We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed in a four bed apartment on J floor in "Cuzco" at TDS as part of a package trip with our university's snow sports society, organised by Off the Piste. We didn't get a say in our accommodation and so after reading the reviews on here, I was quite worried! However, the room was okay when price and location are considered; we paid around £400 for transport, ski pass and accommodation for the week, and it really was ski in ski out accommodation just minutes from all major ski lifts and gondolas. The room was clean (maybe we were lucky?) but not overly spacious and did smell very stale despite our best attempts to air it out. Ventilation was poor and as a consequence every time one of us showered or cooked the whole apartment became foggy and we had to open a door onto the balcony. What's more, the walls were very thin so noise was an issue at night, particularly because this place attracts a lot of teenagers and 20 somethings.

We're all students so although the hotel was very basic and in need of renovation, it was fine for us. The French Alps are an expensive location to ski so you can't be surprised of the conditions in such low cost accommodation. However, I will say that this is NOT A FAMILY FRIEND HOTEL; it is far too noisy and grimy to bring children to. But if you're a student or a young person on a tight budget, don't expect too much and you'll be fine. Besides, you should be on the slopes all day, not in your room!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank falkytowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    106
    153
    130
    197
See reviews for
344
66
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol. England.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

and despite other peoples opinions I didn't find it was that cheap either! We arrived to be given the key to our room, opened our room door to be met with the choking smell of stale smoke, urine, and old socks, the beds in the room were all damp and the room was simply shocking with badly stained pillows etc. We paid £990 between 3 of us for a 4 night stay here and I do not consider that good value considering its self catering and the shocking state of the place, We complained about the room and were eventually given 4 keys to try and find an acceptable replacement room.
All the rooms were pretty much the same but we did manage to find one that didn't have the same stench as our original room!
I thank God we didn't attempt to put 5 adults in this room as the hotel claimed was possible, I cant imagine we would have remained friends for too long! It was too small for 3 never mind 5 adults.
The showers did have plenty of hot water as suggested but you needed to hold the shower head up yourself and that was common to all 5 rooms we looked in.
The manager and reception staff tried their very best to help but knew it was a losing battle.
At the end of the day we came here on a lads short ski break and I thoroughly enjoyed everything Val Thorens had to offer, great restaurants, great skiing area, some decent pubs and above all a great location. The noise didn't really bother me and we probably helped to contribute to it a bit, but out of 40 plus skiing trips this is without doubt the worst accommodation I have stayed in, (bizarrely the second worst was in Les Menuires down the road!)
This is not a family friendly place to stay and was quite rowdy at night but some will accept these things when considered with the location.

I'm sorry not for me, I would rather have a little walk from somewhere and you're never far from a slope in Val Thorens..

Room Tip: Go to another accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redrobbo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

These apartments are typical of self catering accommodation across the French Alps, which I have sampled in various formats over the years and survived quite well :-)

Its true that it is a very tired old building, with a dark, gloomy interior and horrible corridors/lift areas, but beyond that it is home to cheap, functional apartments which do the job for a ski holiday on a budget. I was happy I got what I paid for.

Positives - hot showers, warm bedrooms, sufficient kitchen equipment, full size fridge, WIFI (paid for, but decent connection), ski in and out, awesome piste/ski lift access - 1 minute to nearest chair lift, bath & hand towels provided, balcony with wonderful views of the resort, supermarket inside the building, ski school office inside the building, comfy bed, sufficient storage for ski gear & drying rack, ski locker, 2 keys per apartment, spacious when all the fold-out beds are pulled out - still room to walk about in the night, and overall it is CHEAP!!! We paid £330 per person which included flights and coach transfers, so the accommodation element really isn't much when you think about it.

Negatives - the public areas are awful. Dark, intimidating corridors with poor lighting and dirty carpets. Rubbish and cigarette ends are common in the ground floor of the Nazca section. Lifts are slow, but you don't need to use these in the morning for skiing so its not not a huge problem aside from check-in/out with luggage. Apartment WAS dirty on arrival - my friend and I are clean freaks so were quite happy to get stuck in and clean it ourselves (we had to hoover everywhere on arrival as there was a lot of hair and dust) and the dishwasher was full of the previous people's dirty dishes which we washed up, and we checked all the bedding before use for anything suspicious (all fine).

The cheap price attracts a young crowd, so do expect some drunken Scandinavian singing in the early hours, but bring ear plugs and you'll be fine (or join in).

Overall it was exactly what I expected it to be - cheap, a bit dodgy, but fine for my kind of skiing budget. Be realistic about what you're booking and you'll live to see another ski holiday next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLangstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

They aren't half bad, fairly basic but it's cheap and the best location in Val Thorens so you can't really complain.

The apartments are basic but you have everything you need. I was in a 1 bedroom apartment for 5 people, bunk beds, a single bed and two pull out beds. We'd a balcony for boards, ski room and we were ski in ski out. Close to shops and bars and rental shops.

There was WiFi in the reception area which you had to pay for.

If you're looking for cheap accommodation, with a great location you can't beat this spot.

Room Tip: Location is ski in ski out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionad314Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is a grim monstrosity, claustrophobic dark and filthy.

No smoke detector in the rooms even though they have what resembles a kitchen.

No smoke detector in any corridor and very poor signage for emergency exits.

Emergency lighting virtualy non existent, didn't see a fire extinguisher in the room.
The words "No Chance" spring to mind.

Stay there only if you are 18 and so drunk you don't care.

Needles to say I only lasted one night and checked in to another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After staying the "Nazca" block on floor "G" of this hotel for half term week, with my boyfriend and his 11 year old daughter, luckily they both enjoyed the week with little trouble. However for me, a dust allergy sufferer, I immediately felt the effects of the apartment, which was clearly unclean. I rapidly reached for the Benadryl and was taking this for the entire week as well as using nasal spray to try and ease the sneezing. I then set to cleaning the apartment myself to minimise the effects of my allergy. Alongside this obvious problem, we found all the pillows to have blood on them so had to complain to the reception about the cleanliness (or lack of) of the room and the fact that the pillows were soiled. On a good note, the hotel quickly brought us some brand new pillows and cleaned the carpets also. On the whole, we were expecting facilities to me minimal, which they were, but I would not personally stay here again until these apartments are refurbished. The major criticism I have for this apartment hotel is the fact that it impaired my skiing ability, made it impossible for me to sleep for the last two nights and that I have now come back from the holiday unwell. All in all, these apartments are in desperate need of some T.L.C and if, like me, you are sensitive to dusty environments then please think about trying another hotel or securing the most recently renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure to be in the most recently refurbished apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just come back from staying at this hotel for one week(thankfully )and I must say that this is not for family .its full of young drunks . We had our room door kicked in by a drunken French lad and strolled in.
The apartments are dirty and run down and we complained and got moved across to the block (mucha ) reburished . It was like another hotel. Much better but it was still noisy .We got woken up at 5,30 by loud music and people singing ,shouting,screaming ,
The only positive think I could say about the hotel is the location.,

Room Tip: Mucha apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Machu Pichu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil
Address: Rue du Soleil | Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil 2*
Number of rooms: 470
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Temples du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Temples Du Soleil Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing