We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quick break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very friendly staff throughout hotel. Food started very good but went down hill a little towards end of stay. Please police Dessert table as some greedy guests ate it all before later guests got there. Going back for a third time on occasions. Over all the Hotel is very pleasant and warm but the rooms are a little tired and shabby. High resort town so be warned can be hard to breath for some.
Have skied for 30 years in both Europe a little and USA a lot and this resort and hotel rates in the lower half.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fleetweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just a few comments about our recent trip 18th - 25th of Jan.

The good:

- Cosy bar and friendly bar staff
- Welcome drink and nibbles
- good variety of drinks especially local wine
- Good food! 5 course meal, often local specialities
- Personally allocated ski locker with boot dryer
- Room cleaned nicely every day, friendly cleaner
- comfy bed

The bad:

- we booked a superior room, on arrival it seemed small and on Le Sherpa website it is stated all superior rooms are situated on the 3-4th floors. Ours was on the 1st. We questioned this which seemed to offend the reception staff who barely spoke to us again. The room was small, had a loose tap in the bathroom, ashtray with cigarets in it on the balcony from previous guests, faulty plug socket, bed side light not working.

- drinks are paid for by charging to the room, which from experience is very standard practice. We usually request a print of our running total periodically to make sure we are within our budget, this seemed to offend the reception staff further. We only asked twice during our stay and we're made to feel like we had committed a crime! This has never been a problem at any other hotel we have stayed in.

- on checkout we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay or wished a Bon voyage! Despite spending a tidy sum in the bar and restaurant and always being polite to staff.

- this was not exclusive to us, as they did not seem bothered with other guests checking out at the same time.

- dodgy Chinese fondue, avoid if you can and opt to have the cheese fondue instead

- not quite ski out, 4 min walk up a slope but not really a problem.

On the whole I had a good time in Val Thorens, the food at Le Sherpa was good, the pudding table was exquisite! But the Hotel Management and reception staff didn't seem fussed that we had decided to stay with them and did not handle our small requests at all well. We were made to feel unwelcome and for that reason I will not be returning.

We did wander up and look at the Koi-I noi hotel just up the road, who were very friendly and took time to show us round. I have to say the facilities are far superior, I know where my money will be going next year.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Magic_Carpet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Regular skiers will be aware of the problem: great holiday but where will we go next year? It might be the hotel left something to be desired or the hour long commute to the slopes or the limited skiing. This was how it was until about 20-25 years ago when a business friend sympathised and introduced me to his group and Le Sherpa Hotel in Val Thorens. They had done the same every year but then found Le Sherpa. We have never looked back. Eurostar to Moutiers, connection to Val Thorens and Le Sherpa ski-in ski-out hotel, probably the highest family run hotel in the three valleys. Everything you could possibly want from a hotel plus direct and easy access to the Three Valleys with the added benefit that VT is high enough to always offer good skiing even when it's raining in Meribel (as it has done some years). If you want a warm welcome, truly excellent cuisine, and a cosy hotel to come back to after a hard days skiing, try Le Sherpa Hotel in Val Thorens. Our dates: 11th-18th Jan 2014. Ian W

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have a balcony with reasonable or excellent views, some have bunks for ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just returned from Le Sherpa visiting 10-18th January 2014. Having been skiing for about 15 years we would like to say that this is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in.

Val Thorens always delivers but Le Sherpa made it special, excellent food (we normally eat out on a few occasions even whilst staying half board - to check out the local restaurants), but did not feel the need to on this holiday; the 5 course meals were excellent, and the huge dessert buffet to finish was more than filling!!!!

Staff were great, and nothing was too much trouble, great bar area, log fires etc, and welcoming bar staff. The boot/ski room was adequate but a little small, as was our room, but we didn't upgrade to a superior room (they are larger?) as all rooms had been booked in advance. Still, the room was warm and comfortable, hot water in abundance and powerful showers which we like!

There was a large group of around 20 older people booked in at the same time as us, and it transpired that they had been coming to Le Sherpa every year for about the past 25 years !! I guess this is testament to feel that Le Sherpa gives, a proper traditional style hotel.

Not quite ski out, (a 5 min walk max to the slope and quick ski down to the Plein Sud lift (but it was never a problem), I would recommend this hotel to others without hesitation! Well done Le Sherpa!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We returned again to the Hotel Le Sherpa, very relaxed, friendly hotel in the heart of Val Thorens, Ski in Ski out, close to all facilities in VT, but quiet. Hotel facilities are great with spa, excellent ski lockers, very comfortable rooms, great food. Ideal place to take a family ski holiday, look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Decided to see the New Year in over in VT. The excellent Ski Solutions took our requirements and booked us a suite at La Sherpa. What an excellent hotel. The good food, the friendly and helpful staff and the ambience in the hotel are a credit to the owner. Sometimes when you are catered for in a hotel you feel you might be missing out on some of the local delicacies that are offered by local eateries but there is no need to worry at La Sherpa. Every night there is a locally inspired dish and it is all cooked to the highest standard.

The New Years Eve Party was excellent. I lost count of the number of courses that were served, but the mass 'pea shooter' battle that ensued throughout the dinning room will be remembered by me, my wife and two sons (and the others guests) for a long time to come.

Can't recommend this hotel enough. If you select to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The suites are ideal if your children are young. Our children are teenagers and it might have been b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in Le Sherpa for a week over Christmas 2013. The hotel was located close to the slopes. It is certainly a ski in location! In order to access the slopes in the morning you need to take a quick trek up a snowy track. The hotel was full of very friendly staff. It is a relatively quiet location with a very cosy lounge area. Like everywhere in Val Thorens the drinks are very expensive (€7.50 for a large beer). Our food was fantastic for the week although it was a bit too rich and too much at times. The main disappointment was that our room was absolutely TINY! We didn't have enough space to store our cases so were constantly tripping over them and there was very limited space to put our clothes away. I would recommend this hotel for a couple or family going away for a good ski location and quiet getaway with good food. It is in close proximity to the main bars and shops in the centre too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cambodiaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: £178 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing