We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme convenience”
Review of Val Chaviere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Val Chaviere Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extreme convenience”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great location & friendly staff. All you need if keen skier and don't want to pay a fortune. Central too for bars & shops.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David14l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    80
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
carnoustie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My son and I were here from Scotland in April 2011 and absolutely loved it. OK we had no choice as some have explained however the food was hot and very good quality. The hotel is a little dated but come on it is cheap. A lot of snobs stayed their when we were there and liked to complain. Book a 5 star if you can afford it and let the rest of us enjoy a warm friendly family run hotel. The staff make this hoteol - BIG TIME. We loved it so much we have booked to go back April 2012. Cannot wait. One last point - you are away from the noise of VT but only 3 minutes walk from it- perfect.

Room Tip: They are all goog. On the piste!! What more do yo,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letmein11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We have just returned from Val Thorens and would certainly recommend this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights .
The position is perfect for the slopes - the ski locker opens straight onto the slope at the bottom of the resort. We had a 20% voucher for ski hire from the hotel for the Valtho Sport hire shop one mminute from the hotel.
The dinner is 5 course and it was very good. Breakfast is basic but fine.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. We liked Maureen best but they were all good.
This hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are fine.
If your criteria for a ski holiday are the same as ours - ie literally on the slopes, clean, comfortable hotel,good food and not too expensive and relaxed then I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyJWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Just returned from our second visit and despite worse snow conditions than last year, this hotel provides an ideal location, being right on the main piste so you can ski in and ski back to the ski room door. Views from our room were great; the food is excellent and the staff friendly and highly capable. Thinking of going back again next Easter as Val Thorens offers snow-certain conditions, despite the lateness of Easter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helena1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here for a week on a package deal the location is amazing,right on the slopes no walk in the morning,skiing from outside the door.The room was a bit tight but not terrible,it was kept nice and clean.The food was very ordinary we ended up eating out a good bit.The bar is perfect for a few quiet pints before going on out.The room I stayed in had recently had its bathroom done up and was perfect however some of our groups bathrooms needed modernization.The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would certainly stay here again because for all the hotels shortcomings for a ski resort this is a grand hotel at reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabaistesalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Skiing holidays are a bit like buying houses... it's always worth giving the location a big weighting in your decision. On that basis alone you won't go far wrong with hotel val chaviere. It won't blow your socks off with it early 80's decor but who care's, you'll be in one of Europe's best ski resorts staying in a top location! Especially well located for beginners!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_thirtysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week between 8 and 15 January 2011. The location of the hotel was superb - right on the piste in the centre of the resort, with genuine ski-in/ski-out. We were at the ski school meeting point within 2 minutes of leaving the hotel.

The food was very good - 5 courses including cheeseboard. It's a shame that wine wasn't included but at prices from 2 euros per glass, I can't really complain. The food was good quality although there were no alternative choices. Still, each dish was tasty and certainly not done on a budget (which is what I had expected from previous reviews).

Service was very friendly and helpful - the receptionist was all too happy to change our pillows and translate some medicine instructions from French to English for us.

The rooms were nice - not huge but generally clean.

My only criticisms would be that the rooms could do with kettles and a mounting for the shower head. We had to shower by holding the shower head with one hand - maybe that was just our room though.

Also, our poor waitress seemed to work tirelessly, spread across a lot of tables - we felt sorry for her.

But all in all, an excellent choice for a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djkidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Chaviere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Chaviere Hotel

Property: Val Chaviere Hotel
Address: Rue de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Val Chaviere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Val Chaviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing