We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamois d'Or Apartments, Val Thorens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Eleven members of my family had a late ski holiday in the Chamois d'Or apartments, Val Thorens.
The apartments are well situated adjacent to the pistes. They are typical of self catering ski apartments, small, with bunk beds in the hall and convertible settee/pullout beds in the lounge/kitchen area. The bed linen was provided but beds not made up and there was a charge of 10.20 euros for a towel pack. There was also a deposit of 400 euros per apartment - returnable at checkout after room inspection. The apartments were reasonably clean and equipped.
Unfortunately we booked an evening meal in the hotel - that was a mistake! It was a set menu each evening and the food was very poor - not the food that appeared on the restaurant menu!
One of our party was a complete beginner and she had booked ski lessons with "Proneige Ski School" through our tour operator "Crystal Ski Holidays".
On the second day the instructor "Guillaume" decided to take the class on the "Cascades" chair lift. Despite the fact that many of the class had never been on a chair lift, he gave no instructions. To make matters worse he abandoned the class at the Chalet du Thorens as he had to get back at 12.00. This Chalet is some distance from the resort and many of the class were too scared to attempt to ski back - they took off their skiis and struggled back on foot!
We contacted our Crystal rep, Jon, to complain and he promised to contact the ski school. He phoned back to say the Guillaume was very sorry and that he would apologise and take more care of class the next day. This did not happen and our beginner did not want to go back thereafter.
The class had started off with 15 pupils and by the end of the week there was only 2 left!
Jon visited us at the last day of our holiday to encourage us to complete the Crystal questionnaire and promised to try and get compensation from the ski school.
Needless to say we heard no more about it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Residence Le Chamois d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel has a great location, right on the pistes, if it's the most important thing you search for, go for it.
We took a half board deal, which was good food, and they where very kind to wait for us on the first evening, even though we were very late, and prepared us some take away for the last morning(upon our request).
The staff was very helpful and kind from the mailing before ordering until leaving the place.
The only "bad" issue was the rooms, the rooms are very small, we took a room for 6 people and we where 3 persons, and still it was too small for us. We also had to give a check list of all the plates, knives, forks etc. it was exhausting, why should we do it?! We had to pay extra 10Eu per bed linen and extra 10eu per towel, go figure....

Room Tip: 6 room is good only for 3 people: 1 person in a room 2nd person on a sofa bed 3rd person on the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dani l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at this 'hotel' with three mates for our annual skiing holiday. Where to start? Our room was supposed to sleep 4 people but two of the poor unfortunates are racked in the entrance corridor opposite the toilet door, (within 3 feet) and our other mate was on the 'put-up' bed on the kitchen/diner floor. No room to walk past without disturbing any of them if you had to use the toilet in the night.
The shower was a loose head and hose draped on the taps in the bath, nowhere to fix it to the wall and no curtain or screen, the result being a lake on the floor after you've tried to be as careful as you can when washing.
No real facilities for drying your ski-wear and not really enough room for the luggage of four people.
Hopeless WiFi which was incapable of dealing with demand and threw you out the minute it got busy, forget using it between 7 to 10am and 5 to 11pm.
Food in the restaurant for the package visitors was horrendous, I'm sure it was made up of anything they couldn't get rid of to customers who'd eaten there the day before.
This place is shameful, It's worn out, filthy and makes you feel like you've been had, by the time you get there though It's too late to do anything about it. Crystal should know better and I'd have thought a company their size would've had the influence to force some change or stop using this place altogether.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great value for money. Clean, good enough facilities and one of the best location regarding ski in/ ski out. Ski room at 3´rd floor with lockers was really convenient.
Good value offer buying ski passes in the reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19MO76NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I've just stayed at this complex with 7 friends and it leaves a lot to be desired, as do Crystal Travel who are just as culpable.

We booked 2 'superior' apartments and were initially given two 4 person studios (fit for only 2 people). Having disputed the accommodation we reluctantly agreed to pay in advance for an upgrade (to be claimed back later) to two 6 person apartments (fit for a family of 2 adults, 2 children). Additionally, you have to make up your own beds at the start of the week and pay extra for replacement bedding & towels.

On departure we were accused of leaving the apartments unclean & therefore liable for a cleaning charge, despite our rooms being in the same condition as when we entered.

The half board fixed meals were basic and not in keeping with our previous experiences of French cuisine.

The Crystal rep was too busy blaming the uk colleagues to rectify issues to our satisfaction.

Other than the location to the pistes, this 'hotel' does not warrant a 3 star rating. Shameful.

Seriously consider booking elsewhere.



  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkiHorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

How on earth can this be classed as a 3 star ??

Rooms were filthy , you're reliant on the previous occupant cleaning the room . When you check in you have to buy towels and they give you bedding . Rooms are far too small , not ventilated , especially the toilet . Its a debacle from start to finish . When you do check out they have a cursory look at your room and then refund the €400 euros they took at the start .

Food was bland and the staff miserable . Fortunately the skiing is excellent and crystal the tour operator are hopeless , we were mis sold the room promising it was big enough for 5 for which we paid a supplement for 4 to stay in . When I queried it they moved us to another room and charged me a further € 300 for the privilege . They then said the supplement was for a faster transfer ???? Then they changed their mind and said it was for a flight out of Manchester ???? Equally as ridiculous . We booked with crystal at the chill factore . On the phone when I get back but my previous dealings with crystal leave me with little hope

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Scotty2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

d'Or should indicate "gold", but do not be misled by this in the name of this hotel. I've been there twice in the high season. This year I made an on-line reservation, which, btw, is not very user-friendly. Later on I wanted to make some changes, but so far got no reply. I find this somehow weird and I am about to cancel it. This kind of ignorance is the reason for this writing.
All in all, except for good location there is nothing that I can rate beyond "poor to average", and this goes for check-in which is slow, not very friendly staff and worn-out rooms, which are also not very clean. Maybe this is due that cleaning is done mainly by the guests and amateur hotel staff.
Pity, since with a proper renovation and friendlier staff this hotel could be worth gold.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markp22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Chamois d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Chamois d'Or

Address: Route du soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range: £64 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Chamois d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Le Chamois d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chamois d`Or Hotel Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing