We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Piste”
Review of Les Olympiades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Olympiades
Reviewed 17 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for a week on 31st of March. The location is excellent, just across from the fabulous sports centre with pools, saunas and steam, the bowling alley also 1 min walk away both the sports centre and bowling alley are well worth a visit. We had 2 apartments on the 3rd floor, Rooms 327 and 328. (328 faced the front of the building as was even noisier than 327, but really none of us got a full nights sleep for the whole week as the noise was all from parties in the rooms and hall on our floor). One morning we got up to discover the hallway covered in rubbish and puke in the lift. This place was definitely not suitable for our group but would be great if you are 18 - 24 and a party animal. The apartments are fine for 2/3 people. Everything is pay extra like tv and safe but you don't need them as tv is only french and news chanels and the apartments are perfectly safe to leave your stuff in. You have to clean the apartment so bring cleaning stuff (flash wipes etc) as they are expensive in the shops there. On a positive note we had great weather and good snow, all the runs were open so I can't complain as it was the 1st week in April!

Room Tip: Try to get an end of hall room facing the back of the building if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howverydareyou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Crawling distance to night club that closes at 4am, lots of noise from street, even at 6 and 7th floor, management did not / could not separate students from families. Banging doors, shouting, loud music on the landings at any time and especially between 9pm and midnight and around time clubs close.
All this means broken sleep and unpleasant stay.
Staff are helpful but seem powerless to correct problems. Clubers left beer bottles in lift, corridors, one night there wad broken beer bottles on the corridor. On another morning there was a refuse sack emptied in the corridor outside our room from a student room. They also threw empties on to adjacent building roofs.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisjph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I booked a last minute for a week ski through Crystal as good place, however I regretted as soon as I walked in the complex. Room was tiny and could not understand last time was cleaned, the carpets were smelly and stained and bathroom wasn't clean.

We asked for extra blankets having a small baby and wife that complained about been cold at night and I was told that they could provide only 1 as they did not have enough for the guests. We hired towels and they had only small size left for the entire week, the answer was “ we are not an hotel”!!!

Position is good, this is the only positive side, however is not recommended for family or couples that look for a nice place, as it looks more like an hostel.

If you want to watch TV, they will charge you for it, as they keep the remote controls behind their desk and hire it to people that wants to use it.

Next time will book the Val Thorens hotel right in the main square and off the slopes

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GianlucaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Well like others, i was a bit worried when i read the reviews but decided to go there anyway....

As soon as i walked in the room i was pretty shocked at the fact that they sell this room as a four person room.

However after that in initial shock and being on my own, it was pretty great.
I had some issues with the lock on the door but they were on it pretty fast and got it fixed. The girls behind the desk were helpful and nice as was the manager.

On a night i could see how people might not like it. If youre a light sleeper then you may be woken up by people enjoying the nightlife. Personally, aside from the first night..... i was not woken up.

Location wise....... it couldnt be better.

I would definitely stay there again.

OHHH...... if you like watching tv..... forget it. They charge for the tv which is a pretty bad but its only french channels anyway.

Room Tip: If you want uninterrupted sleep try and get a room that is not facing the slopes. Thats the side wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I arrived, with my wife,after booking a last minute bargain with Thomson Ski (Crystal). I was dreading what awaited us after reading all the reviews on here but I shouldn't have worried.
We had a great time, and laughed at the way they'd managed to create a dining area, a bedroom and a living room in a space about 3m x 3m! It was basic but had everything we needed.

We cooked every night to save money and managed no problems with the kitchen equipment provided - the prices for eating out in the resort are ridiculous!

Maybe we got lucky with the people next to us, but we had no noise issues at all and got a good 8 hours undisturbed sleep each night.

I would have no issue with staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

stay away, noise inside hotel and out in the lane and street will keep u up all night. I even had ear plugs and still couldn't sleep through the night. The french party and sing all night long and security don't bat an eyelid yet if ur in a room watching a dvd quietly with friends security will be back and for checking up on you all the time. Hotel staff have no people skills and on times are very rude and annoying. Honestly this hotel is offer with inghams and crystal do your sell a favour pay extra and stay away

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 28 in Val Thorens
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#2 of 28 in Val Thorens
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#8 of 28 in Val Thorens
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Chalet Val 2400
Residence Chalet Val 2400
#19 of 28 in Val Thorens
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#16 of 28 in Val Thorens
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Olympiades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Olympiades

Address: Rue de Caron, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Belambra Clubs - Les Olympiades)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Olympiades 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Olympiades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belambra Clubs - Les Olympiades Hotel Val Thorens
Olympiades Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing