 days he was free riding powder faster than me ! Little bugger. Easy to find meeting point, numerous sub-offices in town. Good instructor who made the week fun for all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    7
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in VT”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have just completed a weeks snowboard school with the instructor Gael Melet, my wife also used Skicool and had Xavier for ski lessons. The quality of the lessons is certainly some of the best available in the Alps, we were very lucky with the amount of fresh snow each day but both the teachers made our holiday one to remember. If you are planning a visit to VT requested these instructors for the best tuition available. I look forward to returning next year.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank S_h_o_r_t_y2197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great village for Skiing Paradiski”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location, much quieter than the La Plagne side of the mountain with real people who really care. From ski shop to restaurants, everyone really wanted you to have a super time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonnybchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, FRIENDLY SKI SCHOOL”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have recently returned from a delightful skiing holiday in Val Thorens, during which we booked private lessons for my wife with Ski Cool.

This was a critical holiday for my wife and her future skiing career. She had had a very bad experience in Austria last year, where her instructor placed his own ego ahead of her needs and scared her. With her confidence badly damaged, it was vital that she received constructive and empathetic teaching on this holiday, if she was ever going to enjoy skiing again.

We had read good reviews about Skicool but did not pre-book. We called in at their offices, explained the situation and the delightful girl behind the desk allocated Julien Deves to be Lidia's instructor. He proved to be the perfect teacher and mentor. He has a gentle and caring manner – wisdom and maturity beyond his years – and significant ability as a ski instructor. Over 6 days he gradually developed Lidia’s skiing techniques but more importantly, he enabled her to build her confidence and her belief in her own ability. I skied with them on one day at the end of the week and it was a pleasure to witness both my wife’s progress and an excellent teacher at work.

He helped her achieve huge progress in her skiing, enabled her to overcome the fears generated in the past and thus allow us both to look forward to many years of happy skiing together. We plan to return to Val Thorens next year and will certainly ask for the services of Ski Cool and Julien again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilandLidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski Cool also viewed

Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 

Been to Ski Cool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing