We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a warm & friendly family run Hotel, nothing was to much trouble. First class food, with a good choice of desserts. Nice open fire in the bar which acts as a good meeting point for all. Rooms are not large but comfortable with TV & WiFi. We have stayed in Val Thorens for the last ten years "Why have we not stayed here before"? we will be back! A big thank you to the the SHERPA staff

Room Tip: If you book though a UK tour operator it is with paying the extra few pounds for the room up grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here as a group of 5 in January/February 2012. The food was fantastic. Considering this is rated a 3 star, the food was more 4 star quality. The dessert table really is something amazing; a choice of about 20 desserts!

The hotel is at the top of the resort with easy skiing back to the boot room. It is about 50m from the bars, but you never hear them. The rooms are comfortable and could do with a bit of updating, but the beds are great and the rooms nice and toasty.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a south facing balcony and a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for a week in January - the hotel is beautiful so cozy and it's spotless!
The staff are always happy to help, we stayed half board and so glad we did the food was amazing! The desert table was yummy!! :-)
The rooms were nice and cozy and always warm, the room its self was a little on the small side but like most people have said on here a room is a room and as long as its clean and comfy I don't think anyone can grumble!
We went in the spa every day after been out its well worth it! So nice to relax after a day on the slopes!
We stayed in the bar area at night and had a lovely atmosphere and big log fire :-)
Enjoyed the whole holiday!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone! :-)
The snow was out of this world!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheffield_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Three of us stayed in a standard room. Beds comfy, bathroom good and all clean.Room a little tight when we all stood up but honestly how much time do you spend there. Restaurant
good, especially the desert table. Staff friendly. Lounge bar nice to relax in after a hard day on the piste but really the owner needs to do something about the price of a beer! (7euro a pint).

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berttidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here mid January 2012 for a week's skiing with Crystal Finest.

First impressions were that hotel was in a good position, close to bars/supermarkets etc but far enough away to be quiet.

Hotel bar/lounge/restaurant all very nice and comfortable.

Was a bit disappointed with the bedroom - we had upgraded to a room with a balcony but it was very average. My husband and I both slept terribly the whole week. Bathroom perfectly adequate though with bath and shower. If we went again we would definitely upgrade again to a superior room/suite.

Food in the restaurant was excellent.

Hotel is ski in/out which was good. Just mind the piles of dog muck on the run down to town - yuck !

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spent a delightful week at the Sherpa Hotel, and would certainly return. The staff were charming and deserved more than their three stars. The food was very good in the evenings, and beautifully served, with great variety during the week, including raclette and fondue. However service was slow if you went into dinner later than 7.30 ish. Breakfast was a bit disappointing for me as there was no porridge (yes I know - but I'm English and it's the best ski breakfast there is !) and little fruit but the others in my party were quite happy. The bar and lounge area was delightful, with roaring fire and sun streaming in during the afternoon. Wonderful place to stop for refreshment after skiing, and good pre-dinner too. I didn't use the sauna but those who did said it was good. Rooms were fairly basic, but OK, and there was plenty of hot water.
The ski in-ski out was great - just a small slope up to the track that connected to the piste. And yes, with the altitude you were puffed by the time you got there. But skiing back right to the door was wonderful. If you were a total beginner you would be better in one of the hotels right by the nursery slope, but for anyone else the location was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Spent the week before christmas 2011 in VT as we were looking for decent snow and we got it in abundance. Changed from b&b to halfboard at the Sherpa after sampling the excellent food. Very comfortable bar/lounge and my teenage daughters loved the sauna/spa area. The hotel was as good as described on the website, if not better, a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: £135 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing