We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed New Year 2014 for a week six family members one double room and 2 apartments.
Accommodation is old and tired with very dodgy electrics lights not working etc lack of hot water at peak times meant we had to wait for bath no showers. Repeatedly asked for room with shower to no avail I gave up after 3 days. Walls were grubby. Breakfast was very poor with a dreadful coffee machine and even worse bread, cold boiled eggs, and a toaster but no bread to fit in it! Chairs in breakfast room very noisy scraping floor, my sons apartment was underneath.Dinner was okay until New Year Gala Dinner for 6 of us which was dreadful,service was so poor we had to leave after 3 1/2 hours before the last course to attend Celebrations food was minimal drinks never came, we were starving very disappointing for New Years Eve and very expensive for little food. Apartments were very noisy from upstairs and street and basic for £2000 pw mattress protector was not clean very old and tired certainly not value for money. Heating system is extremely noisy waking you every time it comes on!
We gave up complaining so we could enjoy our expensive holiday! Would never stay here again it all needs up grading or charge accordingly have stayed in much better Val Thorens hotels.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
You cannot ask the same standing when you book an hotel*** room of 25m² and 2 studios standard for 4 persons each of 29m²... We heard that you asked a shower, and as you can see in our room description before booking, we do not have ANY room with shower, except Junior Suite which gets shower AND bath tub.
The 2 studios are definitely not underneath! At reception you must go down, but all these studios get a balcony facing slopes and South view, just like you were at the 8th floor from the road!
For New Year's dinner, a 9-courses-menu must take some time to be served, and the point is to still be in restaurant at midnight to enjoy the firework from the panoramic terrace. If you wanted to have a quick dinner, we also offered the choice to do not have dinner in our restaurant. A gastronomic menu is with small-portion. Too bad that you were not aware to appreciate our quality cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    66
    28
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hotel is generally nice, and if you do not have any other options available with your strict dates, you surely should be able to afford 300eur per night for two halfboard. Otherwise, if you are still 17 in your heart, choose something different.
Skiing in France always welcomed me with a certain freedom and flexibility in everything, but we found this hotel is very much pedantic and cumbersome. The only pleasure we've experienced is a nice ski-out, where you need to go to a ski-room, put your everything on there and then fly away from the separate door to join the fun at Val Thorens. All the rest in the hotel should cost slightly above 100eur. Rooms are tiny. Only French channels at TV. Wifi really works at the reception only. Breakfast is kinda continental and not typically French - croissants are replaced with buns. We took a "special offer" with half-board and the dinners were spectacled much better than the food was cooked.
Honestly, we were expecting something different from our skiiing week in Val Thorens.
You decide, but I think if I visit this hotel next time, it will be in my pleasant retirement time and just for fun and memory.

Room Tip: Try choosing a larger room facing the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I was hiring an apartment with 2 my friends for a week's skiing holiday in February. With our moderate requirements we generally liked the rooms (we bought 35m2 superior suit). We decided to get breakfasts from the hotel as well - the lady-in-charge was very helpful and pleasant, the food though not anyway sophisticated, but rather satisfactory for a morning refresh. Actually we almost didn't use the kitchen; just stored some stuff in the fridge and boiled water for tea.

The bad surprise lied in wait for our leave. The administration guy came down and told us the apartment was dirty and he would charge EUR 50 from our deposit. Taking into account we kept the apartment clean, washed all dishes, and the only place saving some trace of our presence was the bathroom, his claim just proved the general idea that whenever they took a deposit at check-in, they would take your money at check-out. The slippery surfaces in the bathroom can be cleaned in one move, but not when you neither have time nor cleaning sponge and liquids.

Taking into account they stored no cleaning tools in apartment at all, and we even had to buy the dish-washer tabs by ourselves, this is the worst check-out in my experience of staying in apartment. We had our bus leaving in 20 minutes, which gave no time to respond to all the "I've just been there and seen myself" and "You either clean yourself or pay" stuff the guy was telling.

As a conclusion, we did our best to be no-problem guests, we expected reasonable treatment in return, just like we got in all our previous stays. However, they wasted all the positive impression with that paltry grab of our money. Won't recommend the apartment to anyone, as it just seems that even if you keep the bathroom untouched they will still find a reason to charge you over the initial arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AArkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just returned having stayed on a half board basis, at Hotel Portillo. I cannot over emphasize how helpful the staff were serving consistently excellent cuisine throughout the week. As our flight was delayed, hence, we arrived very late on Saturday evening when the restaurant was closed but they freshly prepared a hot and delicious meal plus dessert for us. We have never experienced this service in 30 years! Breakfast was served downstairs providing a good selection of food - cold buffet. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean providing clean towels daily. Having stayed in Val Thorens on several occasions in the past, we chose to stay at this hotel on this occasion because of its excellent reputation for food and its position and were certainly not disappointed. In fact, our expectations were far surpassed. The ski boot room is very secure and comfortable. Nothing was too much for any member of staff - I was even offered assitance with my ski boots in the morning! Thank you all for a truly wonderful experience/holiday. We are looking forward to our return to Hotel Portillo next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanjoCeredigion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your great comment. It was a pleasure to have clients like you in the hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again as soon as possible. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LED
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was at this hotel at NY holidays. Some rooms are located on minus floors.They gave me room on -2 floor, between restaurant and ski room. I can't sleep there almost at all, as big noise disturb me every night till 2 - 3 a.m. I have asked about room changes many time and nobody help me.
Be carefully in restaurant. Once they gave me bill for two glass of wine instead of one. Second time i have paid for drinks by cash, but they asked to pay me again during check out.
I have ordered a taxi to Airport and guy at the reception asked 390 EUR, but when i asked his colleague the price was 350 EUR. Finally i paid 350 EUR.
If you have choice try to avoid this place, as they interested only in your money and don't care about the quality of their service and cheat almost everywhere.

Room Tip: Never take room on minus floors - as there impossible to sleep due the noise from Restaurant, recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I am very pleased to be able to talk with you because when you came, you were not able to communicate in French or in English... By the way, it was difficult for us to understand your complains and be able to solve it.

You were in a room on -2 floor, but we do have 10 floors (5 floors up, ground floor and 4 minus floors), which means you were on 2nd floor from the road. Indeed, the entrance of the building is upper than the road... Moreover, you had a balcony with a South exposition and you were upgrated in a double room whereas you booked a single one. So do not say such things which let us know that you were underground!

Concerning the noise, the restaurant is on ground floor, and the ski locker in at floor -1. We are all very sorry if you had some noises in your room, but it could not be from the restaurant which were 2 floors up (and no complains for rooms at floor -1), and the ski room is supposed to be used only from 8:30am to 5pm.

For the taxi, we called several companies in order to find one available for you, and the prices are not made by us! Morever, you paid directly the driver, so it is very unfair to blame us for money we do not receive... We just let you know about services and prices.

For the restaurant, it is unusal for us that host in Half Broad pay their extras at restaurant. Normally, they sign the bill which is transferred on the total bill for the check out. I am really sorry for the inconvenient, and I hope you understand it was not made on purpose (bill of €3,90).

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as you should, and hope to see you soon to let you understand that services provided to our customers matter for us...

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel rather than the apartments, and were very pleasantly surprised after reading the Trip Advisor comments. The room was spacious, maybe a little dated, but comfortable and clean. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. The ski/boot room was absolutely fine, very warm, and taking the key back to reception was only a very minor irritation and not a big problem. However, the best part was the food in the restaurant. We were half board and whilst the menu was limited (two choices for each course each night), this was not a problem as every dish we had was excellent. They even prepared us something else at no extra charge when allergies made both main course choices a problem. Our only disappointment was the lack of breakfast on the morning of departure. We did leave at 4.30am but had been told that something would be available for us, which it wasn't. However, overall we would definitely recommend this hotel in Val Thorens.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Worst place I've ever been for skiing. Skis and boots are strictly forbidden in rooms and on the ground floor. It is ok but... there is no boots heaters so if your boots are wet you have to have to use them wet and cold until the end of your staying. One key for the room and for the ski-locker even for six persons, so you have to go back to the room or to the reception desk in your socks to leave the key. If you try to take your shoes to the room to use the electric dryer staff is shouting at you as you are a kid not a customer.
Additionally:
- No inventory list, bout they threaten you that you will have to pay for lost stuff. How would they know if anything is lost?
- No pricelist for lost/broken stuff... No comment
-If you get front rooms you can not sleep until 2-3 am because of people playing in the clubs/pubs and discos, and you are woken up at 7 because of trucks delivering food to the shops and restaurants.
- WIFI is available only near reception desk for 15 euros per week.
- staff pretend not to speak other languages than French.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Gérant at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for your post.

Ski equipment is stricly forbidden because it damages too much the apartments (if you prefer to get a dirty and damaged apartment you should indeed go to another place). This rule is easy and must be respected for the well-being of all. Each apartment gets a private ski locker, and WE DO HAVE A SKI SHOES HEATER.

We only provide one key by apartment because the key must stay at the reception desk for security. By the way, the first who come back after the ski day come to the reception to get the key. Quite easy...

Inventories of all our apartments are available at the reception desk. If it was not within the apartment, you should have come to see us and get one. Moreover, normally we ask a damage deposit of 600€ by apartment. You had 2, and we only ask you 1.000€ because of your credit card limit (instead of 1.200€). We were kind and understanding but it was not enough...

Concerning the outdoor noise, unfortunately, we cannot handle this. However, we preserve the quiet of the residence with a night watcher all night long.

WIFI access available only on ground flloor: you have a huge living room for this use, with comfortable sofas, panoramic view on the slopes, Plasma TV to watch sport games...

As you see, I speak English... as all my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langley Hotel Tango
Langley Hotel Tango
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Property: Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Val Thorens
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Portillo Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing