We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small and friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 3 Vallees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 3 Vallees
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely small and friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We so enjoyed staying for the week in this hotel! We travelled as a family and there was a good mix of 'with children' and 'without' in the hotel. A relaxing and quietish environment - lovely after a day's skiing! Loved the intimacy of the hotel with exceptional staff throughout. Location excellent, with wonderful views from the bar and restaurant. Easy for skiing out and a short walk and lift ride for ski in. We had a spacious family room for the 3 of us with comfortable beds. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and really loved the dinner every evening, which reflected dishes of the region, so much more interesting than typical hotel food! It even encouraged our son to be more adventurous! Options were given to choose from at breakfast, which worked well. And at dinner, there was a cheese course (although we never managed it!) and a huge choice of fantastic desserts! We also enjoyed the lovely bar, with its cosy sofas - perfect all round!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueinmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3V, Assistante de direction at Hotel 3 Vallees, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sueinmarlow,

We thank you for your enthusiastic review. we have been very happy to read that your stay with us has been memorable and that you appreciated the special family atmosphere that makes the difference.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to make you live more magic moments.

Best Regards

Elise Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    77
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
131
127
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We haven't been to Val Thorens for 6-7 years. A great week's skiing (ending 5th April) - no people on the slopes, sunshine 5 days out of 6, a huge range of slopes and a great hotel!

PRO's
- good food including Wednesday fondue night where you can eat up the mountain at their jointly owned La Marine restaurant if you wish (including round trip by snow cat if desired).
- good service, especially Elise on front desk who made lots of arrangements before and during our trip. And Toby in the bar who put loads of effort into making cocktails.
- lovely room. Recently refurbished. Good quality (and we do generally quite like our creature comforts!). We had suite 302 which a double, a twin and a sofa bed in a small sitting room. Decent bathroom, bath with jacuzzi, separate shower. Lovely view over the sunny slopes.
- good value for money in our opinion.

CON's
- Very few as it's a great place but if I had to be picky.....
- ski-out (20-30 mtrs from hotel door) but not ski-in. It's probably 100m walk then a public lift up to the hotel level then 15m from there. Not a big deal though we're generally a bit lazy and prefer complete ski-in ski-out if we can.
- stairs....3 flights of stairs down to our room then another flight inside our room to get to the bedrooms. Definitely a lot of huffing and puffing going on every time we walked upstairs to the reception, bar and restaurant. Would have been nice to have had some help bringing our bags upstairs on departure.

We had a great week away and we'll certainly be back to Val Thorens and probably this hotel too. Thank you.

P.s. Val Thorens now has a crazy zip wire between two mountains....we didn't try it but we'd love to know what it's like - scary! We did try the 6km long sledge/toboggan run down from the top to the bottom of the mountain - quite an experience!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DAJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3V, Assistante de direction at Hotel 3 Vallees, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dajm2009,

We thank you for your comment about your stay at the Hotel 3 Vallees. The ski in April is amazing in Val Thorens : good snow, sun and not so much people depends on the week. This winter season the resort will close the 10th of May
I am glad to know that you appreciated the hotel, our suite 302, the staff and the special savoyard evening at the Chalet de la Marine up the moutain.
For the weak points (and it's always good to receive it to keep improving), yes we are not ski in and ski out but we never told that we are. For the stairs : with the complexity and the architecture original of the building, the hotel can't be equipped with an elevator that's a pity but it is a good training for the legs before going on the pist :-) but do not hesitate to ask at the front desk for any help for your luggage
I am looking forward to welcome you again and your family for another (I hope) sunny week.
thank you again for your feedback

Elise Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel in a good location in val thorens. The food is delicious and varied and not too heavy. I knocked off one point as the basic rooms really are very small. Next time I will opt for a superior room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3V, Assistante de direction at Hotel 3 Vallees, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Esglondon,

We would like to thank you for your positive comment concerning the hotel and especially the food. our chef is still the same since many years and he will probably spoil you during your next stay. our classic room are cosy, cocoon and comfortable but if you wish an upper superficie it's better for you to reserve a superior room
I would be very happy to welcoming you back.

Elise Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice hotel with relaxing atmosphere and perfect location. Service minded and committed staff both in the front desk and in the restaurant. Well-organized storage of skis and boots. Nice room with characteristic decor, comfortable beds and large bathroom. Great breakfast buffet in the morning and amazing three-course dinner in the evening. Next time I visit Val Thorens I will without hesitation choose Hotel 3 Vallees.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3V, Assistante de direction at Hotel 3 Vallees, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Helena,
Thank you for sharing your very positive comment. We are delighted that the staff, room, restaurant and all others services met your expectations.
all we can say is that you could not make us more happy by saying you are converts.
I look forward to your next vacation to welcome you again.

Elise Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good tasty proper french food, Main reason for the choice was the food they didn't let us down! lovely staff, central location but not really ski in. I would definitely stay again if I stayed in Val Thorens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peewee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3V, Assistante de direction at Hotel 3 Vallees, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Peewee63,

I would like to thank you for this nice comment concerning the hotel and especially our restaurant. It is much appreciated that your share your guest experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of a return visit in the near future.

best Regards

Elise Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the 3 vallees hotel.
The room we had (105) was tiny. Really tiny, especially with all skiwear too! Just enough room to walk around the bed. Lovely view though which more than made up for it.
The food was really excellent, particularly the fish which was an option every night. On cheese night we did not realise that if cheese was not your thing then steak was an alternative, a choice my partner would have gone for. Some nights the meal could've been served hotter.
We did also not realise that tea and coffee was not included, which was a small shock at the end of week at €5.50 per person per night! And the same for a bottle of water.
The location was good, 5 minute walk to the slopes, near the bars and shops.
The holiday was expensive, and at half the cost the Val Chaviere was in a much better location, or the Altapura which is more expensive but also looked great!
Overall loved Val Thorens as a resort, perfect snow, no lift queues, great holiday!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We first went there 25 years ago and several times after but this stay was the first in recent years. We cannot fault the staff, the food which is excellent and facilities for what is technically a three star hotel.
Perhaps the new dining room (compared to that we remember 15 years ago) is a bit too intimate and can hide the wonderful views of the mountain at breakfast and can get busy but its a small point.
We went by train eurostar direct from St Pancras to Moutiers. The only enjoyable way to travel to Val Thorens at a busy time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#4 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Vallees

Property: Hotel 3 Vallees
Address: Grande rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Vallees 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the dynamic resort of Val Thorens at an altitude of 2300m, 600 km of ski runs connected with 3 Valleys ski area.Cosy, cocoon and attentive staff team. Warm decor rooms crafted with wood from vintage barns inviting you in the peace of mind, and a getaway feeling. Give way to the temptation of traditional cuisine.Comfort, Conviviality and gastronomy combined to relax after a great day of skiing, and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 3 Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing