We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked out tired and tipsy. No help from staff.”

Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu
Reviewed 11 February 2014

After getting separated from my room mates (who had the only 2 keys) I returned to the lodgings alone, a bit tipsy and very very tired. I requested a spare key or to have someone let me into the room based on the fact that I had picture ID on me and my passport was in the room. I was flatly turned down on this request and was removed from the building when i persisted to question this ridiculous stance. I was at no point hostile during the whole incident so there was no need to decide to push me (and I made sure that some pressure (although minimal) was required) from the premises to spend an at that time unknown amount of time out in the cold at almost midnight. A friend from another room found me asleep on the steps an hour or so later and I slept in his room. My room mates slept with their door open when they discovered I was not home when they returned. The other facets of the stay were at least a little better but this was unforgivable. Hence 1 star. I worry to think how younger and far more drunk guests are treated and where they may end up spending their night.
The pool is situated in the sports center in the middle of town. Not at the resort btw.
I'm used to small skiing apartments with these its not so much the size but the lay out. We were 3 in an apartment that could accommodate up to 5. If you were 5 people planning to watch some movies in the evening 2 people would have to sit on dinning chairs or the floor as we did when friends came by.
The toilet in particular is not suitable for people over 6 foot who like to close the door when using it.
The lack of an oven was also really disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Conmadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in the Machu side of the building on the first floor, in a one bed apartment. First impressions were that it was a typical sized French apartment (small) but it was very well designed with plenty of storage. It worked really well for us as a family of 4, including 2 teenage boys. We were very impressed by the comfort of the sofa bed and the children's beds. The children's room was very dark as the only window faced onto a roofed internal courtyard, with little natural light. We left the sofa bed out all week, and moved the table so that 2 of us sat on the bed at the table, giving us a much more practical layout, as this allowed everyone to help with food prep at the table! The kitchen was great for such a small apartment; 4 ring halogen hob, dishwasher, fridge and microwave/grill. Everything that we needed. I would suggest packing extra dishwasher tablets, as the complimentary cleaning pack only contains 6 or so, and the dishwasher isn't full sized. The only down size, literally, was the size of the loo. I think you would struggle to sit on the loo and shut the door if you are close to 6 foot! There is a well stocked supermarket on the premises and very helpful staff in the ski shop on site. The reception staff were helpful and provided a kettle at great speed although it didn't appear to be a common request. The residence has an excellent location. We skied in and out every day, including lunchtimes. Very easy to do. The three major uplift points are within 2 minutes from the back door. The pistes were in excellent condition. We had fresh snow on about 4 days, resulting in loads of powder on the pistes. Brilliant! It was some of the best skiing we've experienced in the last 10 years, due to great snow, no queues and empty pistes. We usually ski at half term, but this is a brilliant alternative in a good season. Fantastic uplift. Well connected skiing. We skied 90% of VT in 6 days, plus a couple of trips out of the valley to the higher levels of Courcheval, Merible and Orelle. The red runs are easier than Tignes/Val d'Isere, and the few blacks we tried were also straight forward, although our legs were flagging at the end of the week. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the variety of skiing. The family ski pass is good value, as a family of 4 is charged at 4 x children rates. Not the expected ice/slush spring skiing, just excellent snow. The location is great.

Room Tip: A first floor apartment means you can access the ski lockers without using a lift (level 3).
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Ski_girl503876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have to say I was very apprehensive, after reading previous reviews, about staying in this residence. My husband, sister & 2 children (ages 10 & 11) stayed here for one week. This was our 10th trip to Val Thorens, having satyed previously in the Bel Horizon, Village Montanna, Chamoix Do'r & the Montagnettes. I have to say that our expectations were quite low, but we were quite happy with the overall experience. We stayed in the Machu apartments (902), which have recently been refurbished. Benchmarking against previous French ski residences, this did not rate badly. We also went for the half board option & had breakfast & dinner at La Grange, as we had previously eaten there. If you are looking for luxary & pampering this is not the place to go - there are many other hotels & resideneces that will satisfy that criteria in VT - However if you are looking for modest, clean accommodation at a rerasonable cost & skiiing is the attraction for you, then this is an option. I would however mention that the location is a littel challenging for Kid's ski school - you need to take 2 magic carpets to reach the ESF meeting points, so if class is at 9, be sure you leave at 8:40 latest!
Also, the wifi system could do with a few booster points throughout the building.
To those of you who have previous slammed this residence, I think that the clue might be in the price - you can't expect champagne on a lemonade budget!!

Room Tip: Book the Machu apartments - we had 902, which had 3 bedrooms & a good size living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mairead m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed with 4 others as part of a package. On arrival the receptionist was very rude. We then accidentaly broke the balcony window the first afternoon, admittedly we tried to sort it through our tour operator, but we broke it on Saturday and didn't get moved rooms until Thursday! The manager was very rude to us about this as well. For 5 people the place was tiny, 3 guys in a room that couldn't even fit a double bed in it, and 2 others sharing a sofa bed. Lack of storage space, specially for a ski holiday. Could barely sit down in the toilet, we ended up using the reception toilets.

On the plus side it was cheap, clean and the ski in/out facilities were good. Other end of the resort from all of the bars though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Legrandsev
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: très bonne literie !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank F6708EHdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 3 couchages 90x190 dans la même chambre + canapé dépliant couchage 2 personnes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank sandrineg125
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RelationClientPVR, L’équipe at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#4 of 29 in Val Thorens
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu

Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range: £80 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing