We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a package skiing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Chalet Altitude
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not bad for a package skiing holiday”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Having previously stayed in 4 star hotels and chalets I knew that this place wouldn't be the same. Me and my husband booked this holiday as our 2nd skiing holiday and so we were on a budget. We paid just over £900 each for a package with Inghams,which was for flights, transfers, lift passes and one lot of hired boots and skis, this also included half board and unlimited wine with dinner. So I really can't complain about it as it was value for money. The location isn't too bad, just a short walk down hill. What made this holiday for us was the excellent choice of runs. Val Thorens isn't the prettiest of resorts but the quality of skiing makes up for this. If your happy with basic home cooking and no frills then you won't be disappointed in staying in this chalet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LickleJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Well what a fabulous week we had staying in Dauphinelle 7-14 April. Our host Andy Coe is a star. Wonderful food, great company and an all round top man. The chalet was lovely, great views of the resort, easy to get to and from the pistes, and very comfortable. The ski France team looked after us from the minute we arrived and went the extra mile to ensure our group of 12 had everything we needed. I'd happily go to the same resort, same chalet, same tour operator and definitely be looked after by the same host. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wpj793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at chalet Dauphinelle in Feb 2012. Our chalet host Andy Coe made us exceptionally welcome, was an excellent cook, guide and all round champion of Val T.. so much so that by mid week, he was able to ski with us in his afternoons off and show us his favourite runs! The chalet itself was simple and traditionally charming in a chintzy but acceptable way- it's not luxurious but its comfortable, warm and homely, so I would recommend it. The showers are hot and powerful and the pool and sauna good for a nice dip to sore throbbing limbs.

The Fox next door was a great pub and good for apreski and live music- we encountered a pretty mental band with a lead singer with a raspy croaky voice, who did covers of all sorts of classics from led zep to guns n roses through to fleewood and even madonna. Odd but entertaining and loads of random jazz hands and whoops to keep you entertained.

On Andy's night off we went to a fab restaurant but cant remmeber the name for it (ask jack- the resort mgr -as its his favourite) which gets booked in advance and lived up to the hype. Its expensive, but delicious. its on sunset road or something. Name is Cow Bell or Dairy Maid or something.

A heads up: Its well worth investing in jagermeister and beer from the supermarket for the chalet as the pints can come in at around £5 a pint and shorts were closer to £7.50 a drink in Val T generally, so you might want to drink for a while at home and take advantage of happy hours for apres-ski.

One thing you dont want to miss is le folie douche- a bar on the slopes- which kicks off at around 2.30pm. There you will encounter bustling crowds hanging out in the sun, lots of partying on tables, people posing and supping champagne and generally everyone throwing themselves around to banging house music- its excellent!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtbilko_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at the Chalet Dauphinelle in mid March. The Chalet is in good order and located within a minutes walk from the piste and the Red Fox pub, the food was great and our Chalet host Matt Emeny looked after us and nothing was too much trouble for him. Big thank you to all at Ski France who located and returned my snowboard bag as it decided to stay on in France to party a little longer without me.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed with a group of 11 friends aged 28-38 at Chalet Dauphinelle in the Chalet Altitude Complex in the last week of March 2012.

Location: The chalet is part of a complex and is not a stand-alone building, as with the rest of the chalets here, it is located close to the piste with access above the Plein Sud, via a cat track/road piste, a perfectly acceptable four minute walk for intermediate skiers, with those wanting to avoid the narrow piste having to walk a further 2 minutes to the top of the voie lactee green run. Return skiing is much closer via an access from the Plein Sud piste, down a rather steep section. There is a pub, ski shop and supermarket all within 2 minutes walk, although you will find greater choice and value in the centre of town.

Chalet: The chalet was well maintained, the rooms are of average size and most could do with more wardrobe space to contain the vast amounts of kit you have as a skier/boarder. They were warm enough, and access to bathrooms/toilets was fine, even if some of them are a little cosy. The communal living area was a decent size and had an array of balcony options for gazing at the scenery from what is unquestionably a great vantage point on the resort/mountain. Particularly if you are a young group, be sure to grab a few beers at the Folie Douce at the top of the Plein Sud chair lift from around 3:30pm to 5:30pm, it plays a rousing house, dubstep and hip hop set every night, with an up-for-it glamorous crowd. It's a short ski/board back to the chalet for the inebriated revellers when the Folie finally kicks you out.

Hosting: The chalet was hosted by Ski France and their fantastic ambassador Lisa was a credit to the company; professional, flexible and with a great sense of humour, she effortlessly conversed with our group whilst preparing excellent evening meals and cakes, giving good advice on locations of interest and going the extra mile by collecting goods on our behalf when out on her daily errands. Of particular note was the quality/quantity of the breakfast, with a full cooked breakfast available every day, not simply a cold selection with one or two hot options. Lisa even made sandwiches out of the breakfast items for those who could not face breakfast before the coach trip back to the airport. Lisa was keen to interact with the group, but was not intrusive.

No company is perfect and Ski France is the same. We were disappointed that we were not offered a day or two ski guiding at least once by our representative in resort. The journey up and down the mountain via a locally sourced taxi firm was more hair-raising and nausea-inducing for some of the group than the week of skiing, and we had to wait for the (on-time) arrival of another flight before our coach journey could commence

We’d stay at Dauphinelle again, and we’d love to have Lisa as our host again, Ski France could use a little bit more polish to make them perfect but it could not take the shine off an excellent holiday. Bravo!

Room Tip: There are 2 double rooms, the remainder are twin, the noise does carry if you are closer to the loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Recently got back from a weeks stay at Chalet Altitude in Val Thorens and i must say it was one of the best holidays i've had! ski conditions were good, bars on and off the slopes were good and we were lucky enough to share the appartment with 10 others who all got like we'd known each other for years. Our Chalet host Matt not only prepared breakfast everyday but he made the best cakes and evening meals and even joined us for a laugh in the evening. what a great time thanks ski france and a big thank you to Matt Emeny who will be missed...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here Feb/Mar 2012 and I have to say it was the perfect week away for all 6 of us.
The Chalet Alititude complex itself is the highest in the resort so the veiws from our balcony were unspoilt with perfect veiws of the valley.
Our appartment was on the very top floor and could not have been better presented and layed out with a large communal area downstairs and all the bedrooms upstairs of which half were ensuite.
Our chalet host 'Ollie' was a great host and his cooking skills were excellent especially his cakes which were made fresh everyday.
As for ski in/ski out well thats not quite the case but its only a short walk down the street 100m to the top of the main street where you can strap on and get down to the main lifts.
The town is great for a night out especially the cafe snesco and the underground bar and Malaysia is a pretty cool club if your out on a late one.
If you like your dance music then ride up the lift to La Folie Douce which kicks off at about 2:30 till 5:30 everyday with some dirty electro from the DJ on the balcony and fills up to the brim with crazy teenages dancing on tables everyday and spraying champagne.
Put it this way we are definatley going back next year.
Perfect Snow... Perfect Food and a top night out...oh and loads of shops and indoor activities if the weathers poor or you want a day off.
Nice one Ollie...!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyboy7Preston_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Altitude

Property: Residence Chalet Altitude
Address: Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Chalet Altitude 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Chalet Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing