We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, basically cleaned by old visitors rather than by staff, glorified hostel hotel but did the job for a uni ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence L'Altineige
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small room, basically cleaned by old visitors rather than by staff, glorified hostel hotel but did the job for a uni ski trip”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The room for 5 people was tiny!

Luckily we hardly spent longer than a couple hours eating dinner, sleeping and eating breakfast. As you are made to clean the place by yourself,most dishes were dirty this could have been because our dishwasher was broken. Our coffee pot was missing as well.

The staff were efficient with our problems like one of the doors being broken. However the bath leaked when we used the shower, which made a huge puddle in proportion to the size of the room.

The location is great, near club Malaysia, baromix and Carrefour supermarket. You can also climb up (when there's meters of snow) onto the slopes from the locker room.

It's a cheap hotel, not cheap and cheerful. It's a shame the staff do not put any kind of extra effort to make the rooms less grim but you get what you paid for. Cheap for a reason and not a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanaco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    14
    32
    63
See reviews for
45
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It's a really cheap residence with a lot of young people. Don't expect something fancy! The room was very small. We were on holiday as a couple but we booked an app for 5 persons and it was very small! It was dirty and old. The bathroom was very small and the shower was very low. The location was very good, close to the town and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed at L`Atineige March 2011 - on the third floor positioned right next to the exit/entrance door out to the central area of the town/slopes, which is great for getting out on to the slopes but in the evening the hotell staff disappear and the noise starts at 8.00 and continus until the 4.00 when the last of the drunks return from the bars. The accomodation i can only describe as hostel like - not dirty but also not clean...! the main problem is the noise - the corridors are hard surfaced and echo every sound, doors slamming, shouting, sing etc. If you have a choice of another place to stay ... my advice would be take it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolene096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Centrally located block of apartments linked to a shopping centre by a footbridge.

Ski to and from back door.

Next to the Bus station.

Well worn basic accommodation the bath we had was half size.

Small box rooms with paper thin walls in an extremely noisy part of town.

If you need sleep stay away.

Local WIFI is extremely slow just about ok for Facebook & email

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

very basic en noisy. We slept two hours a night because of the noise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We booked a last minute cheap deal but when we got to hotel i could see why !!!!! Very small and basic but overal was central to everything !!!! If you want 5star this is not the place ! but if you want a cheap deal for skiing then its not bad !! Im glad i didnt pay full price for it !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Read the reviews here prior to travelling to VT and spending a week in the Altineige for a week's skiing. I was prepared for the odd problems but aware that often complaints are recorded whilst good experiences are not.
We were group of five (38 -58 years) so hoping for peace and quiet.

Overall we were very pleasantly surprised. Mega-queues and crush for the lifts late on Saturday afternoon with 500+ people going for their apartments in only two small lifts (more later). But an hour or two later all was peaceful. And remained so for the rest of the week. Heard nothing untoward and had a peaceful stay. We were on the 6th floor in a split-level apartment (610) with a balcony on two sides. The views were spectacular across to the mountains on the far side of the valley and a crystal-clear sunset each day! One bedroom downstairs and three of us on a Mezzanine level. The decoration and equipping with crockery, cutlery, glasses, cooking utensils and pots/pans, microwave, fridge, cooking hobs, bedding, furniture was faultless. No complaints, indeed we all were very impressed and would happily stay there again. There was a defective TV in place when we arrived (not that we wanted a TV and it would be something one would hire from the place providing bedding). The TV was removed during our second day whilst we were out skiing.

The Alimentation downstairs next door was dead handy and with a pretty good range of stuff. Reserve a cooked chicken in the morning if you want one but they're pricey - 9 Euros - but tasty. A ski-run is just behind the hotel and so ski-out is just 10m from the rear door of the Ski Locker Room and it's possible to ski right into the rear entrance porch - now that's what I call handy. Plus, of course, the Altineige is right in the middle of VT but still virtually no noise from outside revellers - or from any inside either.

As for the lifts - DIRE!!! On several days one or other seemed to be defective/under repair, with a mind of their own, etc. However this only seemed to be a minor issue, just wait a minute or two more. It was funny when one lift load of Swedes re-appeared about four times as they went up and down two or three floors and back to reception. Let's hope they get them fixed properly.

We were able to park (temporarily) right outside the front door to unload/load up so that was handy. Never noticed any graffiti and the general standard of decoration seemd fine.. Reception was helpful and courteous. Everything in the room functioned well although the toilet cistern made a heck of a racket when refilling so sneaky pees at night were out of the question "WE CAN HEAR YOU!".

Overall we were very happy with our stay and can recommend it based on our experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craghopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#18 of 29 in Val Thorens
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence L'Altineige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence L'Altineige

Property: Residence L'Altineige
Address: Place des Arolles, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence L'Altineige 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence L'Altineige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Domaines Du Soleil l`Altineige Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing