We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel 3 Vallees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 3 Vallees
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Just come back from a wonderful Christmas break staying at the Hotel De Trois Vallees in Val Thorens. The staff were very frieindly and efficient and the meals were excellent. We had a family room with our 13 & 10 year olds. They slept in bunk beds in a separate part of the room that could be closed off by a door if required. The hotel has a conveniently located boot room in reception and also provides a locker for skis The location of the hotel is very convenient with the pistes a very short walk away. We often came back to the hotel at lunch time for a short break. The ski hire shop is opposite the hotel and is open until 8pm allowing mid week changes of equipment if necessary. I would definitely come back to this hotel although may choose a later time of year as the weather was very cold and windy. My only negative comment would be that the hotel wines were very expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseMSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

This was my second stay at the Hotel and both were integral parts of perfect vacations. The rooms are cozy, the bar and lounge are even cozier, the staff is friendly and the location is perfect. The restaurant is likely the best in town. The dinner menu is traditional French and perfectly executed and the wine selection is top notch. I plan to return regularly. It is no doubt worth the trip from the USA.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

An excellent address on all aspects!! I have been to a few hotels over the past few years and this hotel clearly offers the best value for money!!

We travelled the 3 of us, with my partner and my son. I used Trip advisor to make up my mind, and frankly, at first i wasn't sure what to expect from some of the reviews about the Hotel des 3 Vallees. Also the outside picture of the hotel does not reflect the atmosphere of the place at all!

On arrival the staff Instantly made us feel very welcome and we discovered a very warm and cosy interior. The decoration is very traditional with old skis / sticks / boots from the 1930s and all sorts of items from the olden days. We guessed that our room had been freshly redecorated. It was a lovely surprise to find these wooden traditional decorations (see photos). Very clean and also pretty recently refurbished it seems! The view was also one of a kind!

The room had wireless access to the internet, a flat screen TV with lots of french channels but also some english channels like the BBC / CNN / eurosport. We found the bathroom to offer plenty of room, and the actual bedroom was also very spacious (contrary to what other reviews indicated!). There's a very practical boot dryer at the entrance of the hotel. Always nice to have warm boots in the morning.... :)

Now comes the best... the food!!! It is absolutely gorgeous... We generally love french cuisine but this was just another level. The presentation, the flavours, we were excited just waiting to see what was gonna be the meal of the evening. The Hotel also partners with the Chalet de la Marine on the pistes, and the food is just as great there!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This is a very nice hotel, I can understand the good reviews, but there are a few little things which would put us off going back, and they are very minor things.

First the food - it is excellent! More than enough for dinner and great quality. However, they have this strange system where you have to chose you meal at breakfast. You get the choice of starter (from 3) and a main (from a meat and fish). Quite limited, but as stated - it's good food. Normally we prefer to go B&B and then go out to a variety of restaurants, which can be a bit hit and miss, but that's what we prefer. So this is point 1 why we wouldn't go back.

Second is the rooms. There were four of us and we had two rooms, our room (205) was nice, very small but the view was great - we reckon the best in the hotel (305 would be just as good, but the restaurant was above it - noisy). Nicely refurbished, but small and the shower room (no bath) tiny. The second room (203) was smaller, less of a view, no balcony. We asked about the rooms, the said they had larger rooms, but view not as good as ours and some did have baths.

Location - It is one of the few properties in Val Thorens that is not truely ski in ski out. It;s 20m from a ski out 'path way' to the slopes. Good location for the shops and restaurants (not that you'll be eating out).

Staff - are really friendly, chatty and welcoming, by far the biggest plus.

It's our third time in Val Thorens. Previous two times we stayed in the Village Montana apartments. They are much bigger, true ski in ski out, good location, clean and give you the freedom to choose a different place to eat every night (and great bakery next door for breakfast) - it's not about cost, the apartments work out much more expensive than this hotel, we just prefer the space, location and food freedom. We'd miss the view of our particular room and the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aMid-aSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We have been coming to this hotel for many years, now with my grown-up sons and partner. Exemplary service coupled with first-rate food, and the most relaxing ambience. Right in the centre of the resort, next to lifts, ideal for all facilities. Restaurant choices are outstanding, the hotel has its own fondue restaurant which is just stunning, and probably one of the nicest bars to relax that I have encountered. However it is the warm, helpful, and thoroughly nice staff who make this hotel so exceptional. I recommend this hotel to all ages and groups.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Rooms 4 star
Food 5 star
Staff/service 5 star
Location 4 star
Price 3 star

These folk should be put in charge of the French tourism industry!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKeenanClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Les Trois Vallees from December 26th to 2nd of January 2010. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very very welcome. The hotel is located centrally in the town,close to the nightlife and the slopes. It boasts a very friendly atmosphere and a great relaxing bar area. The bar reminds me of the set from the tv series 'Friends'. It was great to get back at the end of a long day snowboarding and sit in the bar playing the board games available before getting ready to go out. We stayed at the hotel 'half board' so breakfast & dinner were included. The dinner was a very very high standard and the waiters were first class.Cedric runs the hotel and makes sure all guests are very welcome. I could go on and on about how great the place is ,but the fact is its great value and great location will speak for themselves.I score this hotel 10 out of 10 and will not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy-carolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Vallees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Vallees

Address: Grande rue, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Best Value Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#7 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £118 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Vallees 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the dynamic resort of Val Thorens at an altitude of 2300m, 600 km of ski runs connected with 3 Valleys ski area.Cosy, cocoon and attentive staff team. Warm decor rooms crafted with wood from vintage barns inviting you in the peace of mind, and a getaway feeling. Give way to the temptation of traditional cuisine.Comfort, Conviviality and gastronomy combined to relax after a great day of skiing, and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ski Planet, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 3 Vallees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Vallees Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing