We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service”
Review of Hotel 3 Vallees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 3 Vallees
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good breakfast, great dinner and great service. all (far) better than one would expect in a 3 star hotel in a mainly low budget ski resort like val thorens. The rooms are small but ok and clean and have some charm.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_roos_tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    78
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
137
128
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Of course, if you're lucky enough to stay at l'Oxalys where the chef Jean Sulpice has 2 Michelin Stars, then you're getting the best food in Val Thorens. But I'm willing to bet that besides that there is no other place with such great food as l'Hotel des 3 Vallées.
The Chef doesn't have a Michelin Star (unlike what is said in the review below), but he is advised by a starred chef. Since I'm picky, I could find some minor flaws with the food, slightly lacking the finesse required to get a star (too much sauce, platings a bit too gimmicky). But overall that would be nitpicking, as the food is pretty great, every night you get a choice of 3 very different appetizers, 2 entrees (usually meat or fish), an amazing cheese plate and so and so desserts.
My preferred meals were the "L’Œuf Mollet sur lit d’Épinards Frais, Croûton Brioche et Velouté de Champignons" and the "Risotto Crémeux de Crevettes, Ciboulette, Tomate et Ail croustillant" !

Aside from the food, the rooms are small but charming and comfortable. There was a slight problem with our room radiator (which is a bit odd for a hotel at the mountains), but they promptly gave us an electric heater to add to the room.
The service was really nice and attentionate.

If I ever go back to Val Thorens, I doubt I'll even look at another option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg,Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our family with friends had a holiday in Val Thorens in march,in 2012.We had really great time there,endjoyed skiing and sunbathing.The hotel was very nice and cosy.Our room for six persons was large and clean.Despite the fact that nearby was a night club, no noise was not audible.Reccomend everyone this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DariaArtyukhova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early March 2012 and only have positive things to say. The hotel is very quaint and situated in a great location for easy access on and off the slopes. The bedroom was nice and comfortable. But best of all for us was the quality of the evening meals and the service we received from all of the staff. Each evening the food was of a very good standard, with a decent choice and excellent variety from one evening to the next. The staff here are so friendly and always did their utmost to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. It goes without saying that the 3 Valleys is an excellent skiing area, and having stayed in Courchevel last year and Meribel a number of years ago, I do think that Val Thorens offers great value for money, particularly if you stay at this hotel! We would without doubt recommend this lovely hotel and would most definitely stay here again when returning to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just came back from a week long honeymoon in Hotel Des 3 Vallees, Val Thorens.
In general - a cozy hotel with a very welcoming staff, superb food and warm feeling. They welcomed us with a bottle of champagne on the house for our honeymoon. Would definitely return if we get the chance.

Pros -
1. The food!!!!!! The hotel's chef has a Michelin star and the food is absolutely amazing! Moreover, the restaurant area is stylishly modernly designed.
2. The bar area has a warm living room feeling and we really enjoyed a drink and a reading book before dinner.
3. Location - just next to a Ski Pass is issue center, ski rental shops, a supermarket and bars.

Cons -
1. Location - not directly on the slope. Not a deal breaker for us, however, you should be aware that going out skiing is quite easy (20 meters walk) but coming back (when knowing the easier route using the elevator of the adjacent building!) requires a short walk (about 100 meters max). Again, not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the slopes, as higher as possible and not near the ski equipment room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stomgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel ticks all the boxes; location, comfort, service and standard of cuisine. As a family of four that usually stays in chalets with another family, this was the first year on our own and staying in a hotel. All concerns that we had we had over this style of accommodation for our family were quickly dispelled. The welcoming staff and level of comfort was excellent. In relation to dining it was are intention to eat out more in the town, however the standard of food excelled anything offered which kept us in the hotel dining room every night bar one. Although located centrally to the town access to the slopes was a very short walk of less than a minute making it perfectly situated for both skiing and shopping.

It is certainly our intention to visit next year to once again experience the Whole Package.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. We certainly were not disappointed! We initially were assigned a room which we felt was very small and cosy. On asking if it was possible to have a slightly rather room there was no problem and where immediately given a key to view another room which was much more comfortable!!

All the staff in this hotel are courteous, pleasant and aim to please. The food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. If I had to make a criticism it would be that some of the food could be a bit rich taken on a nightly basis. The bar is cosy and very comfortable and great bartender. View from the windows are fabulous and an apres ski beer to watch the last of the skiers coming down is a lovely way to end the day.

It is not a ski in/ski out hotel but my husband and I had no problems with the short walk to access the slopes and again coming off.

I think the thing that made our stay so memorable here was the staff itself, the room maid, bartender, receptionists and the staff who served in the restaurant where all truly fantastic. Thank you all so much for ensuring that we had a lovely time in Val Thorens and will definitely be returning in 2013!!!

Room Tip: There was just my husband and I travelling, initially given Rm 104 which had a balcony but was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itmstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Vallees

Property: Hotel 3 Vallees
Address: Grande rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Vallees 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the dynamic resort of Val Thorens at an altitude of 2300m, 600 km of ski runs connected with 3 Valleys ski area.Cosy, cocoon and attentive staff team. Warm decor rooms crafted with wood from vintage barns inviting you in the peace of mind, and a getaway feeling. Give way to the temptation of traditional cuisine.Comfort, Conviviality and gastronomy combined to relax after a great day of skiing, and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 3 Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing