We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great place”
Review of Val Chaviere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Val Chaviere Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Location: Fantastic location, ski in/ski out. Close to the center (shops, SPA and bars)

Staff: I would like to thank the owners and the staff for their great work. The atmosphere in the hotel is very welcoming and relaxing. The staff and the owners were very friendly and help to resolve any problems. The ski passes from the hotel for 2 weeks were with very good discount. I had a cold and the barman (we called him “our doctor”) made special tea with citrus, ginger and honey for me (thanks for his help I was well very soon).

Room: The rooms are not large but comfortable, the bathroom and toilet are separate. Our room faced the slopes and mountains, the view was perfect. Boots are kept in your room. Wi-Fi is free and available in reception and lounge areas.

Food: Diners were excellent. We stayed for 2 weeks and the dishes were not repeated. . Every night there was a 3 course meal, it was very delicious, with a choice of deserts and cheeses, and a choice of meat or cheese fondu once a week. Breakfast was good, continental type including eggs and ham, I think not enough variety of choice (my husband tells that I am very choosy but I really wanted oatmeal).

Definitely be back again, the best skiing holiday for years, we were very sad to leave

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Val Chaviere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Family of six just returned from New Year's week in Val Thoren's at Val Chaviere.
Fantastic location very easy for small children being located just above the ski school.
Cannot praise the staff highly enough, the owners were very friendly and went well beyond what was expected to resolve any problems with ski hire, late arrival due to blizzards and guiding us around the resort!
Definitely be back again best skiing holiday for years very sad to leave :@(

Room Tip: Pick a room on 6th floor which is closest to the foyer and avoids lift and stairs. Pay the premium i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenGrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I and my husband and two friends have just returned from a weeks skiing in VT and were staying in the Val Claviere. I have just read the two most recent reviews and essentially agree with what they say. The location cannot be beaten. The rooms are not large but quite adequate. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms have clearly been updated. The food is very good as was the service. Minor problems, such as a blown bulb, were promptly attended to. If we were returning to VT we would almost certainly stay here again. Sadly the French seem unable to transfer these abilities to how they manage services on the mountain. These remain expensive and badly organised.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is located in an excellent location. Has ski in/ski out. Close to the center ( shops and bars) Diners were excellent. Every night a 3 course meal was more than enough. Although breakfast could have been better, not enough variety of choice. Would recommend this hotel for all types of vacation (family,friends, etc)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatushkaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were here Christmas 2012 and found the hotel to be an ideal ski hotel. True ski in and out you literally step on to the piste out of the ski room.The 3 Valleys is one of the greatest ski areas and this hotel provides the ideal base from which to explore, as all the main lifts in Val Thorens can be directly skied to from the outside of the ski room. It is only a few minutes walk to the centre of the village. Rooms are a reasonable size with great views of the pistes, (boots are kept in your room), the bathroom and toilet are spotless. Meals consist of a substantial breakfast of the usual continental type with plenty of choices including eggs and ham, dinner is a 5 course set menu with a choice of deserts and cheeses, and a choice of meat or cheese fondu once a week, wines and drinks at the bar are sensibly priced. TV in rooms has many french channels but includes BBC1 and 2, Wi-Fi is available in reception and lounge areas. Staff are all cheerful, friendly and polite this gives the hotel a relaxed feel which is ideal after a days skiing. Other guests we spoke to during the week said they would very likely to return as we have.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a short ski break in December 2013. The hotel is a typical mid-market ski hotel. The hotel was clean and functional. There are apartments on top of the hotel - they are a different business. The hotel is the boxy building below.

The TV had a load of channels including two BBC channels. The en-suite bathrooms have been refitted recently and there was plenty of hot water. Staff were terrific and very friendly. We booked through the central Val Thorens reservation service and that worked efficiently.

Breakfast was a buffet with cereals, croissants, cold meats, cheese, fruit juice, eggs, coffee, tea etc. Dinner in the hotel was a set menu which good every night. Half board seems good value whether or not you eat in every night.

Best thing about the hotel though is the location. Right on the slopes!

I hope to return and wouldn't hesitate to book Val Chaviere again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the slopes.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenuineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

we have just had a week in Val Chaviere and it was pretty good, better than some reviews suggeasted that it may be.
The hotel has a dated 1970's interior, clean and tidy with very professional and helpful staff.
The rooms are ok ; a bit basic with en suites.
Dinner in the evening was a 5 course affair, soup, salad type course, meat or fish, buffet sweets and cheese. I think the food was not great but just about ok. They should serve just 2 or 3 courses and make them better.
Drinks in the hotel were very good value and the position is great with true ski in and out facilities. Skiing in the resort was the best I have ever seen in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Chaviere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Chaviere Hotel

Address: Rue de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £200 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Val Chaviere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Val Chaviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing