We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 3 Vallees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 3 Vallees
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small room, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the 3 vallees hotel.
The room we had (105) was tiny. Really tiny, especially with all skiwear too! Just enough room to walk around the bed. Lovely view though which more than made up for it.
The food was really excellent, particularly the fish which was an option every night. On cheese night we did not realise that if cheese was not your thing then steak was an alternative, a choice my partner would have gone for. Some nights the meal could've been served hotter.
We did also not realise that tea and coffee was not included, which was a small shock at the end of week at €5.50 per person per night! And the same for a bottle of water.
The location was good, 5 minute walk to the slopes, near the bars and shops.
The holiday was expensive, and at half the cost the Val Chaviere was in a much better location, or the Altapura which is more expensive but also looked great!
Overall loved Val Thorens as a resort, perfect snow, no lift queues, great holiday!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    77
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
131
127
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We first went there 25 years ago and several times after but this stay was the first in recent years. We cannot fault the staff, the food which is excellent and facilities for what is technically a three star hotel.
Perhaps the new dining room (compared to that we remember 15 years ago) is a bit too intimate and can hide the wonderful views of the mountain at breakfast and can get busy but its a small point.
We went by train eurostar direct from St Pancras to Moutiers. The only enjoyable way to travel to Val Thorens at a busy time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a terrific week long stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly, outgoing, and always trying to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. The owner knows how to hire excellent staff. They can speak a variety of languages and they all had strong command of the English language. We had a large room that was tastefully furnished with traditional wooden architectural details which reminds one of a ski chalet. The hotel has rooms with superb views of the mountains of Val Thoren, which are incredible. The rooms are kept very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The lighting in the rooms was good and sufficient for reading. We enjoyed having our window open every night. We arrived early on the Ski train from London and the hotel was able to give us a room early in the morning. Plus, it is useful that there is a ski equipment rental store across the hotel where one can get a 20% discount. We wish that we had taken advantange of the hotel's pricing on the ski passes before arriving. The food at the restaurant is simply delicious and varied. The food is beautifully prepared, fresh, and served is the right portion - not too much or too little. We enjoyed the emphasis on serving the local cheeses and traditional foods. The wine selection was excellent. The breakfast options were wonderful and plentiful. We always looked forward to our meals at this hotel. This hotel is a gem and we hope to come back again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view toward the mountains. We had room 103 and it was quiet with a large windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FavonianPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff. Good food, could perhaps also offer a simpler, less fancy choice for dinner. Warm rooms, plenty of hot water, good boot room. Ski storage a little inaccessible but safe and secure. Fantastic spa. Will be returning

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52orangetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews on Trip Advisor, but as we chose this hotel due to the mainly excellent reviews on here, I feel I would like to confirm that this hotel is definitely worth visiting if you are planning to stay in Val Thorens! The rooms are small, but perfectly adequate and very clean. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay a wonderful experience!! We enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks in the cosy bar area and the food we had was absolutely stunning!! I don't think we had one meal we didn't like! You can tell that this hotel is a friendly, family run hotel. Thank you all there for super holiday.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank puddleduckWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly atmosphere. The food and the service at the restaurant was EXCELLENT.
Special thanks to BERNAT and LOLA for their TOP SERVICE and KINDNESS. Great Job! Looking forward to come back in the future.
Suggestion> a minibar / refrigerator in the room and laundry service should be made available. That would definitely improve the overall score.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel 3 vallees has been unforgettable. Breakfast is delicious and also is the dinner most of the evenings. Food is beautifully prepared, ingredients are fresh and of excellent quality. Recipes are simple but original, sometimes too much like in the case of one evening Asian dinner. My friend had some intolerances to several foods and was taken very seriously and delicious alternative were always given. Access to sauna and hammam and hydromassage room can be booked in the morning and enjoyed throughout the day, all the area is extremely well maintained and clean.
All our requests were kindly addressed by the reception: electric heater, hairdryer etc. All the staff is extremely friendly and speak all the languages.
Only negative note was the very small room and the room temperature, it was cold at night or too warm with the electric heater on, cold air was coming from the window a bit, and did not allow us to enjoy a regenerative complete night long sleep. Despite that, it was incredible to wake up in the morning and open the curtains and feel to sleep in an infinity bed into the snow :)
All the areas of the hotel have perfect lighting and accompanied by accurately chosen music tracks.
There is almost skiing in and out, only 5 mins walk.
Centrally located, near supermarket, pharmacy, ski rental, bars. Overall, val thorens is a fun holiday!!! Avoid to have lessons from the ESF skiing school, they are disorganised and did not threat us well. Also watch your skis when parking them...

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChicaMorena2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Vallees

Property: Hotel 3 Vallees
Address: Grande rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Vallees 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the dynamic resort of Val Thorens at an altitude of 2300m, 600 km of ski runs connected with 3 Valleys ski area.Cosy, cocoon and attentive staff team. Warm decor rooms crafted with wood from vintage barns inviting you in the peace of mind, and a getaway feeling. Give way to the temptation of traditional cuisine.Comfort, Conviviality and gastronomy combined to relax after a great day of skiing, and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel 3 Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing