We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mountain hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langley Hotel Tango
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best mountain hotel for the money”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just leaving the Tango tomorrow..
I have stayed in my fair share of ski hotels and this is excellent. It is very comfortable, modern with excellent service from young helpful staff. The room is cleaned every day to a very high standard and clean towels are provided daily.

The rooms are larger than most with an excellent wet room with digital temperature control. Lots of places to hang your stuff. The hotel has a ski room which is a massive bonus, with boot warmers and ski/snowboard racks so everything is dry and warm in the morning.

You can ski straight outside the door to the lifts and ski back to within a 1 minute walk.

We booked half board and the food is the only criticism I have to make. The dishes are poncy by that I mean they dress it up too much and attempt at fine dining, layering it with fancy sauces that don't quite work. The potions are small and the starters quite frankly are not worth having. If only they made the meals more like the lunch menu I, and others I am sure would enjoy it more. Oh, and they need to have a couple of dishes to decide on for yourself. Breakfast is good!

To summarise Tango is close to slopes, excellent staff, lively and very nicely kitted out especially the ski room.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottadvisor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    65
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We ate here for lunch for the final day of our trip to Val Thorens as a large group and passed a very pleasant couple of hours. Large tables are on offer and the comfortable surroundings and view very much appreciated. Food was of a good standard and very enjoyable. The ordering process was a bit of a nightmare with a large queue and fair wait to order, with food arriving for the table over a fairly long period. Overall they were doing their best and food was worth the wait. Whilst we didn't stay in the hotel it is well positioned for both ski and après ski with pistes & bars within easy reach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellesmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just returned from Hotel Tango 9th Feb 2013 Hotel very clean, modern and suitable for all ages. Our son stayed with his sister in resort and was able to eat breakfast and evening meal with us at a supplement. Rooms were very clean and warm, we were on the 4th floor and had spectacular views of the mountain range. The food as previous reviews state was excellently presented tasted great but portion sizes were on the small side. If 3 courses were included it would have been ideal. Our daughter ate from the al a carte menu and found the portion size to be huge. One bug bear was dining at 8,30 the bar was very busy and the happy hour was 8 to 10 but with only one member of staff serving the wait when cocktails and 2 for 1 drinks were ordered was substantial.Never got in front of the log fire as seats were at a premium. The sking was great with runs for all abilities plenty of powder snow which was well groomed. The location of the hotel was well situated with ski to door and local bars on the doorstep. Would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

At the top of the highest ski resort in France (2765m/9079ft) this must be one of the highest ski hotels. The location is great, with views across the valley and, given enough snow, ski in and out is possible. It is relatively small (probably 40 rooms). The comfortable lounge area. with an open (gas-log) fire overlooks the village and has a large-screen TV showing alpine activities. Next to it is a bar area which is a popular for lunchtime and apres-ski drinks and snacks. Beyond this is the dining area which opens onto a patio which offered a lunchtime barbeque on Fridays.
The room was a good size, larger than some of the holiday apartments we have rented in French resorts. It was quiet and there was a balcony with a mountain view. The ensuite shower provided hot water all time. There was a small fridge in the room, but no kettle for a hot drink. There seemed to be an Ethernet access point at the desk in the room. However, free wi-fi seems to be available throughout the hotel, and my laptop was showing that there were at least six repeaters. Connection speeds were variable, and not usually sufficient to reliably stream video, but certainly adequate for checking e-mails or browsing.
The owners (Langley) appear to be Scandinavian, Certainly, many of the guests and staff were. This is reflected in its contemporary theme of both rooms and public areas. Everything is spotlessly clean. The staff are young, friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic and work well as a team. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Breakfast is buffet-style, typically continental with a small number of cooked items. Many guests also prepare their packed lunches from the breakfast buffet. At lunchtime there is a snack menu, fresh pizzas prepared in their own stone oven, and a plat du jour. The evening meal for guests on a package is two-course, and held in two sittings. We found the presentation and flavors to be excellent and varied, although not particularly reflecting the local Savoie cuisine. An additional course was available at extra cost (about 6 Euros.) The hotel also offered a wine "package" at additional cost. This comprised a glass of sparkling wine before the meal, and a glass to complement each course. The hotel wine list is short, but the wines we tried were excellent. Outside the package deals there is an a la carte menu. Most evenings there is live after dinner entertainment; and some nights during the apres ski "happy hour" (2-for-1 drinks.)
There is a boot, ski and board storage and drying room situated just off the main lobby.
Within 150m of the hotel are bars, restaurants, ski rental locations, a patisserie and other shops.
The Hotel Tango, its staff and its facilities made this holiday extremely enjoyable and relaxing. If small and friendly is the sort of ski hotel you want to stay at, I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There will be some noise (though not beyond 10pm) from the bar. but this was inaudible on the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hotel clean, staff friendly, rooms are very up to date and the hotel is in a top location. You can board/ski in & out of hotel aswel. Food is excellent and every night there is a different meal. Relax next to log fire and listen to different entertainment every night. Shops, bars, restaurants & amenities are all within walking distance Highly recommended and I've stayed twice:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blades70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Tango from 19th Jan for 1 week and had an amazing time!

First impressions of the hotel were modern, funky and very friendly staff and this impression stayed with me throughout the entire holiday.

Location;
The location is great. There is an option of ski out, i didn't find the ski in however, it was only a 2-3 minute walk at the end of the day or, if you did not want to walk then you could hop on the free shuttle bus, which ran every 20 mins and took about 1 minute to get back to the hotel.
The hotel offers the best apres-ski environment in the resort, with a great live band playing each day and DJ etc. It was really felt like the place to be at the end of the day.

Food;
I was on a half board package and it was worth it as the breakfast and dinners were great. The breakfast was a cooked or continental buffet option and there was plenty of variety.
Dinner each evening consisted of a starter and main and they were both brilliant!! couldn't fault anything and looked forward to dinner each night.

Accommodation;
This was absolutely fine and the balconies had great views over the resort. The rooms had plenty of hanging space and also a fridge. The only thing is does not have is a safe which would have been useful.
The bathroom was a wet room and the shower was great, always had very hot water and it was extremely powerful.
The hotel has a heated boot room so you can leave skis and boots in here at the end of the day. They have heated hanging spaces for the boots. This is great as you can put on warm boots each morning :).

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and I would recommend the hotel 100%. The staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Hope to go back

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I have been skiing for several years now and stayed in some expensive places. All things considered, this is the best one by far. The location is perfect, you can ski from right outside the front door and to across the street coming back. The hotel itself is contemporary and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful - all Swedish with perfect English. Interestingly enough is that the food is the most unusual part about this place. It is as good as any top class restaurant. Hard to believe it was half board based. Maybe the portions are not huge but still outstanding. As for Val Thorens itself, most people will have enough skiing there for a week although we skied all three of the valleys during the week. The place is so big that we never end queued for a lift. Anyways thumbs up for this place. You won't find a better place anywhere even close to the price of the Tango.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Tango

Property: Langley Hotel Tango
Address: Rue de la Bouche, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Hotel Corotel)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Tango 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Langley Hotel Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing