We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langley Hotel Tango
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spent a week snowboarding in Val Thorens with my wife, we had perfect weather with stacks of snow. The resort is amazing with plenty run options and incredible views up the mountain. Hotel Tango was good, friendly and helpful staff. Chilled out bar area. Food was good. Room was average, we were disappointed because we booked through Crystal 5months in advance and paid extra for balcony view room. The afternoon before we travelled got a call to say we would not be getting the room we booked, instead we were down on the ground floor with no view. We made do and really enjoyed our trip anyway but don't feel we got value for money spent. I would definitely recommend Val Thorens resort as a whole for snowboarding/Skiing. One thing you must do is TABOGGAN, it's a 6km run down mountain - a lot of fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    65
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for christmas 13/14 ,
Having stayed here last year twice at the same time the hotel was newly refurbished ,we allowed for the small items of unfinished hotel
However this year we find the same problems such as .
1. Small dining room with two sittings which even then we find ourselves sat at the side of the bar area eating our very small portions and only two courses we had salmon on 3 consecutive nights when my wife asked for an alternative she was offered a bruschetta with tomato this was only 2 inch square I really kid you not the portions are not big enough at all this forced us to eat a good lunch on the mountain at an average of 70 -90euro a day for two adults and two small children very expensive for us if you do require a third course they were very nice but on average 7 euro.
2. The bar area is constantly filled with seasonares and ski instructors so no room for the paying guest who pay more for there drinks than anyone else and the price you pay changes daily as the staff do not seem to be able to add up
3. While eating our evening meal we had seasonares dogs at the side of us stinking 1 Doberman 1 bull terrier of some sort I do not wish to be in this environment while eating .
4. While I would say the rooms were very nice the standard room was very small
5. Not enough room for snowboards and skis in the locker room as it was full
6. All in all the Langley Tango have got the potential for a very nice hotel but they need to look after there guests and not there mates ski school instructors and neighbouring bar workers I would be sending a management team in to iron out the ongoing problems as most guests I spoke to were unhappy about the lack of care for the guests it seemed to be a val thorens club for workers in the resort drinking at there own cheap rates

Room Tip: Rooms 106 107 206 207 are larger than standard rooms email the hotel, we asked they said they did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having read some not so good reviews on Hotel Tango rooms we were slightly sceptical on arrival to be allocated -1 rooms but these were excellent, warm and the best ski rooms we have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Good position close to slopes and enjoyed Happy Hour Cocktails. Nice atmosphere and brilliant holiday with special Christmas Eve and Christmas Day meals. Excellent breakfast left out for early departure and even bags to make a pack up left out. Boot room always warm yes quite packed but too be expected. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The drive up to the hotel took around 1 hour 45 from chamberry but the last 30 mins consisted of very bendy and very steep roads so not for the faint hearted, The hotel is right by many bars and restaurants, ski hire and supermarkets. The bowling alley and sports centre is about a 10 mins walk away. When we arrived we had been given a lower floor room... i mentioned that i was not happy being in the basement and straight away we were given a better room. When booking make sure you request a high floor room or you may get a room in the basement with staff and the spa (any room with 00 before the number is basement)

Rooms:
Our room was luxurious. There are three types of room. Room with balcony, mountain view room with balcony and junior suite with balcony. The latter being the most expensive. The interior of the room was fantastic. Modern with a lovely comfy bed. Yes the beds are two singles pushed together but they are very comfy with memory foam topping. The bathroom is a wet room which was great. They only change your towels once a week but if you leave them outside the bathroom on the floor they will change them more often. We had them changed three times and put them on the towel rail in he bathroom to dry other times. Hair dryers in all rooms but no iron or ironing board. We requested one and were given one straight away. The tv has 4 english channels, bbc ireland 1 and bbc ireland 2, alba and music.

Ski Room/Ski in/out:
The ski room is big enough to accommodate all guests. make sure you take note of your boot/skis number in case somebody accidentally picks yours up.
The hotel is not ski in ski out, but it is close enough. If you walk 100 metres around the back of the hotel, there is a slope to the left that you can get on and it takes you straight to the main slopes/ski lifts. Alternatively you can get a bus that picks you up directly outside the hotel and drops you off a different points in the resort, one being at ski school. To get back, you can either walk, or take the big magic carpet the top of the entry slope. This brings you to the fitzroy and if you walk in front of the fitzroy to the right, the bus stop is just at the top their and takes you back to the tango.

Breakfast/Dinner:
Breakfast is brilliant. You have hot and cold options. Tea/coffee/juices. Bacon/sausages/scarmbled egg/ boiled eggs/beans/porridge/potatoes/cereals/museli/breads/jams/pates/coissants/ham/cheese/salad. It is faultless
Dinner is also faultess. Yes it is only two course, its a set meu and portions are small, but they are more than adequate. The food is delicious. The best food i have ever eaten. The chefs are super talented. They have meats such as viel, venison, beef, pork, chicken, lamb, cod and fish stew. The starters are also fantastic, soups/salmon/bruschetta etc. If you do not like the menu. do not hesitate to ask. We are not fish eaters and they offered us alternatives to the set menu. We had ribs and they were delicious. The desserts are not included but i highly recommend them. They are around 3 euros to 10 euros. Again they are well presented and faultless. You cannot fault the waiters and waitresses. They are attentive, happy and helpful. Non of the staff can do too much for you, they are all great.
The dinner is done in two sitting, 6:30 and 8:30.. book your sitting at breakfast.Breakfast is 7:30-10:00. They will cater for anyone leaving to go home earlier than this. we were ever on a table with anyone else, as people claim, but the tables are close together however they spread people out if they can!

The bar:
The bar is not as busy as most say. The happy hour runs 8-10, where you get two of the same drink BOGOF. drinks are quite expensive, 3.90 for a coke/lemonade and 6.90 for a pint of heineken. There are cocktails for 8 euros. Be prepared to pay extortionate prices throughout the resort though, with hot chocs at about 5 euros and burgers 9 euros, chips 6.50 euros. Its eye wateringly dear!!!

The spa: Looked great but expensive, The offer a good service at the sports centre and for much cheaper.

Over all, this hotel was brilliant. The best i have ever stayed in. I would recommend it to everyone as the service is fantastic, the rooms are amazing and the food is the best you will ever have.
I can answer all queries if you have any!!

Room Tip: ask for a high room, avoid basement ask for mountain view if you are able to pay that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Have just returned from a week skiing in Val Thorens and had the privilege of staying in this hotel. I booked through Crystal Ski and when doing so saw a little about it and thought it looked quite nice. I checked the reviews on here and to be honest they didn't give a great account with most saying that it was still being built.

However I decided to give it a go and what a great choice that turned out to be!

The 4 bed room that we had was great for the group, big enough so that we weren't in each others way and extremely comfortable with a really modern feel to it. Inside the room itself was a an en-suite shower room (great shower), TV, mini fridge with a large balcony overlooking Val Thorens.
The hotel itself was equally as nice, we opted for the half board option and were extremely surprised with the quality of food. We had a starter and main course included with the price with deserts costing extra. The food itself was very very good. Presentation and flavour were both great and the whole atmosphere in the restaurant area was welcoming and laid back.

The bar itself was very friendly with a beer costing €5.70 (a round of 4 jagerbombs cost €12 in case you wondered). Another nice extra is a spa/sauna area on the lower level offering various massages - one of our group took advantage of this after a fall on the slopes and a 45 minute massage cost €65, I am told that it was really good!

The service throughout this hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and make a point of going out of their way to look after you. With a bit more snow this would definitely be ski in/ski out however the main lift area is a little down the hill. Still, skiing to it will only take 5 mins.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pos503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Gorgeous, contemporary & chic hotel. Located in a ski in/out location (in normal conditions) where you can ski back directly facing the place.

Beautiful room with a nice balcony, great food, very imprressed. When we booked we were advised it is only a 2 course evening meal so to criticise this hotel for that is unfair - blame the person who didnt tell you this when you booked!

The resort is amazing and this is an amazing accommodation! Highly reccomendable!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cd805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here as last minute deal with the mrs. Inspired to write a review as we really didn't get what we thought we thought was advertised!

Firstly I think it's technically ski in ski out. Except it's a 5 min walk to the slopes... so not in my book....

Secondly, the half board option. We were crammed onto shared tables - sometimes very pleasant company but not exactly romantic. And it didnt include dessert - a problem for my wife who has a particularly sweet tooth. Some of the staff were great, many were obtuse. The food was at best hit and miss. I wouldn't have eaten there twice if I had a choice.

Thirdly we were in a basement room. Not ideal but fine I thought, we were last minute, lets roll with it. But then you notice no fire alarm/plan/escape route. Tv doesn't work half the time. Wet room, not a real shower. No hair drier as advertised "in all rooms". No balcony as advertised "in all rooms". And generally a feel of a cell not a hotel room. Certainly not ideal.

However, on the plus side the bar was great! And I think it probably was value for money overall. The late season snow was brilliant - val thorens being a high resort was fantastic from that perspective.

So, would I go again? Probably not to tango except for a drink. There must be plenty of nicer places in val thorens which is by in large a fantastic resort!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Tango

Property: Langley Hotel Tango
Address: Rue de la Bouche, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Hotel Corotel)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Tango 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langley Hotel Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing