We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel-great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Val Chaviere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Val Chaviere Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel-great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Just returned from our second visit and despite worse snow conditions than last year, this hotel provides an ideal location, being right on the main piste so you can ski in and ski back to the ski room door. Views from our room were great; the food is excellent and the staff friendly and highly capable. Thinking of going back again next Easter as Val Thorens offers snow-certain conditions, despite the lateness of Easter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helena1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    79
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
52
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here for a week on a package deal the location is amazing,right on the slopes no walk in the morning,skiing from outside the door.The room was a bit tight but not terrible,it was kept nice and clean.The food was very ordinary we ended up eating out a good bit.The bar is perfect for a few quiet pints before going on out.The room I stayed in had recently had its bathroom done up and was perfect however some of our groups bathrooms needed modernization.The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would certainly stay here again because for all the hotels shortcomings for a ski resort this is a grand hotel at reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabaistesalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Skiing holidays are a bit like buying houses... it's always worth giving the location a big weighting in your decision. On that basis alone you won't go far wrong with hotel val chaviere. It won't blow your socks off with it early 80's decor but who care's, you'll be in one of Europe's best ski resorts staying in a top location! Especially well located for beginners!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_thirtysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week between 8 and 15 January 2011. The location of the hotel was superb - right on the piste in the centre of the resort, with genuine ski-in/ski-out. We were at the ski school meeting point within 2 minutes of leaving the hotel.

The food was very good - 5 courses including cheeseboard. It's a shame that wine wasn't included but at prices from 2 euros per glass, I can't really complain. The food was good quality although there were no alternative choices. Still, each dish was tasty and certainly not done on a budget (which is what I had expected from previous reviews).

Service was very friendly and helpful - the receptionist was all too happy to change our pillows and translate some medicine instructions from French to English for us.

The rooms were nice - not huge but generally clean.

My only criticisms would be that the rooms could do with kettles and a mounting for the shower head. We had to shower by holding the shower head with one hand - maybe that was just our room though.

Also, our poor waitress seemed to work tirelessly, spread across a lot of tables - we felt sorry for her.

But all in all, an excellent choice for a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djkidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

For a hotel in Val Thorens , the location really can not be beaten! Straight out the boot room and on to the piste by the magic carpet! Our ground floor room(the hotel is upside down - reception ,dining and bar on the top floor and rooms below) was approx 20 metres from the boot room - could have jumped the balcony onto the piste! The rooms had newly furnished bathrooms - be aware - no hairdryer or kettle - and not the biggest of rooms but hey - we are here to ski! Room was warm and clean though.
Food is a 5 course set dinner so if you have fussy eaters please be aware. But the food is all delicious - soup to start and they leave the turin on your table so have as much as you like, followed by starters, then main course, then cheese (again they leave the cheese board on your table) followed by puddings. Wine prices are good - starting prices around 13 euros for a bottle and bar prices good compared to some of the bars in resort.
All in all a great little hotel - ok so no facilities like swimming pool but we are always to tired to do anything other than eat,drink and sleep! Great location for the bars - far enough away to not get any noise although be aware the piste bashers start early outside your patio door to get the slopes in prime condition for a days skiing. Staff friendly - and would have no hesitation in going back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcountryyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Just returned from a week skiing in Val Thorens, where we stayed on a half-board basis in the Val Chaviere. As the title of this review states, the hotel is in a great "ski in, ski out" location, and sits almost in the middle of the resort, with all other bars/restaurants no more than a gentle 10 minute stroll away. However, in my opinion that is its only real positive of the Hotel Val Chaviere.

The rooms are small and "tired", with a fairly uncomfortable bed, and very basic furnishings throughout. The flat screen TV is almost at ceiling height, therefore impossible to view unless standing up. There were no additional power points in the room, so charging mobiles/camera batteries etc was awkward. The en suite, which has a shower attachment in the bath, was again very basic, and at certain points of the day the hot water supply wasn't great. (Not much use after a full days skiing when you need a hot, deep bath)

The hotel bar is small, with reasonably high prices (€3 for small diet coke, poured out of a 2 litre bottle). As for the food, breakfast was adequate, with a selection of hot & cold options, and dinner was a five course affair with some strange courses within it and no choice (fondue was grime !!)

If you have stayed in a HB option type hotel in other counties such as Switzerland, Austria you will greatly disappointed with the food options(lack of ) at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red7panel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

A lovely family run hotel with 49 rooms, friendly staff, and good set menu food. The rooms are perfectly adequate for a skiing holiday , all have full en-suite facilities, and separate wc. All rooms have card entry and a safe.
The ski room leads directly onto the snow and it is very easy to ski to and from the hotel.
The hotel is located in a quiet road, reception is at at ground level, with the rooms and public areas also at ground level or below - all have stunning views of the slopes.
Our group loved the 'feel' of the hotel and of course its location and for the price there was nothing to dislike.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Chaviere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Chaviere Hotel

Property: Val Chaviere Hotel
Address: Rue de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Val Thorens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Val Chaviere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Val Chaviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing