We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langley Hotel Tango
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just returned from a trip with 3 friends . The location , bedrooms , food and bar were fab . Ideal . Stayed in many ski locations and this is the top one by far . Highly recommended by all 4 off us . Already looking to book for next year

Room Tip: Advise not to have 1st floor room if a light sleeper or to take earplugs as there can be music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    65
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
37
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent a week in Val Thorens at Hotel Tango at the end of January, 2013. Group of 3x, ages 26, 27 and 19. (summary at the bottom if you dont want to read!)

Location: The Hotel is basically ski in, ski out. You can navigate a narrow, quite steep (not ideal for boarders) track straight onto the piste and on the way back can ski right to the opposite side of the road from the hotel. If its thick, you could ski/board over the road (although we did see some police telling some skiiers off for doing this) but its not worth scratching your board for a few feet of walking! Hotel is near the top of the resort so great views over the town & down the valley, especially from the top floor. Very close to pubs/shops etc.

Arrival: We arrived late in the evening (thanks to some miscommunication between Crystal and our coach driver!) but were welcomed by the friendly staff at Tango. We were checked in quickly and advised we could pop our boards in the nearby equipment room to save lugging them upstairs, and head back down for some food. No problem that we were so late, so that was a good first impression. (*Not a great impression of Crystal though as they seemed alittle unorganised. They hadn't communicated the numbers to the driver correctly who refused to take all of us in one go from Chambery. Luckily we got on the first coach, I think a few others had to tag along with another group going the same way. Didnt really bother us, although we were stood outside the coach waiting for about 30mins in the snow whilst they "discussed"). Once we got going the transfer from Chambery took roughly an hour and a half longer than it should have aswell. Worth the wait though!

Rooms: Our room was on the 4th floor, and I have to say must have been the pick of the Hotel's room as far as the view goes. We were right in the middle under the peak of the roof. Facing the town and the valley. The highest point of the hotel and probably the most unobstructed view. Perfect! 3x of us sharing, was a little cramped I suppose but the room was on two levels (top level had very little head room and could not be stood up in, accessed by a pretty precarious ladder, whihc you should not attempt in the dark/after a few beers). Decor is awesome; very funky and nicely finished. Nice HD TV with plenty of channels, very handy fridge and loads of hook to hang your gear. Couple of gripes: There's no kettle! And the wet room, whilst a nice idea on paper is not ideal for people sharing. The room would remian soaked most of the day (no extractor fan) so was a bit awkward to get ready after someone had showered. Make some ground rules/a schedule and stick to it for best results! The view as I say was unbeatable and the balcony was a nice addition. Wifi signal even on the top floor was ok, even though its only advertised as "available in the lobby". Towels could hav been change more regularly, especially as you were using one to mop up the wet room floor each morning ;)

Hotel: Clean, nice decor, very modern and trendy. Free Wifi and equipment room are great touches, althought the latter does get a bit full, especially if you're late off the slopes. Lift was a bit temperamental all week (wouldn't work on several occasions - including our last day when we were trying to lug cases down from the top floor!) but was probably just a maintence issue. The Hotel is marketed and caters to the 'younger' crowd, and although there were groups of all ages enjoying themselves, I could't help but feel that some of the more mature folk or even just the quieter couples might feel a bit out of place or unwelcome. Thats not the case, of course, as the staff are very welsoming and friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are having a nice time. Spa available, but we didnt try it.

Bar: The bar is VERY busy every night of the week, with loud live music and DJs most nights. Its not the place for a quiet evening drink unless you get there early and it's a real hub of Val Thorens nightlife, especially with the locals. If you're alight sleeper: don't stay on the lower floors as the music is very audible. Was fine on the top floor though!

Restaurant: Again, very trendy and a lot of thought put into the decor & presentation. Food was very nice indeed but it is worth stressing that THIS IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL SKI RESORT "ALL YOU CAN EAT BUFFET" TYPE DEAL! So dont expect it and you wont be dissapointed. Theres one starter and one main course on the half board/full board menu which were always really delicious. If you dont like whats on offer the staff will be happy to offer an alternative (although that usually just included changing the type of meat. not sure how they'd handle vegetarians!). Was a bit jarring at first being offered only one dish, but just trust the chefs as they do a fantastic job. Portions were fine for us. You can also order off the main menu but will have to pay full price. We tried a few things off the main menu and I can definitely recommend the Tango Burger! they serve in two sittings (6.30pm and 8.30pm) Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of options from cold meats, cheeses, various eggs, croissants, homemade breads, cereals, porridge, fruit, yoghurts, juices, coffee and hot chocolate - and its all restocked regularly. We were never left wanting!

Crystal Rep: If I'd have seen one at the hotel all week I'd be able to comment :) Was supposed to be there upon our arrival but was nowehere to be seen. I text him once in the week to ask about our departure details and spoke breifly on the phone. Can't remember his name but didnt sound to enthusiastic tbh. We didnt go to the welcome meeting to be fair (is schedule AFTER your first days skiing anyway, which is rather silly!) so maybe we'd have gotten a better impression there. Are past experience (namely in Iso-Syote, Finland) was the exact opposite: Extremely attentive and friendly, very helpful and always around the hotel in the mornings/evenings. Maybe our expecatations were too high coming from a small resort like Iso to a big place like VT ;). There was also the problem with the coach but that wasn't really anyones fault. Wasn't a good start though and some other people did get quite annoyed about the wait/lack of info. And to finish, we left way too early on the Saturday so had a stop off at a service station to kill the time! Still had way to long to wait in the airport though - could have had at least another hour or so in the resort and made it to Chambery in good time. Although given how late they were when we arrived maybe they didnt want to take any chances...

Overall: We had a fantastic time in Val Thorens and that's in no small part thanks to Hotel Tango. A great location and the perfect place to base yourself for a lively, fun and memorable week on the snow. Speaking of snow, we had tonnes and barring a couple of windy days the conditions were perfect. Will be back next year for sure!

Summary (incase you couldn't be bothered to read all that!)

Pros:
Friendly staff
Lively atmosphere
Nice rooms
Great location in a fantastic resort!
Great food
Free Wifi & Equipment room
Ski Out (and almost back in)


Cons:
Might be too lively for some
Wet rooms are a silly idea
Very busy bar (no priority for guests at the bar, get there early!)
Loud music pretty much every night, will be a problem for light sleepers on the lower floors
Only one option on the Half Board menu each night
Crystal Ski were a bit sloppy on this occasion

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor and facing West down the valley. Cannot be beat! If you're lucky eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cantina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Conveniently located for the slopes; friendly and professional staff; clean rooms and great showers. Boot and ski room first class and on the ground floor next to the reception so no walking up and downstairs with ski boots and skis! Despite what others have said, the food is superb and well planned for its nutritious content - we thought the portion sizes were spot on. The bar is lively and an obvious favourite with the ski instructors. The live band are great and so is the resident singer/DJ. We were a small group of mixed ages and it worked well for us though I think it is ideal for the 18-30 age group.

Room Tip: There are 4 floors and next timeI would try and request a room ending in 02 or 03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just leaving the Tango tomorrow..
I have stayed in my fair share of ski hotels and this is excellent. It is very comfortable, modern with excellent service from young helpful staff. The room is cleaned every day to a very high standard and clean towels are provided daily.

The rooms are larger than most with an excellent wet room with digital temperature control. Lots of places to hang your stuff. The hotel has a ski room which is a massive bonus, with boot warmers and ski/snowboard racks so everything is dry and warm in the morning.

You can ski straight outside the door to the lifts and ski back to within a 1 minute walk.

We booked half board and the food is the only criticism I have to make. The dishes are poncy by that I mean they dress it up too much and attempt at fine dining, layering it with fancy sauces that don't quite work. The potions are small and the starters quite frankly are not worth having. If only they made the meals more like the lunch menu I, and others I am sure would enjoy it more. Oh, and they need to have a couple of dishes to decide on for yourself. Breakfast is good!

To summarise Tango is close to slopes, excellent staff, lively and very nicely kitted out especially the ski room.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottadvisor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We ate here for lunch for the final day of our trip to Val Thorens as a large group and passed a very pleasant couple of hours. Large tables are on offer and the comfortable surroundings and view very much appreciated. Food was of a good standard and very enjoyable. The ordering process was a bit of a nightmare with a large queue and fair wait to order, with food arriving for the table over a fairly long period. Overall they were doing their best and food was worth the wait. Whilst we didn't stay in the hotel it is well positioned for both ski and après ski with pistes & bars within easy reach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellesmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just returned from Hotel Tango 9th Feb 2013 Hotel very clean, modern and suitable for all ages. Our son stayed with his sister in resort and was able to eat breakfast and evening meal with us at a supplement. Rooms were very clean and warm, we were on the 4th floor and had spectacular views of the mountain range. The food as previous reviews state was excellently presented tasted great but portion sizes were on the small side. If 3 courses were included it would have been ideal. Our daughter ate from the al a carte menu and found the portion size to be huge. One bug bear was dining at 8,30 the bar was very busy and the happy hour was 8 to 10 but with only one member of staff serving the wait when cocktails and 2 for 1 drinks were ordered was substantial.Never got in front of the log fire as seats were at a premium. The sking was great with runs for all abilities plenty of powder snow which was well groomed. The location of the hotel was well situated with ski to door and local bars on the doorstep. Would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

At the top of the highest ski resort in France (2765m/9079ft) this must be one of the highest ski hotels. The location is great, with views across the valley and, given enough snow, ski in and out is possible. It is relatively small (probably 40 rooms). The comfortable lounge area. with an open (gas-log) fire overlooks the village and has a large-screen TV showing alpine activities. Next to it is a bar area which is a popular for lunchtime and apres-ski drinks and snacks. Beyond this is the dining area which opens onto a patio which offered a lunchtime barbeque on Fridays.
The room was a good size, larger than some of the holiday apartments we have rented in French resorts. It was quiet and there was a balcony with a mountain view. The ensuite shower provided hot water all time. There was a small fridge in the room, but no kettle for a hot drink. There seemed to be an Ethernet access point at the desk in the room. However, free wi-fi seems to be available throughout the hotel, and my laptop was showing that there were at least six repeaters. Connection speeds were variable, and not usually sufficient to reliably stream video, but certainly adequate for checking e-mails or browsing.
The owners (Langley) appear to be Scandinavian, Certainly, many of the guests and staff were. This is reflected in its contemporary theme of both rooms and public areas. Everything is spotlessly clean. The staff are young, friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic and work well as a team. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Breakfast is buffet-style, typically continental with a small number of cooked items. Many guests also prepare their packed lunches from the breakfast buffet. At lunchtime there is a snack menu, fresh pizzas prepared in their own stone oven, and a plat du jour. The evening meal for guests on a package is two-course, and held in two sittings. We found the presentation and flavors to be excellent and varied, although not particularly reflecting the local Savoie cuisine. An additional course was available at extra cost (about 6 Euros.) The hotel also offered a wine "package" at additional cost. This comprised a glass of sparkling wine before the meal, and a glass to complement each course. The hotel wine list is short, but the wines we tried were excellent. Outside the package deals there is an a la carte menu. Most evenings there is live after dinner entertainment; and some nights during the apres ski "happy hour" (2-for-1 drinks.)
There is a boot, ski and board storage and drying room situated just off the main lobby.
Within 150m of the hotel are bars, restaurants, ski rental locations, a patisserie and other shops.
The Hotel Tango, its staff and its facilities made this holiday extremely enjoyable and relaxing. If small and friendly is the sort of ski hotel you want to stay at, I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There will be some noise (though not beyond 10pm) from the bar. but this was inaudible on the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Tango

Property: Langley Hotel Tango
Address: Rue de la Bouche, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Hotel Corotel)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Tango 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Langley Hotel Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing