We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, peaceful atmosphere and comfortable rooms.”
Review of Hotel 3 Vallees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 3 Vallees
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We went back to the 3 Vallees this year after a 7 year break when we stayed here 5 years in a row in Feb - March. This year we have reached an age when we decided sking was a bit too strenuous, but we wanted comfort, good food and a White Christmas.
The things we liked best about the 3V in the past are all still there. And the hotel has had a sensitive renovation.
Exceptional food, very good staff and comfort in a relaxing atmosphere. A hotel which is big enough to offer excellent service and small enough to feel you really are important to the staff and management.
If you want a noisy ski hotel with loud neighbours and you prefer to drink rather than eat, then this is not for you.
If you want on the other hand an excellent breakfast to set you up for a day to enjoy the resort's excellent ski facilities - with some of the best snow in Europe and at the end of the day to come back to comfortable rooms with a truly imaginative menu complimented by expert and sensible wine offers including excellent variants from the local area..
. Look no further. You will surely find heaven here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Blackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2009

Just returned from our honeymoon staying at the Hotel des Trois Vallees. We were half board and the food was fantastic, top restaurant quality flavours and amazing presentation. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and tidy and we had a lovely view of the piste. We would definately return to this hotel again.

Not a reflection on the hotel but be warned if you are travelling to Val Thoren from Chambrey airport, the transfer time of 2.5 hours in the Crystal brochure is a fantasy. It took us 6 hours from the airport on the way out and 4.5 hours on the return journey. We were told by the Crystal Rep that this was not unusual and in fact was quite good! Also Chambrey airport is in complete chaos, they just can't cope with the number of passengers they are handling.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Da4orce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Hotel des Trios Vallees is one of the best ski hotels we've ever stayed at. The staff are fabulous, and make you feel like you're a part of the family. The dinners we're magnificent (and we were there over NYE and the seven-course spread they rolled out was extraordinary). The chef must be hunting for a Michelin Star with the amount of care put into the produce, technique, and presentation. The winelist is also first class, and the wine advisor there knows his stuff. The restaurant is open to reservations from the public, and it was interesting to watch so many people from other hotels pay to have the same dinners we were getting included in the price.
The location is 'almost' ski in ski out (it's about a 50 yard walk to the slopes) and it's high in Val Thorens so it has ski access to all the lifts.
The hotel is opposite Val Thoren's north galleria, so all the shops are simple to access.
Tremendous value for money. They should charge more.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SpyderSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This is a quaint, quiet and cosy hotel which I would highly recommend.
The standard of accommodation is brilliant. The food was fantastic, expecially the 4 course dinners every night and they cater for vegetarians.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and bend over backwards for you.
It is ski out from the hotel but it's a 5minute walk back as long as you take the Plein Sud chairlift and veer left at the right time otherwise it's a long walk back to the hotel although there is a free bus every 20 minutes if you are too tired to walk!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsShoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

The hotel is highly recommendable and are already thinking about going back!!!

The best thing about the hotel is the food. A new menu was prepared each night with 2 or 3 starters, mains and puds to choose from. The cheese board that was offered each night is amazing too!! Breakfast was buffet style and a great start to a day on the slopes.

Although our hotel room (number 13) wasnt big, it was clean and the bathroom was spotless. There was also a balcony with deckchairs and excellent views over the piste and mountains. Skis etc are kept downstairs and each room has its own locker which is opened/locked with the room key. Boots are warmed each night in a seperate boot room near reception.

The hotel is close to the slopes and although it is not ski in/out, its just a few metres to a mini slope to join the runs into Val Thorens. There is a small 'commercial centre' opposite the hotel which has a supermarket, bakeries, cash point, chemist and ski shops. It is also a short walk to all the bars (but not noisy).

The staff were friendly and spoke good english. A 5 hour outward delay meant that we didnt arrive at the hotel until midnight but they were there waiting and had put a lovely meal in our room. It was a very kind thought and very tasty too!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AmyGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Food was amazing - the restaurant is open to the public so they can't get away with serving the sort of rubbish you'd usually get at a half-board hotel. We ate at the hotel every night which is very rare for us but there was a fabulous variation of meals offered.

The room was modest size but perfectly clean. The hotel had wireless internet access which was a deciding factor for us when booking.

Located about 100m from the slopes - but was taking us around 5mins until we found the elevator in the shop next door!

Highly recommended for the friendly and helpful staff as well as the excellent local cuisine. Val Thorens is just about the highest resort in Europe so snow is guaranteed - the sacrifice being it's a not as pretty as the likes of Meribel or Val d'Isere.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jonnylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

We are just back from a week at Les Trois Vallees and we really enjoyed every minute. We were on a half board basis & the food was excellent. Breakfast had lots of choice & was buffet style. Dinner was gorgeous, we are picky & would usually end up eating outside of the hotel on a couple of nights even though the half board is paid. However, we enjoyed the varied, tasty & well presented food so much that we ate in the hotel for the duration. Reception & check-in was fine. The bar was a liitle smokey but cosy when there were not too many people smoking in there. The bedrooms were clean & comfortable, nothing to write home about but above what you normally expect on a skiing holiday. The rooms were well heated, fresh & clean. Location wise you can more or less ski from the hotel in the am, but on the way back though there is a little uphill climb, not bad though!
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Les Trois Vallees.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Vallees

Address: Grande rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £86 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Vallees 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the dynamic resort of Val Thorens at an altitude of 2300m, 600 km of ski runs connected with 3 Valleys ski area.Cosy, cocoon and attentive staff team. Warm decor rooms crafted with wood from vintage barns inviting you in the peace of mind, and a getaway feeling. Give way to the temptation of traditional cuisine.Comfort, Conviviality and gastronomy combined to relax after a great day of skiing, and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 3 Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing