We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staf but crummy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Chalet Altitude
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were 14 people charing a big apartment. The furniture fell apart, one shower was "leaking" and we had to close it. It was clean and ok in that perpective but not very durable furniture. The pool and sauna area was very, very very small and there were no locker room..! In the sauna it was room for 4-6 pers and the pool area was so noisy during the afternoons so it wasn´t bearable to be there. The staff though, were nice and serviceminded:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We booked this trip through Inghams & were under the impression that it was a ski in/ ski out residence. It isn't. Rooms are very small with little storage & the ski storage is very limited. There is a bus to the town centre but this is not particularly frequent. Overall, we were disappointed. The sauna also had no changing facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Spacious apartment supposed to be 4 star nothing more than 2 star plus. Kitchen not adequately furnished to cook meal. No mirrors in bedrooms, bathroom tiny and dirty, Shower very poor and not powerful. All in all in desperate need of a good refurb. Thought would be lovely as first week of ski season but NO. Cleaning of kitchen not included in price which you will have to do before leaving early morning. Constant leak under kitchen tap, advised reception nothing done.Reception not manned 24 hors or even all day. Keycards which are hopeless and constantly need recharging not good when there is no-one at reception to do this after a long day skiing!! then the sauna being COLD!! Very noisy early hours with neighbours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegetarianYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Having previously stayed in 4 star hotels and chalets I knew that this place wouldn't be the same. Me and my husband booked this holiday as our 2nd skiing holiday and so we were on a budget. We paid just over £900 each for a package with Inghams,which was for flights, transfers, lift passes and one lot of hired boots and skis, this also included half board and unlimited wine with dinner. So I really can't complain about it as it was value for money. The location isn't too bad, just a short walk down hill. What made this holiday for us was the excellent choice of runs. Val Thorens isn't the prettiest of resorts but the quality of skiing makes up for this. If your happy with basic home cooking and no frills then you won't be disappointed in staying in this chalet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LickleJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Well what a fabulous week we had staying in Dauphinelle 7-14 April. Our host Andy Coe is a star. Wonderful food, great company and an all round top man. The chalet was lovely, great views of the resort, easy to get to and from the pistes, and very comfortable. The ski France team looked after us from the minute we arrived and went the extra mile to ensure our group of 12 had everything we needed. I'd happily go to the same resort, same chalet, same tour operator and definitely be looked after by the same host. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wpj793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at chalet Dauphinelle in Feb 2012. Our chalet host Andy Coe made us exceptionally welcome, was an excellent cook, guide and all round champion of Val T.. so much so that by mid week, he was able to ski with us in his afternoons off and show us his favourite runs! The chalet itself was simple and traditionally charming in a chintzy but acceptable way- it's not luxurious but its comfortable, warm and homely, so I would recommend it. The showers are hot and powerful and the pool and sauna good for a nice dip to sore throbbing limbs.

The Fox next door was a great pub and good for apreski and live music- we encountered a pretty mental band with a lead singer with a raspy croaky voice, who did covers of all sorts of classics from led zep to guns n roses through to fleewood and even madonna. Odd but entertaining and loads of random jazz hands and whoops to keep you entertained.

On Andy's night off we went to a fab restaurant but cant remmeber the name for it (ask jack- the resort mgr -as its his favourite) which gets booked in advance and lived up to the hype. Its expensive, but delicious. its on sunset road or something. Name is Cow Bell or Dairy Maid or something.

A heads up: Its well worth investing in jagermeister and beer from the supermarket for the chalet as the pints can come in at around £5 a pint and shorts were closer to £7.50 a drink in Val T generally, so you might want to drink for a while at home and take advantage of happy hours for apres-ski.

One thing you dont want to miss is le folie douche- a bar on the slopes- which kicks off at around 2.30pm. There you will encounter bustling crowds hanging out in the sun, lots of partying on tables, people posing and supping champagne and generally everyone throwing themselves around to banging house music- its excellent!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtbilko_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at the Chalet Dauphinelle in mid March. The Chalet is in good order and located within a minutes walk from the piste and the Red Fox pub, the food was great and our Chalet host Matt Emeny looked after us and nothing was too much trouble for him. Big thank you to all at Ski France who located and returned my snowboard bag as it decided to stay on in France to party a little longer without me.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Altitude

Address: Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: £188 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Chalet Altitude 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Madame Vacance, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Chalet Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing