We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great food, great value at Dauphinelle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Chalet Altitude
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great people, great food, great value at Dauphinelle”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After plenty of skiing in the Alps over the past 4+ years, this was our first catered chalet experience...and we weren't disappointed. Andy is a great chalet host: very friendly, steering us to good pubs, joining us for excellent skiing/boarding runs, and even cooking off the set menu for a curry night (at our request).

We traveled with another couple and were paired up with 8 other British guests. We all got along very well...many days we skied, apres-skiied and drank together after dinner.

Apartment: It is on the 5th floor, so a bit of a hike up/down with ski gear. But from the balcony you are afforded gorgeous views overlooking VT and up at the mountains/slopes. Amazing to wake up to on a clear morning!! The living area was adequate for 12 people: can get a bit tight and could use some more comfortable furnishings. The fireplace added some warmth and nice ambience.

Rooms: 2 rooms with double bed; all others 2 single beds. 2 rooms are set aside with 2 separate 2 bathrooms -- ideal for 2 couples or a small family. The other 4 rooms share 3 bathrooms with access via the hallway. Decent size with plenty of space for clothes + bags. Bathrooms were a bit tight, but adequate...and clean. The showers do not drain well so you'll be standing in some water if you take long showers...didn't bother me ;-)

Location: As others have remarked, not exactly ski-in/ski-out...I guess it *could* be if the roads had some fresh snow ;-) You do have to walk ~150m to the nearest ski run (without going off-piste) and you can ski to within 50m by going a short distance (100m) off-piste. The Red Fox (attached to the Altitude) is a good pub with live music most nights. A grocery store is a short walk (75m). The main part of town (pubs, clubs, shopping, etc.) is a 5-10 minute walk...and there is a free shuttle service that runs every 20 minutes throughout the day.

Transfer: We flew into Grenoble. It took about 3.5 to 4 hours to get from the airport -- traffic is bad up the mountain on Saturdays. The return to the airport took 2.5 hours.

Skiing: Vast area. We needed more time to get over to Courchevel. The altitude means you'll likely get the best conditions in the Alps. Even on warm days (5+ degrees Celcius) we had good conditions above VT.

All-in-all, would recommend this for a great affordable ski holiday.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple or family of 4, request the 2 connected rooms which each have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just come back from a week away with 12 mates (4 girls, 8 lads) staying in the Altitudes Chalet Dauphinelle. I had personally booked the chalet, transfers and flights for all of my mates so I was obviously sceptical of the quality considering we had only paid £579pp for a late Jan trip. We arrived and the Chalet was perfect. Clean double and twin rooms (albeit basic) with enough bathrooms and hot water to cater for us easily. Every night we had cracking food (none of us are particularly picky but beef bourgignon, raclette, duck orange etc. backed up with starters, puddings, cheese boards and genepi). The chalet hosts were great, easy going, and very competent.

Ski in/out is a fairly loose term - it is if you can handle some minor off piste but the green run through resort is no more than 50m from the front door.

Sherpa supermarket, twinner ski rental and red fox are great for all your needs - My only reservation with using ski France as a ski company meant we had to use one of the "Ski set" rental shops which was a nightmare!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu86r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The Chalet Altitude is a six storey complex with around 25 apartments, some privately rented and some rented by ski companies for the season.
Altitude is at the top of the town, but can be reached easily from the piste by a side run or a short walk up the road. There is a small pool, sauna and two rental shops with a supermarket outside. Also the 'Red Fox' pub with a live band and 'La Ferme De Rosalie' restaurant was great for Savoyarde specialities.
We stayed in the 12 person Dauphinelle apartment on the 5th floor with Ski France.
Its clean, well kept and generally in a good state of repair.
Our chalet host, Doug, did a great job of cooking hearty and delicious meals, a cake every day and generally making sure that we had plenty to drink and enjoyed ourselves.
The resort rep, Jack, visited with lift passes and took care of all his responsibilities.
Its very good value and we were able to make the best of the extensive skiing available from here to all 3 valleys resorts. Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The chalet for 12 people was great, more than enough space so we weren't on top of each other . Always clean and tidy . Our ski-france chalet host Doug did a fantastic job , the sauna and pool were a great way of relaxing at the end of the day even if they were a little small . The view over the town is stunning . A very short walk from the town centre , practically ski in .

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Great value - rooms were an excellent size, some with balconettes, and bathrooms were all clean and modern. Our host - Gavin - was brilliant (provided through Skiworld), with excellent 3 course dinners, consistently gorgeous cakes for afternoon tea, and he even surprised us on the last night with an aperitif of garlic snails. He was also most helpful in providing hints for the inter-chalet pub quiz (although we missed out on winning by half a point!).

The main living area was lovely and cosy, but easily big enough to cope with 10 people's skiing and boarding paraphenalia. The main balcony had stunning views across the resort, and was a great suntrap! Top tip: the run through the underground carpark to the neighbouring sauna and pool complex is worth it . Overall - highly recommended (although the complex reception was a bit wiffy for some reason).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharoftheShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We booked (Group of 6) our Ski holiday through Skiworld. The package included flights, accom, transfers, ski passes, Ski/board hire and fully catered Chalet for around £600pp...which i thought it was a bargain! And it was!!

From the moment we arrived Gavin, our Skiworld host was amazing....nothing was too much hassel. He made fantastic meals every evening, breakfasts were great....and the afternoon cakes were lovely. I couldn't rate his attention to detail enough.

The Chalet itself (named Milo by Skiworld) was onthe top floor, Room 55. It had amazing views of the area, close to ski slopes and had 5 seperate bedrooms (varing in size) that catered for 10 guests. The central area/living room/dinning room/kitchen was always nice and cosy with plenty of room.

You also had free access to swimming pool and saurna which we took advantage of a couple of time after a hard days skiing!

The skiing/boarding was great, good weather, nice shops and plenty of apres ski!

All in all a great holiday and would definately recommend the catered chalet......insist on Gavin has he was a great host!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wussawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Altitude

Property: Residence Chalet Altitude
Address: Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Chalet Altitude 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Chalet Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing