We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Ceredigion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just returned having stayed on a half board basis, at Hotel Portillo. I cannot over emphasize how helpful the staff were serving consistently excellent cuisine throughout the week. As our flight was delayed, hence, we arrived very late on Saturday evening when the restaurant was closed but they freshly prepared a hot and delicious meal plus dessert for us. We have never experienced this service in 30 years! Breakfast was served downstairs providing a good selection of food - cold buffet. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean providing clean towels daily. Having stayed in Val Thorens on several occasions in the past, we chose to stay at this hotel on this occasion because of its excellent reputation for food and its position and were certainly not disappointed. In fact, our expectations were far surpassed. The ski boot room is very secure and comfortable. Nothing was too much for any member of staff - I was even offered assitance with my ski boots in the morning! Thank you all for a truly wonderful experience/holiday. We are looking forward to our return to Hotel Portillo next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanjoCeredigion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your great comment. It was a pleasure to have clients like you in the hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again as soon as possible. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    66
    28
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LED
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was at this hotel at NY holidays. Some rooms are located on minus floors.They gave me room on -2 floor, between restaurant and ski room. I can't sleep there almost at all, as big noise disturb me every night till 2 - 3 a.m. I have asked about room changes many time and nobody help me.
Be carefully in restaurant. Once they gave me bill for two glass of wine instead of one. Second time i have paid for drinks by cash, but they asked to pay me again during check out.
I have ordered a taxi to Airport and guy at the reception asked 390 EUR, but when i asked his colleague the price was 350 EUR. Finally i paid 350 EUR.
If you have choice try to avoid this place, as they interested only in your money and don't care about the quality of their service and cheat almost everywhere.

Room Tip: Never take room on minus floors - as there impossible to sleep due the noise from Restaurant, recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I am very pleased to be able to talk with you because when you came, you were not able to communicate in French or in English... By the way, it was difficult for us to understand your complains and be able to solve it.

You were in a room on -2 floor, but we do have 10 floors (5 floors up, ground floor and 4 minus floors), which means you were on 2nd floor from the road. Indeed, the entrance of the building is upper than the road... Moreover, you had a balcony with a South exposition and you were upgrated in a double room whereas you booked a single one. So do not say such things which let us know that you were underground!

Concerning the noise, the restaurant is on ground floor, and the ski locker in at floor -1. We are all very sorry if you had some noises in your room, but it could not be from the restaurant which were 2 floors up (and no complains for rooms at floor -1), and the ski room is supposed to be used only from 8:30am to 5pm.

For the taxi, we called several companies in order to find one available for you, and the prices are not made by us! Morever, you paid directly the driver, so it is very unfair to blame us for money we do not receive... We just let you know about services and prices.

For the restaurant, it is unusal for us that host in Half Broad pay their extras at restaurant. Normally, they sign the bill which is transferred on the total bill for the check out. I am really sorry for the inconvenient, and I hope you understand it was not made on purpose (bill of €3,90).

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as you should, and hope to see you soon to let you understand that services provided to our customers matter for us...

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel rather than the apartments, and were very pleasantly surprised after reading the Trip Advisor comments. The room was spacious, maybe a little dated, but comfortable and clean. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. The ski/boot room was absolutely fine, very warm, and taking the key back to reception was only a very minor irritation and not a big problem. However, the best part was the food in the restaurant. We were half board and whilst the menu was limited (two choices for each course each night), this was not a problem as every dish we had was excellent. They even prepared us something else at no extra charge when allergies made both main course choices a problem. Our only disappointment was the lack of breakfast on the morning of departure. We did leave at 4.30am but had been told that something would be available for us, which it wasn't. However, overall we would definitely recommend this hotel in Val Thorens.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Worst place I've ever been for skiing. Skis and boots are strictly forbidden in rooms and on the ground floor. It is ok but... there is no boots heaters so if your boots are wet you have to have to use them wet and cold until the end of your staying. One key for the room and for the ski-locker even for six persons, so you have to go back to the room or to the reception desk in your socks to leave the key. If you try to take your shoes to the room to use the electric dryer staff is shouting at you as you are a kid not a customer.
Additionally:
- No inventory list, bout they threaten you that you will have to pay for lost stuff. How would they know if anything is lost?
- No pricelist for lost/broken stuff... No comment
-If you get front rooms you can not sleep until 2-3 am because of people playing in the clubs/pubs and discos, and you are woken up at 7 because of trucks delivering food to the shops and restaurants.
- WIFI is available only near reception desk for 15 euros per week.
- staff pretend not to speak other languages than French.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Gérant at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for your post.

Ski equipment is stricly forbidden because it damages too much the apartments (if you prefer to get a dirty and damaged apartment you should indeed go to another place). This rule is easy and must be respected for the well-being of all. Each apartment gets a private ski locker, and WE DO HAVE A SKI SHOES HEATER.

We only provide one key by apartment because the key must stay at the reception desk for security. By the way, the first who come back after the ski day come to the reception to get the key. Quite easy...

Inventories of all our apartments are available at the reception desk. If it was not within the apartment, you should have come to see us and get one. Moreover, normally we ask a damage deposit of 600€ by apartment. You had 2, and we only ask you 1.000€ because of your credit card limit (instead of 1.200€). We were kind and understanding but it was not enough...

Concerning the outdoor noise, unfortunately, we cannot handle this. However, we preserve the quiet of the residence with a night watcher all night long.

WIFI access available only on ground flloor: you have a huge living room for this use, with comfortable sofas, panoramic view on the slopes, Plasma TV to watch sport games...

As you see, I speak English... as all my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I booked then checked TripAdvisor!!!! I was very concerned by the reviews.
But its all changed.

Pro's
Recently refurbished to a high standard. New owners. Service second to none.
Comfortable beds. Stylish apartment.
Great location, Ski out, Ski in within 20 metres then take the lift. Heated ski locker room no cold boots. Supermarket in the basement, Bread, Ski hire etc within a stones throw.

Con's
Deposit has to be cash not card. Which leaves you with 600 euro at the end of the holiday. They said this was going to change.
Val Thorens can be a bit noise but the Hotel/Apartments is in a quiet bit. Not the hotels fault if some idiot shouts at night outside.
Not enough seating for everyone at night (normal at skiing apartments)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinchallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We had a tour group organized by the manager or owner of this hotel, who took their money and never paid the company who supplied the services...nearly US$10,000. Buyers Beware.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaptCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We have been to Le Portillo for 3 years.For the amount of money it now charges Le Portillo is not looking like good value for money. Whilst some of the apartments have been refurbished (long overdue) in the past year some remain very shabby. We had an apartment for 8 that suffered from a substantial drainage leak that flooded the bathroom floor every time you took a shower. We asked on numerous occasions for it to be fixed but to no avail, the management were absolutely not interested (other than giving us a sponge to mop up the flood every day) and refused any reduction in the weeks rent other than perhaps a discount if we book again next year. There are other apartments in Val Thorens that offer better value and better service. Not impressed this year.

  • Liked — Close to ski slopes
  • Disliked — Expensive relative to quality of accomadation
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oasthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Property: Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Portillo Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing