We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in Val Thorens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Val Thorens”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Sherpa is a very nice hotel in Val Thorens. The rooms are on the small side, the beds are a bit hard, the breakfasts are ok but not very exciting.

But: the atmosphere is very homey, the staff is very nice and helpful, you really feel at home the lounge and bar, you can ski all the way back to the hotel and on the way out you have to walk some 50-100 meters to get to the slopes leading to the lifts.

We chose the Sherpa because we had heard from friends about the fantastic dinners included in the half-board option. A five-couse dinner every night of very high quality including a very good cheese board and a dessert table alone worth the trip. The staff can get a bit busy during rush hour resulting in long waiting times between courses but they were still very nice and attentive.

This is one of the best places we have stayed at during our ski trips the last 20 years. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    135
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
145
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I booked this hotel based on the excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor and was delighted with our experience. This is a long review, so I’ve split it into sections for readability…

Hotel location and facilities:

Le Sherpa is situated at the high end of Val Thorens – quite a schlep from the bus station, but close to shops and a good supermarket, and far enough away from any noisy nightlife scene to give it an air of seclusion and tranquility. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate and cosy – the restaurant, bar and lounge areas are nicely decorated and comfortable, and even when the place is full it doesn’t feel crowded. The sauna / jacuzzi area is fine – the sauna is small but efficient, but the jacuzzi isn’t great; only lukewarm and not full enough to allow for a restorative soak. The skiroom is perfectly adequate, contrary to previous reviews that it’s small and cramped (it isn’t). Access to the slopes is really easy – just a 20m walk to the ridge just behind the property and bam – you’re on snow. At the end of the day you can ski straight down the same slope into the back door.

Rooms:

Based on suggestions here we booked a superior room, and found it to be excellent. It’s true that the rooms aren’t huge, but there are big enough and plenty functional with enough storage and wardrobes. Our bathroom was a good size with a big bath and great shower, and the small balcony was good for chilling beer and having the occasional look outside – but it isn’t built for sitting out on. Our room was also exceptionally clean and nicely appointed, and the daily housekeeping is really thorough.

Food and beverage:

Breakfasts are fairly basic but do have all the necessary items for sustenance, including decent brewed coffee, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, cheese and of course excellent bread!

However it’s the evening meals that are the real highlight – and the highlight of the highlight is the extraordinary dessert table (see photos). This would rival a dessert buffet at the Grand Hyatt for variety and quality; everything we tried was perfectly created and delicious. The cheese trolley was also unexpectedly awesome – a wide variety of classic and local cheeses which are fabulous. Cheese is available every night, but the dessert extravaganza is only on offer on alternate nights when the ala carte 5 course dinners are on. On other nights we had a Raclette theme (excellent if you love oozing cheese and lots of meat), and a ‘Chinese Fondue’ which was much less exciting; this involved boiling your own slices of meat and fish in a watery broth of noodles, which – novelty value aside – was the lowlight of the dinner experiences.

A good selection of wines at different price points are available, and you can drink well for a reasonable (relatively speaking) price. And the bar prices are O.K too – slightly lower than those on the mountain and on par with local bars. Having said that I found the price of booze to be generally high across the resort – and with all the popular French champagnes available in the supermarket for around 30 Euro, and beer for 1 Euro a bottle we did much more room drinking than restaurant drinking.

Service:

The general level of service in the hotel is high. We experienced a particularly excellent episode when, on the evening of the day we arrived, my friend (staying in another hotel much lower down the resort) asked the front desk to book him a cab to take all his bags down there. Of course there were no cabs available, but the manageress offered to drive him down there herself, and then steadfastly refused any money when he tried to give her 20 Euro for her trouble. This was just brilliant.

Throughout the hotel the staff is lovely, and always say hello and good morning. The restaurant staff are great too – it’s true that when the restaurant is full they struggle to cope and often forget things, but this is a minor niggle. We wanted our friends to join us for the final night’s dinner and were graciously allowed to invite them for a small surcharge - which we really appreciated.

The other excellent thing is that, having arrived early morning on the Eurostar we were at the hotel around 7am – way too early for check in. However they have a great system where you can leave your bags in the large side lounge off the bar, get changed into your ski gear and then return at the end of the day to check in. Same thing happens in reverse when you leave on the Saturday night – check out, leave stuff, return, change, chill and leave when you’re ready.

I’m planning a return visit to VT next March (the skiing is properly awesome) and am definitely staying here. It really is magnificent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Best ski hotel we've stayed in. Rooms ok, bar area lovely, food excellent, location great. Tiny complaint is that it was so hot in the hotel. But really fab and staff all lovely and dessert buffet just awesome.

Room Tip: We were in 311 with great view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have been back again and again to this charming and cozy ski-in, ski-out hotel with a helpful and friendly staff. The food (deemed a 5 star hotel) is excellent, with very generous helpings. The hotel is well located with a great view. When the weather permits, a nice lunch, or drinks on the deck is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the slopes or rooms on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE-DAUVOIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I travel a lot and let me tell you that this hotel is THE PLACE TO BE!!!

The rooms are clean, the food is outstanding and the atmosphere is relaxed and very charming. The lounge and bar area with its central fire place provides a cozy relaxed area to unwind after a day skiing. The view over the station and valley is breathless.

The staff is extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble was for them. They are always willing to assist us.

We also spent New Year’s Eve there and the atmosphere was just crazy, the staff even did a choreography for us. I lost my mobile phone and everybody (not only the staff but also the other customers) helped me to find it. I could not believe it!

I can only recommend you this hotel. It really felt like home and we will definitively come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxemburg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have been to Val Thorens 16 times and have stayed at various hotels and self catering units. This is by far the best hotel I have ever used in Val Thorens. The family who owns the hotel takes a "hands on" approach and it shows. The rooms are clean, the dinners are outstanding, the atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are extremely helpful. The lounge and bar area with it's central fire place provides a cozy relaxed place to unwind after a days skiing. The only negatives for this hotel were that 1. the wifi in the rooms is very slow and not very reliable and 2. during dinner, the waiters would sometimes be so busy that they would forget to tend your table. Consequently time between courses would be excessive (once 30 minutes after we had already finished our course). Aside from these small problems this hotel is now my hotel of choice in Val Thorens. I will definitely be using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pleasant, cosy hotel with friendly staff. Nice lounging area. Good food. Wifi up until the top floor. Not very near the piste, but quiet because of that. Ideal for couples. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten-Celine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Property: Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing