We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel from hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just come back from staying at this hotel for one week(thankfully )and I must say that this is not for family .its full of young drunks . We had our room door kicked in by a drunken French lad and strolled in.
The apartments are dirty and run down and we complained and got moved across to the block (mucha ) reburished . It was like another hotel. Much better but it was still noisy .We got woken up at 5,30 by loud music and people singing ,shouting,screaming ,
The only positive think I could say about the hotel is the location.,

Room Tip: Mucha apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    104
    153
    129
    197
See reviews for
343
65
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I booked here and then read reviews after which got me very worried

I though it was very nice when got there and was decent rooms, location was fantastic as well

Nice bars around area as well didn't rate the bar in Hoyle though

Shop in hotel was handy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotteblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

France always offers small apartments, but we were so relieved that we booked the 5 person apartment with only 3 persons. The apartment was smelly, old and degraded. Poor inventory, mould (fungus) on the ceiling, paint coming of the doors. So is you ask my advice, only go there if you don't care about the apartment being worn down, go with a few guys and pay almost nothing.

Because it does offer you a spot near the piste and a supermarket and skishop in the building.

Advice to the owner (mr Pierre en Vacance) renovate the whole building, because this is a waste of such a great spot.

Room Tip: IF you stil decide to book, Book a room for 6 if you are with 3 ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glennburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

The reviews do not do Temples du Soleil justice - the apartments in the recently renovated section (Machu-Pichu) are stylish, well-thought out and clean, albeit relatively small if you want to fit 4-5 people.

It looks like the bad reviews are for the older sections of the residence (Tikal, Cuzco), where they seem to put the younger party groups.

My advice is to book a room in Machu or Pichu. This section is fine, and the location of Temples du Soleil could not be better - it literally is ski-in, ski-out!

In addition, with a decent restaurant on-site, a mini-market, a good bar, and a shop to rent your ski gear, it is well set up.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in a great skiing resort, and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonanMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

After reading a lot of negative reviews on here, I was very pleasantly surprised by my room. It looked and smelt clean (although the toilet could have done with a little bleach). The kitchen was well stocked and 5 dishwasher tablets were provided, as well as cloths to clean with and a tea-towel. The rooms were a little small but that is kind of expected when you go anywhere with 5 people. Location was fantastic, literally just down the stairs and you are on the slopes! Supermarket located within the hotel and the Yeti bar is pretty decent if you go with friends. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The lifts were frustratingly slow... but there are stairs! This is not the place I'd go with my little brother and sister, but was perfect for groups without kids!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

7 of us stayed in a "7 person" apartment in the second weeks of January - the apartment was very small and cramped but manageable and warm so couldn't really complain except for there only being 6 chairs for the table. Before going I had read a few reviews about the place so wasn't expecting much - the review which mentioned the used condoms seemed a little unlikely, but when we pulled the bed out from under the sofa, there one was. With regards staff, they didn't seem rude, just very understaffed so waiting times at check in and check out were considerable. On the plus side, the location is ideal if you're just coming to ski and despite the cramped surroundings, the kitchen is relatively well equipped. 2 stars is fair.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a fantstic week in Val Thorens over New Year 2012/13. The apartment itself was just ok-medium sized (for 4 of us in a 5 berth) and very basic-what you would expect really for a 2 star accommodation. It had clean bedding, clean towels and was fantastic access for the slopes-ski in and ski out with a locker ; easily accessible, on the ground floor.
It's not a 'palace' so don't expect that but for a relatively inexpensive family holiday, close to slopes, warm room, hot water, supermarket and family retaurant; with easy access to bars - it fits the bill exactly! A basic accommodation for a fab holiday!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room-you don't want to be in Nazca block really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil
Address: Rue du Soleil | Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil 2*
Number of rooms: 470
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Temples Du Soleil Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing