We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 3 Vallees(Val Thorens)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Val Chaviere Hotel(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pashmina(Val Thorens)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
5
12
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
12
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbread serviceminute walkles balconschaletslopesski
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My friends and I spent a week skiing in Val Thorens and stayed at Chalet Val 2400. Overall our experience of Val Thorens and the accommodation was positive, however there were a number of issues that came up which I would not have expected from a 4* resort.

We stayed in an apartment which can accommodate 8-10 people. The place was significantly smaller than the pictures suggested. This was not a problem in itself but the size of the apartment did surprise us. There was no bedding for the sofa couch, and once we requested this it was sent up without pillow slips. This is something I would expect was checked before we checked in.

Upon arrival we found that the dishwasher was not working; again I expect that something like this would be checked before we checked in or after the previous people have left. Once we mentioned this to the reception someone was sent to fix it, however the next day it broke again. After that we were forced to operate the dishwasher in it's partially broken state. Considering the resort expects you to clean the apartment thoroughly before departing (or risk loosing your €500 deposit) I expect them to at least provide us with the means to do so.

When we booked we were told there would be a mid-week cleaning service; this never happened. On the first day we were there the sink in one of the bathrooms completely clogged up; it took 2 days for this to be addressed. There was also a limited number of wifi connections; after the first few people logged on the rest of the group was unable to do so as the 'connection was full'. In an apartment that accommodates 10 people we would have thought there would be at least 10 connections available.

In general we had a good stay at Chalet Val 2400, and the majority of the issues we highlighted were addressed by the hotel, but for the price you pay and the level of the resort, we expected a lot more from it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The staff here were really great, very friendly and happy to help with any queries. There were 8 of us in our apartment and it was perfectly big enough for us all. We had no noise from outside or other apartments in the building. The wi-fi internet was unreliable but usually worked ok in the mornings. It is located in Les Balcons area of Val Thorens which isn't quite as ski-in-ski-out as most of the resort. We had about a 200m walk with our skis in the morning to get onto the piste but you could ski back almost to the door in the afternoon (NB: to do this you had to go off piste and needed to be a reasonably proficient skier). I'd happily stay here again - it's not a luxury apartment but it was good value for us and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob_M_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

6 of us stayed in Chalet Val 2400 for a week at teh end of January. The apartment was quite roomy in comparison to other accommodation that we stayed in at the same resort last year. The bathrooms layout is very good and the kitchen and fridge are a good size which allowed us to cook and eat in most days.

The items that i thought were a little below standard were the fact that the hotel provided cleaning products for washing up but thye only provided two dishwasher tablets which meant we had to wash all items by hand for teh second half of teh week. Also only a small bottle of washinng up liquid is provided so when we were checking out we were practically just rinsing the cooking ware with water.

Also while the sheets are changed the pillows and blankets are not cleaned and there are not any pillow cases provided so you sleep on a pillow that has been used by others prior to your stay. This only struck me while we were cleaning for our departure but it is not a pleasant thought. Also on your payment receipt it states that cleaning services are included. This is not the case and you are expected to clean your appartment prior to departure and this is inspected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterb086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

8 of us stayed at Chalet Val 2400 in January 2012 - my husband and I, our toddler, my mum and 4 friends. Having booked early (we booked direct with the owners), we got a good deal that included lift passes so the holiday worked out relatively cheap.

We'd stayed at Chalet Altitude in Les Arcs previously so we knew what level of 'luxury' to expect - the accommodation is fairly basic but has everything you need (although if you were self-catering you'd probably want to bring some decent knives!!) In fact our apartment in VT was really nice: light living area (slightly weird layout with a pillar in the middle, but we managed!), 4 bathrooms, one of which seemed to have been newly decorated, big table, space to store ski boots, jackets etc (as well as the ski locker downstairs for skis), 2 really good sized double bedrooms and 2 small twin rooms. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor and I didn't notice any noise from the pub below.

The swimming pool in Chalets Altitude, just a quick dash through the car park, is lovely and was much enjoyed by toddler every morning (when it was completely empty). Apparently the sauna was good too.

One of the things that made this trip so pleasant, at least for my family, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the Chalet Val staff. We'd traveled overnight on the Eurostar so arrived at 8am. My mum and toddler were in our apartment by the time my husband and I had got back from the ski hire shop (we'd been told by the bookings team that we wouldn't be able to get in before 5pm). They provided a high chair, a cot made up with sheets and blankets and when the TV stopped working the maintenance man was on the case straight away, eventually bringing us a new one when 3 different people couldn't work out how to fix it! All the staff were so friendly, playing games with toddler when he was in reception and letting him play with their walkie talkies.

We had catering by Matt from SkiFrance, who brought us breakfast, baked a cake every day for our lunch/tea and made some amazing evening meals - a feat made even more impressive when you saw the size of the kitchen he had to work in. Absolutely minute!! I wouldn't like to try self-catering... Matt was also really friendly and super helpful. An excellent host :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliKatt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here over Christmas 2011. 8 adults, 2 children and a baby. We thought it was vastly overpriced and certainly not luxury. It was listed as 10 to 12 person. Although the dining table was large enough, the sitting area was very small. There was in fact only enough soft seating for 6 people, the kitchen area was tiny, poorly equipped, and allowed only one person in it at a time. The wifi was very unreliable and I only managed to connect 3 times during the week. It was a a few hundred metres walk to the piste and skiing back was certainly not for beginners. The worst part of all was when, on the night we arrived, a radiator in one of the bedrooms burst spraying water all over the room. It was replaced 3 days later and we were presented with a bill for 170 euros. They said it was our fault as we had opened a window!! Fortunately, out booking agent sorted it out for us. We have been skiing in the 3 valleys for several years and this has been our worst holiday there. We shall not stay at Chalet Val 2400 again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gibandgub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews