We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Chalet Altitude
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Chalet was perfect for what we needed. We were in Chalet Anais with 6 others, was lovely to be in a smaller chalet from previous years of a chalet for 14. We booked this through Inghams and they were a really good your operator, would book through them again, with thanks to George for being a great host. Downside the pool was cold, and sauna and pool were very small for how big the whole block is. Please note it's a black run which takes you back to the chalet at the end of the day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed in Chalet Alys at the start of the year, chalet was a little tired but was ok, the Reps made it great though. Our Chalet host was Liam, who was hilarious, great fun and an awesome cook, thanks to Alison, Matt, Steve and the others too.

Chalet was a short walk from the piste and you could pretty much snowboard to about 30 ft from the door.

Good things: Close to slopes, great reps (specially Liam, give him a pay rise)
Bad things: Hot water ran out in peak times, radiators in bedrooms didn't work

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAElij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What do you expect on a ski-ing holiday? 1) food - Chalet Host did miracles with the resources he was allowed. Quality OK but quantity lacking. 2) storage a) room - inadequate shelving in tiny twin room b) lockers - 2 were available for the 8 people in the 'chalet'. Extremely tight fit for 4pairs of skis, 4 snowboards and 8 pairs of boots and there was no evidence of the boot warmer panels working. 3) facilities - very tight, shower door would not fully open as obstructed by marble(?) top of cabinet on which the washbasin sat. This was probably my worst accommodation experience in the 3 valleys having stayed in La Tania, Courchevel 1550, 1650, 1850, Meribel, Reberty over the years. The saving grace of the holiday was good ski-ing conditions throughout the 3 Valleys during the week.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeD_LS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

2nd year in chalet altitude. Having stayed in many ski apts where us or our children have to make up beds in the living room every night - this is a joy. 2 spacious rooms, generous lounge with well stocked kitchen. Seperate toilet and bathroom. Large ski locker on ground floor. Staff are really friendly. Booked with crystal who are also great.
Can't understand the negative reviews here. Perhaps people not stayed in an average French ski apt. Altitude is really big in comparison

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
250 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed with another couple in March this year.Booked an apartment through Crystal sleeping 6 (one double bed and two bedrooms with 2 x single beds.) Would have been cramped if 6 of us as not enough comfy seats for all. It contained the majority of things needed for a ski trip/self catering option but is in need of a refurbishment. I think the fact it has 4 stars is due to pool and sauna which was clean and presentable. Only used it once as can get very busy.
There is a boot/locker room which is handy but it was very cold and the locker a bit damp. We took our boots to the room to keep warm.
The apartment could have been cleaned a bit more thoroughly, and no, I am not being fussy.
TV remote needed new batteries but this was remedied quickly and everyone we dealt with were very helpful and polite. Reception is in the building next door but really not a problem.
There is a small supermarket just across the road, pretty well stocked with frozen and fresh foods, bread etc.
I would compliment our Crystal rep John who visited several times and was very helpful.
The apartments are in the Les Balcones area of the Val Thorens village. This is the highest point so it is quite a walk down and UP, especially in ski boots. There is a shuttle bus which runs every 20 minutes and does a loop so several stopping points. Useful for the evening walk back up the hill.
We were in the Crocus room and it doesn`t get much sun. There were no sun loungers or similar to sit on balcony.

Room Tip: Not noisy at the time we were there at all. No sun on the balcony of the Crocus room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We were a group of 4 who stayed in an apartment with 3 bedrooms - 1 person to 2 rooms and a couple. We arrived late in the evening due to traffic en route to Val Thorens but as we rang ahead, we didnt have any issues getting into our apartment as we were given key by the staff in the adjoining bar. Parking is under the building which is great, but it is a very tight space and maneouvring the car isnt easy! Our apartment was really quiet, clean and warm and the cooking facilities were more than adequate. We cooked 4 huge evening meals after long days skiing and the facilities more than coped. The ski lockers down stairs are very convenient for storing ski gear and having a bar and ski equipment rental shop adjoining the facility is great. We didnt have any negative issues over the course of the week we stayed. We always had hot water, wifi worked perfectly and we all really enjoyed our stay. So much so, we are planning a return next year as skiing in the 3 valleys is incredible. The only negatives are that while you can ski home to the apartment, you cant ski out, but have to walk about 100 metres, which isnt far but is a bit of a pain in ski boots and ski gear.Also, the front desk is only open for a few hours a day which is a bit strange. Overall though, we had a great time in this lovely place and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were 14 people charing a big apartment. The furniture fell apart, one shower was "leaking" and we had to close it. It was clean and ok in that perpective but not very durable furniture. The pool and sauna area was very, very very small and there were no locker room..! In the sauna it was room for 4-6 pers and the pool area was so noisy during the afternoons so it wasn´t bearable to be there. The staff though, were nice and serviceminded:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Altitude

Property: Residence Chalet Altitude
Address: Quartier des Balcons, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Chalet Altitude 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Chalet Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing