We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, 'cosy' accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just returned from a great week staying here. Yes the rooms are fairly basic and small but the views, if you are mountainside, are amazing. The access to the slopes is excellent - truly ski in ski out. We took the evening meal option. The portions were huge and very good. Only complaints were the unpredictable wifi, scalding hot water and lack of opening window - we slept with the door to the balcony open at night as the room got so warm. Love Val Thorens - suitable for those who love big, wide blues to those who need the thrill of reds and blacks - runs and jumps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, the apartment was lovely and clean and everything in it was working properly. The standard of accommodation is basic but as we were there to ski we didn't need anything other than basic. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well for once.

The location is perfect. The main meeting point of the lifts and ski school is just minutes from the ski room door. Our balcony overlooked the main slopes with a fabulous view of the area.

The Reception area is spacious and comfortable. Our departure time was two hours after we had to check out of the room but we were able to look our luggage in the baggage room and wander around the shops. We were also able to get snacks and drinks from the machine and use the toilet whilst we waited.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

stayed here for 5 nights with family - wife and 2 kids (1 and 3 yrs). really loved the location, right on the pistes, and the view from our room was brilliant - view all the way out to Caron across the pistes. room/apartment was basic but very good value for what we paid. staff all very friendly and helpful.

only slight negatives were that there were no sheets on the beds when we arrived (you have to pay for these on top, apparently), and they also charge up to €90 if you want them to clean your room when you leave, which seems like an odd concept to me, being used to hotels.

depending on what room you're in, there can be quite a bit of noise first thing in the mornings from snow wagons loading up with beer/ food etc to take up to the restaurants further up the resort, but didnt bother us too much as we're up early with young kids anyway!

overall, despite a couple of minor negatives, thought it was very good and would consider going again. offered an affordable option when many other places were quoting 3 times as much.

Room Tip: stay at the opposite end to the Chamois restaurant, as high as possible, and ideally overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave011978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

4 of us stayed in an 'apartment'. The accommodation consisted of 3 rooms, one double bedroom, a
Living room with kitchen and pull out bed, a second bedroom come walk in wardrobe with bunk beds, room with bath and a toilet. Plenty of room for 4
With 2 men in the party.
The location was fabulous, ski
In, ski out. There is no better
Place in VT for location. Under the hotel was a spar which doesnt sound great but had everything you needed with a croissants in the
Mornin fresh and rotisserie chicken at lunch and dinner time. Fantastic service! Our room had a funny smell for the whole week but I put that down to people cooking something odd before we arrived. The beds were very basic with sheets which didnt really fit the bed, but it's a ski resort. The heating was brilliant of you ever
Got chilly inside (rare) a quick
Blast and it was boiling! Plenty of crockery. Boot room easily accessible. Easy to reach the shops and nightlife. Basic, but convenient and clean. You don't need more at a ski resort unless you want luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJRA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for a week in March 2012. Great location right next to the piste. The rooms are basic but fine. I stayed on my own in a place for 2-4 that had 1 bunk bed and a sofa bed in the sitting room. I would recommend this for 2, but think 4 would be a bit of a squeeze.

Kitchen is small but functional.

Only (small) annoyance was the lack of a wall fitting for the shower head, so needed to hand hold it!

Would stay again. Paid 770 euros for the week. Don't forget you need to rent sheets for 10 euros. You'll need your own towels, tea towels, dishwasher tablets etc

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

After check out i found that I left my extremely expensive creams in the fridge, I called to the reception in 5 hours and they said they threw them away!! However looking at cream you could see they were for medical purpose!!!! I understand this is my fault but was it that hard to call me and ask? It is just people's attitude. Besides the whole staying at this place was very uncomfortable and people on reception were not helpful at all. There was no possibility to order a cleaning or laundry service. In additions at the check out you have to take all the bed sheets and towels and bring it to reception desk when there are a lot of people. I don't know, maybe for someone this is ok, but I don't find it pleasant at all. I just understand that I lost a 1000 euros on creams and spent 900 on staying there.... well not the best deal...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed here at Easter on a ski-ing holiday. The hotel is in a good location - get your stuff from the ski lockers and you are on the slopes. Also, it is a handy 2 minute walk to a variety of shops and restaurants. We liked the Carrefour supermarket near the sports centre best. There were 3 of us in an apartment for 2-4 people and it would have been squashed with 4. There isn't really anywhere to unpack. The bathroom had a hand held shower and no shower curtain so you couldn't really have a proper shower. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the dishwasher and they wanted to send someone immediately but we asked them to wait until we were out and when we returned from ski-ing , the dishwasher had been replaced with a brand new one. We would stay here again as it was value for money and the location was excellent but if you want more luxury, you should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CPJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 28 in Val Thorens
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 28 in Val Thorens
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 28 in Val Thorens
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 28 in Val Thorens
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 28 in Val Thorens
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Chamois d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Chamois d'Or

Address: Route du soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: £72 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Chamois d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Le Chamois d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chamois d`Or Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing